We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Booked!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Hotel Romanza
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We booked an apartment in late 2010 for September 2011. Two days before we were due they informed us they double booked. They did try to place us in a partner hotel which has not worked out. We are leaving Marianske Lazne early. Thank you Romanza for spoiling our holiday!!! I and my family and business partners will not be staying with you again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AussHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed in Romanza for a long weekend and it was simply perfect. We relaxed in the beautiful rooms, very elegant and clean. The hotel offers the spa facilities in house but for the swimming pool and sauna we need to go to the neighbouring hotel Continental, which is a nice walk through the wonderful park. Service is good and staff nice and helpful. They suggested walks and trips to do during our weekend and we felt very satisfied. Such a wonderful city, great for a long relaxing weekend. Next time we will come back for sure in Romanza!

Room Tip: Choose the suites, a little bit more expensive but truly woth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bama7417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Residence Hotel Romanza, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Traveler,
thank you for your feedback an for choosing us!
It is really rewarding for us to see that we provided a good service and that our guests were satisfied. Marianske Lazne is the perfect place for a quiet and relaxing trip, besides our Hotel Residence Romanza is located in a small and quiet street, but still 5 minutes walk from the amazing park, the wonderful Colonnade and the centre of this pictoresque spa resort.
Thank you also for using and appreciating our spa services, we know it is a services very required in Marianske Lazne and we always try to be at the top level.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm regards,
Hotel Residence Romanza Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for a week late July, and starting with the positives: the rooms are very well appointed and kept to a high standard. The rates are very affordable compared to western Europe. As all spa treatments are likewise affordable this makes a good value for money proposition.
The cons are, however, numerous: as most of the visiting populations is either German or Russian these (and Czech of course) are the prevalent languages, and only one of 5 receptionists spoke any useful English.
The food at the hotel (breakfast) is, as has been previously posted here, pretty bad and monotonous; the service gruffy. The service in general can be best described as amateurish if you're coming with expectations of a 4 star European or US hotel.
A good example of this is that we booked via the internet a suite for the week, and when we got there got a small double room. This was amended after 3 days (!) (When the English speaking receptionist was in to sort things out) and we were moved to a suite. Upon checkout it was a hassle getting the first three nights' rate lowered as the receptionist had to call the manager to get authorization (for a huge 30 Euro sum!), the manager first saying that we shouldn't get a reduction because we received free massages (which we didn't) and only after arguing at length did they deign to charge us the right amount.
All in all, a so-so experience. From what we saw in this town there's a gulf between the standards at the bigger 5 star hotels (where English is spoken and the service is at a high level) and the 4 star ones which are more like 3 star hotels in WE/US.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcpike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Residence Hotel Romanza, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear Traveler,
thank you for your comment. We appreciate your compliments about the room and the value for money but most of all we appreciate your cons and critics, which we always take as a good chance to improve our services. We guarantee the quality of our food and beverage and we will try to improve the choice.
Guests´comments can really help us understand which are our weak spots and we are very grateful for that. Regarding the check-out issue we really apologized for what happened and for taking it very long in a situation that could be solved pretty fast without any drama.
We hope to welcome back soon and we hope you will give us another chance in the future!
Regards,
Hotel Residence Romanza Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We booked in here expecting from the internet pictures a large room with a high ceiling. Nothing of the sort. In fact the rooms are quite well appointed: small suites with a good bathroom. There is also a kitchenette, but there are no plates or glasses, no cutlery, no saucepans or cooking implements and the new cooker appears to be disconnected....the whole reminiscent of Beatrix Potter's Two bad mice. There was something odd about the television - the screen showed only 60% of the picture.

What is astonishing though is that this hotel enjoys the same four star category as the Grand Hotel Pupp in Karlsbad. Apart from a small reception and claustrophobic dining room/bar there appear to be no public rooms. Dinner consists of a preordered main dish (when we arrived we were given chicken livers; there was nothing else) and a scanty starter and blancmange type pudding. The food budgeting is obviously very low, the salad bar consists mainly of variations on cabbage, with additions appearing from previous evenings. The cooking is insipid and the quantity often inadequate; so disappointing that it became a joke. Breakfast is better, and the waitresses do their best in these embarrassing circumstances. Very unfriendly older lady who was apparently the owner. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluecowstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PcTeufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina O, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Hotel Romanza, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Borisenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank drdrccp45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#19 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Savoy Spa Park Hotel
Villa Savoy Spa Park Hotel
#11 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
#15 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Regent
Hotel Villa Regent
#18 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
#14 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Sonnenstrahl
Villa Sonnenstrahl
#30 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel Romanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Romanza

Address: Mladejovskeho 150/2, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Price Range: $53 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel Romanza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Romanza is a 4 star spa hotel located in the central part of Marienbad - the second largest spa town in the Czech Republic - close to the park and the famous Colonnade.The interesting architecture of the building gives it a romantic and relaxing atmosphere, ideal for a wellness or cure stay.Hotel Residence Romanza is a non smoking hotel, apart from the hotel hall.Hotel Residence Romanza features 24 luxurious apartments - some of them with balcony - and 5 standard rooms. Hotel Residence Romanza has a fully equipped spa and wellness studio, which offers a wide range of wellness and medical treatments (a doctor is available for consultation and check up - on request and on a fee).The hotel features a private indoor garage for up to 9 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Hotel Romanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing