We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Bizarre Place - real mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellness Hotel Babylon
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Liberec
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hotel Babylon is a mid priced hotel offering a ton of entertainment in its basement. It is heavily (and bizarrely) themed and is mainly attractive for families. Its located in a mid size town next to the main A35 road through Czech Republik and has easy access from Prague/Poland etc.

The room we stayed in was a standard room. It was ok. Uncomfortable beds and very little space with air conditioning that only seemed to work in the mornings. During our stay, someone attempted to break in (using a card that worked on our door), but we were mid-day sleeping in our room and so they failed. Reception changed the code on our cards in response.

Service caters for Russian, German, English and Czech speaking mainly but also copes more or less with Polish. Many Germans, Czechs and Poles and a few Russians were present during our stay.

The place is amazing and not always in a tasteful way. Its fashioned in ancient babylon with a bit of Italian thrown in, a lot of modern and the whole feels like someone with tons of money but no taste decorated your house.

The "Lunapark" in the basement features old and many broken items but its suitable for youngsters below 10 mainly and fun for an hour or two. The aquapark is heavily themed and you have to admire the design at cramming in so many things to do (wall, four slides, tiny pool, paddling pool, two cafes, caves, fountains, fish tanks, stomach slides, rope etc) into what is a small space. The public are allowed into the hotel for entertainment so watch out for total overcrowding on Saturdays. An indoor themed shopping arcade featured an IQ park (science exhibition) which was actually very good and fun for bigger kids too and a series of mazes (extra cost) including what they claim is Europes largest mirror maze (hmmm, no way). The mazes were great fun though. There is bowling. Many other attractions such as laser quest, laser maze, golf, roof top sun and fun play area were either closed (its peak season!) or being repaired. The place feels run down a little but nonetheless you can easily find fun for two or three days with kids.

Smoking is allowed in the hotel so watch out if that bothers you.
Parking is extra and despite paying we couldn't get out without human assistance as our parking card didn't work.
Expect low quality food at high prices (for Czech).
Wifi only in lobby.
TVs very old.
Beds a bit smelly.
Decor that occasionally impressed us (Giant jungle head) and occasionally made us laugh.
Breakfast is included and is adequate with lots of choice but low quality (eg fruit salad is tinned).
The hotel is massive and complex with different coloured lifts. It takes a day or even more to find your way around.
Beware, Lunapark etc close at 8:00 (just when you want evening entertainment) , food stops at 9:00 (!) except for a tiny Mexican bar with rudimentary stuff on the menu.

Its hard to recommend this place to anyone who is a discerning traveler or with taste. On the other hand you get a lot for your money - more than any hotel I've stayed in outside of Vegas really. We all (including my 8 year old daughter) had mixed feelings and we won't return but I can truly say it was an experience of themed eclecticism, the mazes and IQ park were worth the trip. Utterly Bizarre.

Room Tip: Gold club would be a better choice than standard, special lifts and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britnpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and i never want to go back. Hotel offer "all-inclusive" program , but it include only very easy made breakfast and a dinner , which was bad too. Hotel organisation dont work very well , hotel is very large. Rooms are good , but not for hotel rated 4*+ , only like 3* hotel and definitely dont correspond with price . Hotel include aquapark , lunapark and iq park. Aquapark is good , but has very small swim area and all concept is good only for kids , before you discover thah water has much chlorine which is not good fot long stay. Lunapark is very , very old . Iq park is the best part of hotel but if you want to visit it , you should do it without staying in hotel , what i recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I've been just to IQ park so I can not rate neither the hotel nor the aquapark. What I can tell is that the whole complex is definitely small town in a larger city. Generally it seemed to me a bit "used" but I have to admit that IQ park was fabulous even for adults. If your are interested in scientific experiments don't miss it. There are 4 floors full of knowledge and explanations (in English as well). There are a lot of children but I think that they can not understand to most of it but they are happy to try everything just as we were :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We discovered this entertainment park during our stay in Harrachov (45 min. by car). Park is build from an old factory and all attraction are under roof. Lot of entertainment possibilities for children of any age. We've payed bundled tickets for Lunapark & IQ park but in 3 hours we (our children) could visit and enjoy only Lunapark attractions. I highly recommend it when your spend all of your home ideas about entertaining your children without puting your TV on.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriksnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Biggest hotel I have ever seen in Czech Republic. Very badly organized. Poor food. Classic rooms - nothing special. Very good for groops (lots of people for a good price) bud for individuals ? Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Good place for family with children, I think that children will have lot of fun in aquapark, iqpark and lunapark. If you don't like kids, don't go there, because children are everywhere. Terrible was breakfast - so many people, there were not enough glasses and place to sit. We were also disappointed and surprised that we have twin beds.
I can recommend trip to Liberec - it's really cosy town but choose diffent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helios69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

It a good place to go for two days (one night) for younger people. The hotel is average and I would say its overpriced, but with the accomodation, you get the acces to all the attractions. Ive been to better places like this, but its sufficient and if you let yourself go crazy, you will have fun. The spa/aquapark was a ok, too many kids though. Just be cautious about the last the days you book as they have nude parties there during some days of the month, so you could end up like us, cause we havent noticed and almost chocked when they announced that everybody has to put their swimsuits off otherwise they have to leave the area :-)

The complex is located quite far away from the town, but i guess 20 minutes walk is still ok. The town itself is quite nice, not very expensive but if you dont visit, you wont miss anything really.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouzelna_Rybicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liberec hotels
0.7 mi away
Clarion Grandhotel Zlaty Lev
0.3 mi away
Pytloun Grand Hotel Imperial
1.2 mi away
Pytloun Hotel Liberec
Pytloun Hotel Liberec
#11 of 14 in Liberec
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pytloun City Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Radnice
Hotel Radnice
#5 of 14 in Liberec
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pytloun Design Hotel
Pytloun Design Hotel
#8 of 14 in Liberec
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellness Hotel Babylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Babylon

Address: Nitranska 415/1, Liberec 460 07, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Liberec Region > Liberec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Liberec
Price Range: $95 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wellness Hotel Babylon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELLNESS HOTEL BABYLON is part of a unique entertainment, relaxation and educational complex. With regard to its capacity and diversity, it offers quality accommodation for a wide range of customers. 407 rooms in two categories – Superior and Standard, more than 1000 beds, divided into 3 parts: WELLNESS – comfortable rooms in a quiet area in close proximity to the wellness centre offering perfect relaxation and tranquillity. FAMILY - characterful visits for families with children who will appreciate the range of unique entertainment and enlightenment under one roof. BUSINESS - comfortable accommodation, conference spaces in many varieties, complex services for company clientele. LUXURIOUS APARTMENTS or memorable romantic visits and special occasions All this only 45 minutes by car from Prague, in the border region with Poland and Germany, nearby skiing and hiking destinations – Mt. Ještěd, the Jizera Mountains and the Krkonoše Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Wellness Hotel Babylon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrum Babylon Liberec
Centrum Babylon Hotel Liberec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing