We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittoresco!”
Review of U Mansfelda

U Mansfelda
Ranked #3 of 207 Restaurants in Pilsen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Trieste, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pittoresco!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you like to be in the right place for a tourist, this is for you: there is nothing more "local" than this big traditional restaurant.
Not exactly the best place for a vegetarian (they have some potatoes and even cheese), it's usually crowded, noisy and smoky (yes, you can smoke inside).
At your own risk...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    123
    40
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kysucké Nové Mesto, Zilina, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“in front of best brewery...”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

great atmosfere and firndly staff, we were there at the morning for breakfast and at the evening for yummy czech goulash with dumplings and local pilsner urquell which was really breathtaking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service (unless you're a hot girl)”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

On arriving we asked for a non-smoking table and were told there weren't any (perhaps the empty ones were reserved). So we asked for another table and were told there weren't any in the smoking section either. We pointed to an empty barstool/table and asked if we could sit there. Yes, that would be fine.

After the waiters had finished chatting up the girls at the bar, our order was taken. Our waiter dismissed my choice of sides saying it wasn't a good combination with my main meal and suggested something different. Ok, I guess. The food itself was actually really tasty and reasonably priced.

The atmosphere and service was sub-standard. We're used to poor service having been in the Czech Republic for over a month now, but this was below even that standard. Attentiveness was given to the girls at the bar, and other groups of cute girls sitting at other tables.

The only reason I gave this an "average" rating was for the food and price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederweert, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and ambiance.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice place to drink a beer and eat the nice czech food. I tried wildpork shoulder with goulasch and something else... Was awesome, also the desert is great. The service took a little bit long but worth it. I do recommend it. Worth a try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I love food, location, staff, and atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You won't be disappointed here. They have an extensive menu that includes Czech cuisine and regional favorites, and you're sure to find something. The menus are in Czech, German, and English. The staff is friendly. You can of course get all of the local beers here. This restaurant was recommended by the hotel we were staying at one my very first trip to Plzen, and I always make it a point to stop here on subsequent trips. Great downtown location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1roaming-gnomette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Mansfelda also viewed

Pilsen, Pilsen Region
Pilsen, Pilsen Region
 
Pilsen, Pilsen Region
 

Been to U Mansfelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing