We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely poor, unfriendly customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely poor, unfriendly customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Extremely nice hotels with extremely nice rooms. However, the receptionists were not able to provide us with keys that would work one of the rooms nor were they giving us the final bill. They redirected us to their Prague customer service where you have to deal with super unfriendly staff who are constantly throwing black light on this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Studyadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am very disappointed in reading these feedbacks. Please accept my apologizes if any of our staff member was unplesant or not helpful to you. Our staff is always giving the 100 per cent towards any of the guests.
I am sorry for the non functioning key, it could have simply be a factory defect of the elelctronic chip of the smart card, not necessarily depending on the receptionist work
Thank you again and I wish I could welcome you once more in our Hotel Continental and guarantee you an excellent customer service and plesant stay in beautiful Marianske Lazne.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    51
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
66
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good hotel...

We had a opgrading to lux room and it was super.
Manager did all for us.
Notice the room was to the garden, we where affraid of to much noice from the street,
But all in all we come again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_rgen_J667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Continental for your stay in Marienbad.
We are very glad you enjoyed our property and appreciated the roon upgrade. I will forward personally your nice feedback to the Hotel Manager and all her staff, who always make any thing it is in their possibilities to satisfy our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and do not hesitate to contact us for any future inquiry.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Since oversea student days in late '60s, I have heard of this spa town on hot springs in Bohemia, very near German border in Czech Republic. Rooms in this renovated central hotel are small but with excellent sound insulation, heating, bedding, easily got our non-smoking rooms. Sauna and indoor small heated pool well-maintained. Breakfast included in tariff, extensive European fare; dinner with good choices/ good value. Even following hotel card's written instructions, english language TV stations were not accessible during our stay, but we did get wi-fi access.

Room Tip: Getting to pool and sauna req'd two elevators: ask for complimentary robe at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chw98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental.
We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us it feels like you enjoyed Marianske Lazne.
We are sorry you had problems with the TV and we hope that our staff could help you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and visit us and this wonderful spa town in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We wanted to have romantic weekend at Marianske lazne. We choose hotel Continental as nice place to stay according comments.
Payment of stay was done more than 3times - nobody appology and it took more than 1 week to get money back!!!! any word or appology, absolutly non profesional behavior. We inform receptionist that payment was done more than once but any interest to solve it (no appology just excuse that is fist day in job of receptionist- but manager was also here and it seems that one more payment was done because "good" advice). Different price then on Booking.com they inform us that they have different exchange rate.
Internet connection was not functional during our stay (we were in 3rd floor).
We have two dinners included, both was awfull, one should be romantic with candels and one standard, Just one difference 4 hearts from fabric on table during "romantic" stay. Starter should be salad, but no salad on plates for everybody, main dish and dessert was disgusting.
We wanted to use sauna. Open hours should be till 19:00 - at 18:30 one person came to room without knocking turn off sauna without any words and informed us that in couple of minutes her collegues will come to lock room due to safety reasons..no more explanation provided.
If you expect profesional attitude and nice service choose another hotel. To be fair hotel room was very nice and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tereza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Traveler,
we truly apologize if the stay in our Hotel was not meeting your expectations.
Please, give us once again the chance to point out few issues to explain you what happened.
First of all, we have been assisting you personally during your stay and afterwards through email and I am very sorry that our efforts to explain you the situation were not successful. Concerning the payment, when we realized the mistake, you were informed straight away both by the receptionist and the Front Office Manager, it was fixed few minutes after as per time reported on the transactions from our terminal.
I am sorry to hear from your side that the staff was not helpful, because I was informed by the Front Office Manager that you were assisted all over the time since they asked also for our help from the headquarter in Prague. We promptly fixed the mistake: it was the bank in fact which kept the amount blocked but this depends only on the bank itself and not on us directly. Each bank has different measures and policies, which can be more or less strict.
Regarding the sauna timing, we have already investigated and taken actions.
Regarding the rate, booking.com mentioned in all its pages results "You will pay the hotel in the hotel’s local currency (CZK) at the exchange rate on day of payment" and this is what we do for all each guests.
We hope you could reconsinder our hotel once more. We would be happy to prove you our professionality, quality of services and staff.
Please, if you feel like having more clarifications do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Got a spontaneous idea of visiting Marianske Lazne for a single night and booked a room online. Didn't do much research but was happy, we picked Continental.
The staff was friendly at arrival, we got the choice of which room we wanted, and the receptionist spoke good English.
The room had a good size, was very clean and had comfortable furniture. The bed was excellent and I slept like a baby.
During the evening we had a drink in the restaurant, but it was about to close (we should have come earlier). The friendly waiter - who also was able to give us helpful information in general - suggested that we bought a bottle of wine to enjoy on the hotel's terrace on the second floor. We ordered a bottle of Bohemian Sekt (0nly Czk. 190,-!!!), and the friendly waiter made sure we had an ice busket, beautiful glasses and even a bowl of water for our dog. We had a splendid time on the terrace.
Breakfast was really good as well. Plenty of choices in meats, cheases, sausages, honey, fruit, cereals, etc. etc., good coffee and the option of having for instance scrambled eggs cooked to order. I was sitting close to the buffet, and during my meal I watched the waiter (same as yesterday) check the buffet 5 times to make sure everything was still fresh and plenty.
After breakfast my boyfriend had a swim in the hotel's (small but nice) swimmingpool. He was happy.
This is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in the Czech Republic (out of app. 40 hotels), and I'll be happy to return, especially if the rate is the same :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you very much for your nice review!
It is very rewarding for us to see that we have provided an excellent service to our guests and you were fully satisfied with your choice.
Thank you for the nice words you used to describe the dedication and helpfullness of our staff, we much appreciate it.
We hope to welcome you soon and for any furture inquiry do not hesitate to contact us directly, we would be happy to assist you personally and guarantee you another plesant stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very comfortable room. Good breakfast (although esspresso was for extra charge). We did have several complaints, though: 1. Although payed in advance for the parking, there was no parking space for us the second night (I should mention for the favour of the hotel that we were refunded for both nights). 2. Wifi did not work one out of the two nights of our stay. 3. The "Swimming" pool is too small to allow actual swimming.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are really deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miki367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for posting your feedback of your stay in Hotel Continental in Marianske Lazne.
We are glad you had a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.
Regarding the parking slot, we are very sorry for the unconvenience.
For any information or inquiry please do not hesitate to contact us directly, the staff of Hotel Continental will be at your disposal.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is newly refurbished, rooms are very comfortable. I can highly recommend the breakfast which is normally included in the price because it is delicious. City center is within a 10-minute walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room with park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Márton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
thank you for having visited us in Marianske Lazne and for posting your nice feedbacks on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you had a positive experience and we hope to welcome you back soon for another stay.
Do not hesitate to contact us in case you wish to have further information about our hotel, the spa services or any wellness packages you might be interested in.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marianske Lazne hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Hotel Romanza
Residence Hotel Romanza
#54 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
Orea Spa Hotel Bohemia
#21 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Monty SPA Resort
Chateau Monty SPA Resort
#15 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Devin
Spa Hotel Devin
#35 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#3 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
Orea Spa Hotel Palace Zvon
#17 of 70 in Marianske Lazne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Hlavni trida 230/88, Marianske Lazne 353 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Marianske Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marianske Lazne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks to its position, Hotel Continental**** offers to its guests the chance of enjoying in the best way the historic and picturesque centre of Marienbad and its services. Hotel Continental is divided into two buildings - Aida and Tosca - which offer respectively 14 Deluxe rooms and 27 Standard rooms. Some of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel has a restaurant, lobby bar, swimming pool, sauna, wellness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing