We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Golden Fish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Fish Hotel Apartments
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just spent a week at the Golden Fish outside of Pilsen for a conference at the university, and really enjoyed it. The staff was great, and the room was amazing. It was a real one-bedroom luxury flat; modern and in perfect repair. It was a long and exhausting week, and was amazing to come back to a place that felt something like home, put on the fluffy bathrobe, get something in the kitchen (there is a food shop nearby) and relax. A couple of things could use improvement. The lighting in the hallways is terribly dim. My room was at the very end of the corridor, and it was so dark, I could barely read the number. They use electronic cards for entry that only require you to hold them up to a pad, which is good, because there would have been no way to see a keyhole. The breakfast was pretty good, but they put the hot food out first thing in the morning, and I don't think they refresh it after that. If you come down late, it looks quite grim. They also keep the heat turned down (presumably to make it last longer) and its essentially cold. I began to recognise some of the fruit as the days went on, and chose some pineapple that had been put out so many days it had turned bad. We had dinner in the restaurant two nights during our stay, and it was variable. The first time I ordered a chicken dish, and it was dry and overcooked. I ordered it again the next night and it was great! Perfectly cooked, with elegant garnish and presentation that was not there the previous night. Clearly some of their cooks are better than others. As other reviewers have said, the location is a bit removed from the centre of Pilsen, but it was an easy and pleasant walk to the university (20-30 minutes depending on how much of a hurry you are in), and the wifi is rock solid. I had friends at the conference who stayed next door at the Parkhotel, and after I saw their rooms, boy was I glad I had chosen Golden Fish! The beds were saggy, the doors to the rooms didn't close properly, and they were small and downright shabby in comparison (we were paying conference prices in both instances, but I was only paying €10 per night more for a room that was twice as good). It was nice to sit outside with a large group and have a drink on the terrace at the Parkhotel, overlooking the tennis courts, but you don't have to be a hotel guest to do that. I would happily stay at Golden Fish again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggingitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Diggingitall,

Thank you very much for your terrific feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to see you back soon! We know about the lightning-thing and we try really hard to make it better. During breakfast you can always ask for fresh and warm food just the way you want it. I am sorry about your first dinner, I hope it won't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, one room with king, one with 2 singles, large bathroom, kitchenette (you need to ask to borrow crockery), large lounge room, lots of storage, very clean. Located next to the Park Hotel, Plzen next to Borský park, was a little hard to find as we didn't have a map. Pilsner Urquell Brewery and Cathedral of St. Bartholomew are local tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for room with washing machine if you require, i thought ours came with one but didn't and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map_bgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear map_bgo,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been so positively impressed by the Golden Fish Hotel apartments. The rooms are apartments: 3 rooms plus bath, including a full kitchen, TVs, sofas, fantastic bed, light, clean, and huge amounts of storage. It's ready to move in. Breakfast has been diverse and with many choices, including lots of fresh fruit. A down side is that the hotel is a bit removed from the center of Plzen, but that's manageable if the 10 minute tram ride is acceptable. It also has a nice restaurant and bar. I haven't gotten to the nearby park for jogging yet, but it sounds quite reasonable. The staff are very cordial and engaging. They helped in minutes with my odd request for a tape measure.
Finally the wifi (no extra charge) is phenomenal. I wish my provider at home would come here and learn how to set up wireless.

Room Tip: Get an east-facing room to help start the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhap13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Fhap13,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am very happy that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to see you back soon! About the location, there is nothing we can do, sorry :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I never wanted to stay in Pilsen on a business trip, preferred to stay in Prague and enjoy the city. Until I visited Golden Fish. The hotel looks "fishy" at the first glimps. Something like a regular concrete block, actually very similar to the entire neighbourhood. But once you get into the room, you trully are and feel like in 4* propery, with all the quality. Clean, huge rooms, comfortable beds and even a kitchinette if you wish. Pitty, that there is not a sea in Pilsen or that they do not have such a property in Florida. Combination of these two would simply make it perfect. Well, I should explore the neighbourhood better in Pilsen and may be stop going on vacation to Florida :-)

Room Tip: Do not "bother" to search for room with a garden view. The rooms as perfect without any vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxn399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Oh, thank you so much for such a sweet review! We are very happy that you have been satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you back again soon. And next time you'll be here ask about the loyalty program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This apartment/hotel building was very nice and well maintained although it was a little tricky getting to it but for a solitary flag waving/pointing in the wind. The side road to the hotel was lined with tall trees blocking the actual structure but if one looked closely between those trees you would be able to see the building with the apartment/hotel’s name on the front.

The apartment was spacious, clean and modern looking with a sectioned off kitchen area, living room with a nice long desk to work on and a separate bedroom and bath. Free internet came with the room as well as a TV in the living room as well as in the bedroom. However, there weren’t that many (if any at all during some parts of the day) English speaking stations. There is a really nice restaurant by the lobby of the building as well as a small grocery market about a block or so away from the apartments.

A buffet breakfast came with the room and was of very good quality which included lots of breads but not much pastries, fresh fruits and fruit juices, hot entries including scrambled eggs and sausages. The usual coffee, teas, milk and cereal were also available.

When we think about the spaciousness of the apartment itself with the kitchen as well as the work desk area, the separate bed and bathroom areas and then with the buffet breakfast included, we felt that this place was of exceptional value for the price that we paid for.

This was a really nice place however there were a couple of situations that annoyed us. About 10 or 15 minutes after getting into our room, an employee walked in to change the light bulb in our refrigerator and then left. He didn’t knock or even announce himself and we had to ask him what he was doing there. The second situation occurred where we received an emergency phone call from our son in the U.S. asking for us. He was told that we hadn’t checked in yet however, when he called the second time we had already been there for over 6 hours. The operator called us later in the evening to mention that we had received two calls from our son. However, there were no lights blinking on our phone indicating that we had received any calls or messages. Thankfully, upon checking our email we were able to ascertain the reason for his call.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KOA002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear KOA002,

Thank you very much for staying at Golden Fish and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are very sorry about the situations you mentioned. I had a meeting with our team about it and it won't happen ever again. Next time you will be in Pilsen, you'll be much more satisfied. I promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is absolute luxury with famous restaurant, very modern interior and little pricy. Only problem is location, its at the end of the town, you need to take a taxi to get in 10 minutes to the center of town. There is nice big park nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We always do our best. There is nothing we can do about the location, but on the other hand we provide a very comfortable limousine service for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Golden Fish hotel and appartments, is attached to the Park hotel.
We had the Silver appartment, great room, with sepperat (sorry my English writing is not so good), bedroom and bathroom.

We where on the first floor, little problem, wen you stap outside the elevator, there is no light, in the hallway to the room there is almost no lightning, very dark.

In the kitchen were no plates, and not enough equipment to cook.
The strainer and the grater where very dirty.

The restaurant and the service was very good.
Parking is not included like they say, we had to pay extra for it.

Room Tip: I think the best room is the golden appartments and the platinum, I think they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniseredhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvonaRybova, Owner at Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Deniseredhair,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am sorry you had mixed feelings experience. Parking is free of charge for Golden and Platinum Apartments. There are only a few guests who are actually using the kitchen so we've decided to provide kitchen equipment on request. We have fixed the lightning problem right after reading this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilsen
1.8 mi away
Vienna House Easy Angelo Pilsen
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Plzen
Parkhotel Plzen
#5 of 31 in Pilsen
131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pilsen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Primavera Hotel & Congress Centre
1.8 mi away
Hotel U Zvonu
Hotel U Zvonu
#4 of 31 in Pilsen
83 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chateau Zbiroh
Chateau Zbiroh
#1 of 1 in Zbiroh
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fish Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fish Hotel Apartments

Address: U Borskeho parku 2887/27, Pilsen 301 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pilsen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pilsen
Price Range: $116 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Fish Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you know one of the top attractions of the city of Pilsen? Accommodations in the four-star Golden Fish Hotel Apartments, which shine like gold among the hotels in Pilsen. You will feel at home in its luxurious apartments, and should you make use of the long-term rental option, they will become a true home for you that you will remember fondly later on. Fall in love right now, during our virtual tour.The hotel is located in a beautiful area right next to Borský Park in Pilsen, which offers a pleasant and quiet environment and rooms overlooking green foliage. However, it is easily accessible thanks to its proximity to key access roads and it is easy to reach both the center of Pilsen and the industrial zone of Borská pole from the hotel. The mere 50-minute trip to the airport in Prague represents a positive advantage, too.As concerns other advantages of staying in our hotel, you can count more of them than stars in the sky, guaranteed. You will certainly appreciate personal approach and professionalism of our personnel, modern furnishing of rooms as well as the extensive offer of services. The golden fish wishes maximum comfort for and satisfaction of the visitors and it satisfies this wish really conscientiously. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Fish Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fish Hotel Apartments Plzen/Pilsen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing