We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Flavor”
Review of Hotel Opat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Opat
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kutna Hora
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located in the heart of the Kutna Hora historical center,hotel Opat is an historical house in iitself. Yet, the renovation is succesful and allows to benefit from huge bedrooms with all comfort .It lacks a sort of lobby to welcome the customers.Restaurant is convenient ,scrambled eggs at the breakfast are well prepared and almond trout for dinner is delicious .Accompany that with a local beer or an adequate dry white wine by the glass.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is in the old town in a largely traffic free area. The town is a heritage site and has been described as the most beautiful town in the world. That overstates things considerably; the suburbs are hideous although there is much of interest.

The hotel is spacious and dates in part from 14th century. We had a suite with - oddly - two toilets. Excellent value. Good food [cheap] in restaurant. Parking on site

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Czech Comporers'Tour 2012 rolled into Kutná Hora un route to Prague, not because any composer was born here, but for the Unesco World Heritage buzz. Hotel Opat is at the extreme eastern end of the Old Town. The rooms are gorgeous, reminiscent of the Royal Ricc in Brno(see my review) - high building, old-fashioned, total modern comfort, a beguiling stairs. If you want to use the lift, it's a bit on the slow side - a large party can take 20 minutes to disperse - but this is a tiny quibble. We ate in the restaurant the first night: wonderful food - and cooking: not the same thing! - and a stunning Moravian Red wine for one-third the price in Prague. They also own a restaurant, U Varhanare, in Barborská, on the way to St. Barbora's Cathedral, which does scrumptious lunches.
PS. In case you're wondering whether we just automa, tically find great hotels, I do a recce the year before. s o that my group will be able to enjoy the comforts they're used to. So I suppose you could say that these reviews of mine are confirmation of my first impressions - which says it all, really, for a hotel.
PPS: note for music/choir freaks: the acoustic in the stairwell is truly amazing -four people sound like the choir of the Sistine Chapel. Gerry Murphy

Room Tip: Some f te rooms have beautifully decorated (restored?) wooden ceilings. I'm sure they'd give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry141047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel Opat is a charming hotel in a lovely Czech town. Kutna Hora is just an hour outside of Prague with a host of interesting things to see, all of which are within easy walking distance of the Hotel Opat. The rooms of the hotel are large, comfortable and clean. The furnishings are simple and comfortable. Internet is free and wireless and parking is free.

As an added bonus, while we normally eschew hotel restaurants, we decided to give Hotel Opat a try to dinner. The meal was delicious, well presented and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is in the old town and you get the old fashioned feeling straight away with low ceilings and arched doors.
The staff are very friendly but the rooms are basic as you might expect such a distance from Prague. The food and beer prices are a fraction of the capital and it's only an hour on the train, I cant imagine why you would pay the money to stay in the capital when you can comute from here.
On the down side the matresses are about 25cm deep and will keep the chiropractors on a job. There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms and it was 29oC when I was there and made for some uncomfortable nights. Having said that, my collegues stayed in other hotels and there was no air-con there either.
For decent night out any pub will welcome you and replace your almost empty glass with a full one without asking and I havent had a bad meal in 2 weeks here. I am a non-smoker though and struggled to breath in some places but the hotel operates a non-smoking policy.

Room Tip: Not room 52, it is the worstin the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We traveled to Kutna Hora on route to Prague from Krakow. We arrived on the overnight train so needed somewhere to dump our bags, have a shower and breakfast before exploring the town for the day. We contacted hotel Opat via email and received a quick and positive response. And they continued to impress from there. The price was good, rooms large and comfortable. Breakfast was wholesome and satisfying and reception was happy to assist with taxi's etc. We actually even ended up having lunch in the restaurant and this was also great! We would recommend this to anyone traveling to Kutna Hora and would also recommend Kutna Hora worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaandGuyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed there one night. The "apartment" that I got for 1 person was huge - it contained the bathroom, king-size bedroom and lobby. It's a hotel in typical Czech/Slovak old style (furnitures, height to the ceiling, sizes of rooms), but to give it 4 star rating? Hmm ... I think this note is too high, especially comparing to the other 4**** hotel that I slept during this business trip (Park Hotel, Plzen).

Anyway, I cannot say anything bad about the hotel - it was clean, I had 3 beds to choose in my bedroom, there was a high-speed Internet connection available, an elevator and also a parking lot in the back of the hotel. The breakfast was not so tasteful but I saw it then as a quick snack before long business day.

So if You go to Kutna Hora and You need a place to sleep for one or two nights this hotel will fit Your needs. They speak English also.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kutna Hora hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel U Ruze
Hotel U Ruze
#1 of 11 in Kutna Hora
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Vlasskeho Dvora Hotel
U Vlasskeho Dvora Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kutna Hora
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel U Zvonu
Hotel U Zvonu
#3 of 11 in Kutna Hora
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Na Havlicku
Hotel Garni Na Havlicku
#6 of 11 in Kutna Hora
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zlata Stoupa
Hotel Zlata Stoupa
#10 of 11 in Kutna Hora
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medinek Hotel
Medinek Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kutna Hora
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opat

Address: Husova 138/28, Kutna Hora 284 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Kutna Hora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kutna Hora
Price Range: $78 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opat 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldiest patrician buildings in UNESCO City of Kutná Hora ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Opat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing