We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa at Butterfly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Spa at Butterfly Hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fabulous spa that I was able to use by the day. It was only 340.00 Czech Krone for 2 wonderful hours. It was so great that you could just walk in and pay at the front desk and they give you a towel, sheet (for use in sauna) and a locker with key to secure your belongs. The pool is warm and has bubbling jets and the whirlpool is wonderfully warm and has good pressure from the air jets and you have a view out the main windows onto the street and can enjoy watching people as they walk by and the park across the street. The sauna is very hot and there is a shower area to cool off and repeat process. I also loved the inferred light section with relaxing lounge chairs. It's a great spa option for anyone who is visiting for just a day or two or staying at a pension or inn nearby where there is no pool/spa. Great experience and worth a visit for the day and the staff are gracious and friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravels017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa_Marianske_Lazne, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

we are very happy, you visited our hotel Spa in Mariánské Lázně (Marienbad), Czech Republic. Thank you for your positive review. we are looking forward to your next visit at the Spa Hotel Buttterfly.

Best regards,
Management of Spa Hotel Butterfly
Marienbar Kur & Spa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
20
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
praga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed for a weekend in Hotel Villa Butterfly.
The Hotel is a good spa hotel, with very interesting prices. For this reason it was full (I suppose it is always full) by german spa tourist. So if you want massages it would be better to book in advantage: we could only have a 20 mintes neck massages, all the day was already reserved by the the tourist groups. So no massages, and poll, sauna and whirpoll full of people as well till the 18.00 in the evening.
The rooms are clean, quite big.
The breakfast was deluxe! 3 kinds of eggs, cheese, hams, cakes, very deliciuos for godd day start.
There is the possibility to park the car in the garages, but book in advantage.
On the whole a good stay but nothing special, if I will back to Marianske Lazne I will go to other Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvisepraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Modern hotel compared to the traditional ones which are around the main street. Staff is helpfull, but a bit cold. We stayed there for couple of days for a family break and the treatment inclueded were really nice and relaxing, the swimming pool and sauna are just a great addition,beds comfortable and rooms quiet (we had room with a balcony facing the main street and park) but the meals were the downpoint of the stay - if you can just prebook treatments and eat elsewhere (breakfast is ok, not too creative and great selection, but ok, evening meals were really not that good) that is the go - many great local restaurants are near by and prices are lower.

Room Tip: room with a park view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I stayed here to attend a conference held in Marianske Lazne. It's very much like a Holiday Inn or any other large hotel chain. I had booked a single room directly w/ the hotel. I chose this hotel because it received a good rating by Frommer's several years ago. I think that the Frommer's information is now a bit dated and I found after my arrival that there is much more to choose from that I had realized based on reviewing Frommer's prior to my visit.

My room had two very small twin beds, a full bath, mini bar and TV. The hotel is located on the main road through town. The website said that it had climate controll in the rooms, which I assumed meant that it had individualized heating and airconditioning in the room. That is not what it means. I saw no evidence of any A/C, but it was not really warm enough yet in late April to need it. The heat was controlled by radiators in the room, which you could make warmer or cooler, but you could not turn off completely. This made the room too warm for me. I tried to control the climate by opening the window and door to the very small balcony. This worked, but the noise from the streets interfered with my sleep. It seems that many cars drive by way too fast in the night, and every night there seemed to be occaisional sirens that blasted when police cars left the police station located close by the hotel. This was not very restful to me.

The hotel advertised that it had internet available, and it does, but the price is outrageously expensive, basically a dollar a minute. Ridiculous! Free internet was available at the conference center in the casino, and there are also internet cafes in Marianske Lazne that offer connections at a much more reasonable price. Interestingly, I didn't find much wireless connectivity at all in Marianske Lazne - it does not seem to have benefited yet from the wireless revolution that one sees in larger cities.

Like with most European hotels, breakfast was included, and it was quite nice. Fruits, cereals, breads, pastries, cheeses, ham, salami, etc. Most of the guests in the hotel while I was there were older, retired German tourists. Unlike most large large hotel chains in European or US cities, I saw very few families w/ children, but it seems like Marianske Lazne is not the kind of place one visits w/ children. Instead, it's mostly elderly people who are making spa visits for health reasons - it's a lot like a hotel stay in a retirement home. The staff spoke and understoond English quite well. Most of the posted information and printed materials in the hotel rooms advertising spa activities like massages, etc were in German, not English. Overall, my experience was OK, but nothing special and I doubt I would come back to Marianske Lazne or this hotel for a vacation until I'm much older.

My colleagues who attended the same conference stayed at other hotels, and several of them seem much nicer than Hotel Villa Butterfly. If you are going here for a conference, there are many choices that are all close by the conference center facilities at the casino, and all are within walking distance. I don't recommend relying on the Frommer's information - there is much more to choose from. This is a very nice town for walking, with a large centralized park area and hotels situated around the park. There are some nice restaraunts, but don't expect a lot of exciting night time activities. The entire town seemed to go to sleep by 9:00PM every night (except for the traffic and noise on the main road below my window).

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ssbbcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2004

Visited during February The Hotel Butterfly commands a good location, overlooking the park and is a short walk (5 minutes) from the centre of Marianska Lazne and only a 5 minute bus ride from the railway station.
The design is modern art deco with some interesting pieces in and around the entrance lobby. The staff whilst not over friendly, have a good command of English and are helpful. The rooms are well appointed with all the modern trappings that you would expect. We used the sauna, gym, sun bed and massage, and my fiancee was very complimentary of the manicure, she also used the icy cold plunge tank after the sauna (I didn't!!). As there were so many restaurants in the resort we did not use hotels, however we did indulge in breakfast facilities, which is typical Czech, but more than adequate, with no pressure from the staff.
All in all good value for money and enjoyable

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.6 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezda and Imperial
Danubius Health Spa Resort Hvezd...
#15 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grandhotel Pacifik
Danubius Health Spa Resort Grand...
#4 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa Marienbad
Falkensteiner Hotel Grand MedSpa...
#5 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#3 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centralni Lazne
Danubius Health Spa Resort Centr...
#6 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#21 of 69 in Marianske Lazne
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly
Address: Hlavni trida 655/72, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Marianske Lazne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Hotel Marianske Lazne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing