We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for the money”
Review of Hotel Rango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rango
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is very simple, nothing fancy but the restaurant has a romantic atmosphere. The food is also great. Back to the hotel comments, nothing fancy, simple room, good bed, not too cold in the winter, very nice shower and a frigobar in the room is available. Very center location, any attraction is by walk distance.

Room Tip: The room nr.2 is very good, good bed, silent, very nice shower, frigobar and a small satellite TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent food and service! The menu is varied, the food well prepared and well presented. When you book a table (a necessity any day of the week or time of year), ask for the table in the lower level. Its like a small medivel banquet room with candelit tables, stone and brick walls and even a well. Yes you read it right, a well in the restaurant!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Neale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visited Plzen for my favourite brew, pilsner, and needed a place that offers parking (not free), free WiFi and is centrally located.

Hotel Rango was easy to find arriving by car, it is just round the corner from the Republic Square, there are spots in front of the hotel to off load the luggage and the parking lot is not far away. Entrance is via the Italian restaurant and reception is located on the 1st floor, there are no lifts in the hotel.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, which is a nice change from Prague. The room decor is simple with old and tired looking furnitures, bed linen was ok, the toilet/shower is huge with a small shower box, both are relatively clean. My room is on the same floor as the reception, located just above the restaurant kitchen, which can be quite noisy especially at dawn, sleep quality is ok except for the noise coming from the restaurant.

Hotel's breakfast was simple and efficient, there are some variety to choose from, did not try the restaurant for dinner as I only wanted Czech cuisine. For fans of pilsner beer, give Gambrinus Unfiltered a try, which can be found at Restaurace U Saského Mostu on Rooseveltova - towards Republic Square but turn right at the junction away from the Square, walk 2 blocks and restaurant/pub is on the left hand side.

Room Tip: Avoid room no. 2 which is just above the restaurant's kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This small and stylish hotel with amazing romantic restaurant has perfect location, just few steps from the main square of Plzen. One of the best restaurant (not czech style) in Plzen,very professional stuff. Parking is small problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Basic but very clean tidy rooms and nice friendly staff. The location is perfect, parking place behind the hotel. Nothing special, but everithing is allright. We did not try the restaurant becouse we choose a nice terass near the parking place which is to be higky recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank komuvesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We only realised after that it was a long-weekend in the Czech Republic, hence the empty streets. The Hotel is right by the main square and the brewery museum and the best bar/restaurant in town ‘Na Parkánu’, another place worthy of mention is 'Svenk' on the other side of the main square where we had great Czech grub. The hotel was great. There is no real receptionist, she doubles as the night porter, so everything is through the bar downstairs and the staff were really friendly and made us feel really at home - no probs car parking on the other side of the block, but if you're nice they'll let you walk through the service area to your car. As I work in a bar, this is heaven. We missed breakfast due to a liquid called 'Pilsner Urquel' So we went to the brewery. Highly recommended and only 10 minutes walk

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel and rooms are very basic, but are bright and clean, and are a decent value for the money. What they lack is the character or charm that I would expect from a small, relatively upscale hotel in Europe. There were no issues with them as the room was comfortable and decent-sized, and the staff was friendly, but a bit more charm and character would have been a huge improvement.

The breakfast buffet was okay, but not more - it was rather limited in its size and the scope of the offerings, but the food that was there was good, and the breakfast was a convenient way to start the day.

The location is good, and the hotel has on-site parking - which can be a godsend in Plzen! The major sights and attractions in the city are all in easy walking distance, as are a number of restaurants and cafes.

The restaurant in the hotel (also called Rango) was a nice, intimate little Italian place, and is a good place to eat if you want a break from heavy Czech food. The food was good, and the prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluelineAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pilsen hotels
0.4 mi away
Vienna House Easy Angelo Pilsen
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Pilsen
2.8 mi away
Ibis Plzen
Ibis Plzen
#3 of 31 in Pilsen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Plzen
Parkhotel Plzen
#6 of 31 in Pilsen
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plzen
Hotel Plzen
#13 of 31 in Pilsen
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Roudna
Hotel Roudna
#11 of 31 in Pilsen
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rango

Address: Prazhska 89/10, Pilsen 301 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Pilsen Region > Pilsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Pilsen
Price Range: $93 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rango 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rango Plzen/Pilsen, Czech Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing