We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap”
Review of Hotel U Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel U Ruze
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kutna Hora
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The room was big and spacy, and clean as well - but it needed a renovation. (look at the pics), positive was that it had an balcony. The staff was great and helped with everything like calling a cab and the breakfast was good and included :) All in all it was like an oldfashioned inn

Room Tip: If you need to be near the Kutna Hora Hlavny Nadrazy (main staition) its only 15 minutes away if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovndyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We loved this one! The staff were very kind and helpful. The room we had was awesome, huge, furnished with antiques, clean, big bathroom, and best of all, a private sundeck. It was perfect and very reasonably priced!! Also, a great location for visiting the bone church. And the onsite restaurant offered great food at great prices and is run by a very kind lady! Definitely check this one out!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel was housed in an old building, but it was clean. They had some antique furniture in the rooms and halls. The room was spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom was a little small. Can't complain for such a great price though. My only grouse was with 1) the mattress, which was very thin and hard, 2) the towels; very very rough... almost like sandpaper. If they got those two things fixed, the hotel would be a great place to stay at. Once fixed, I would definitely say great value for money. In addition, the hotel staff were very friendly, but spoke very little English. Still, we managed.

Do note that there are no amenities like hot water boiler, fridge, or safe in the room. It's not modern at all, but the WC works fine.


Plus points:
1. If you're going to see the Bone Church, the hotel is just next to it.
2. The restaurant below served the most awesome Czech food ever! Best food I had during my entire visit. If you're there, do try their lumberjack pork steak. All their pork steaks were very yummy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This hotel is basic but excellent value for money. From the onset the staff were friendly, directing us to the car park, giving us a map of the town with stars for places they would recommend and providing directions to the 'bone church'. The rooms were simple but large and very clean with a basic en-suit bathroom with a shower. There was no great view but the hotel is within about 5 minutes walk from the town centre and about 15 minutes drive from the bone church which was exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious, we were provided with such a big meal in the evening we couldn't eat it all and breakfast the following morning was simple but filling and delicious. I wouldn't want to have an extended stay in this hotel but for what we wanted, the price and what it offered it was spot on.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh USA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A friend and I were taking a driving vacation through Poland and the Czech Republic. We wanted to see the Ossituary and arrived after it had already closed so we stayed at this hotel just down the street. The rooms were huge, clean, and filled with big, comfortable, antique furniture. The staff didn't speak much English, but were very helpful and tried to assist us. We also ate dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel and found the food very good. Breakfast is included in the price and there were a few different options to choose from both hot and cold. There are TVs in the rooms with CNN as the only English options - but the streets around the hotel are charming and ideal for taking a walk. Definitely a great place to stay if you are in the area. On review mentioned that there were no elevators - but the hotel only has two floors so it isn't as bad as some places.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overgaard, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

This charming hotel decorated with antique furniture and old collectibles does not have an elevator but instead a beautiful open stairway. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Though they may understand English, their communication skills seem to be somewhat limited. The hotel restaurant offers several excellent full breakfast options. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Ossuary.

  • Liked — Its charm and the food.
  • Disliked — Without an elevator, it was necessary to carry luggage upstairs.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutna Hora
1.4 mi away
Hotel Opat
Hotel Opat
#4 of 11 in Kutna Hora
49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Na Havlicku
Hotel Garni Na Havlicku
#6 of 11 in Kutna Hora
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel U Hrncire
Hotel U Hrncire
#11 of 11 in Kutna Hora
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Kotera
Hotel Chateau Kotera
#1 of 1 in Ratbor
66 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Theresia
Hotel Theresia
#1 of 2 in Kolin
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Medinek Hotel
Medinek Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kutna Hora
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Ruze

Property: Hotel U Ruze
Address: Zamecka 52 | Sedlec, Kutna Hora 284 03, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Kutna Hora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kutna Hora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Ruze 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Friends, we would like to present to you an offer of accommodation and board in Hotel u Ruze in Kutna Hora, Czech Republic. Rooms were completely renovated and newly reopened hotel is under new managment since June 2013. Hotel u Ruze is located in direct proximity to the city's historical area, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The hotel rooms and the restaurant are designed in pleasant family style and the peaceful environment offers many additional opportunities for relaxation and recreation. We have included massage in our hotel services, you may also enjoy the grill in the garden; the hotel's garden area is a wonderful site for sport and social events. Close to the hotel you will find bike trails, golf courses, aqua parks and countless other attractions. If you would like to organise a business event, the hotel can offer you a ready room appropriate for presentations and training sessions, including provided buffet-style refreshments, as well as accommodation for your business clients. We are looking forward. Welcome to our beautiful, romantic hotel U Růže (At The Rose) from the mid-19th century and experience the beauty and history of Kutna Hora. Our hotel is emblazoned with romantic atmosphere. Whether you are planning a family vacation, a wedding, a romantic weekend or business meeting, we will be pleased to welcome you at The Rose and we will create an unforgettable atmosphere and we are able to ensure you professional massage. Relax in our new rooms, and use their unique atmosphere of peace and quiet family hotel. The front desk is open daily from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m., at this time we will provide you with all the information and also check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel U Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing