We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals we had in the Czech Republic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pivnice Dacicky

Pivnice Dacicky
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Kutna Hora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Try the Beer Degustation. Six kinds of beer.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in the Czech Republic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

On a day trip to this small town we weren't sure what to expect in terms of food quality. Well, this restaurant absolutely knocked our socks off. The ambience was great- it didn't feel tacky even though it was medieval themed. The menu was huge and we had so many problems deciding what to order. We had a cold sausage platter, game pate, a fish dish from the 'alchemical' menu, veal with mushrooms, and pork knuckle with a spinach pancake. Everything was delicious. We'd had a lot (a LOT) of meat while travelling in the area but this was undoubtedly the best meat we tried. Unlike many other places that put a pile of meat on the grill and serve it on a big plate with huge amounts of potatoes, these meat dishes had nice sauces and even- in the case of the fish- a salad. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    237
    47
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Peaceful Leafy Courtyard - Traditional Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our guide took us to this lovely restaurant on our day trip to Kutna Hora. We opted for a light lunch of local beer and soup. The beer was cold and the soup hot and tasty. The waitress was efficient and friendly.

The interior of the restaurant was traditionally decorated whilst the outdoor courtyard was perfect for a meal on a warm summer's day. This is not some fancy joint but a rustic property serving good local food at an economical price.

If I ever return to Kutna Hora I will eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeniAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice place and still(!) kind of hidden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Definitely worth visiting! nice sitting outside (wooden branches and tables, simple but nice), staff was polite and attentive too, typical Czech menu with a very nice twist to it and few regional highlights that would be hard to find somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice place, could become a tourist trap soon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a great meal in this nice local restaurant, the food was OK, Czech cuisine isn't world-renowned after all, but the dishes weren't exactly mouth watering, but they were fine. The decore and ambiance is the best part of the experience, the restaurant is really nice from the inside with many funny pictures (unfortunately with Czech-only text in them). The place was packed with foreigners, apparently the restaurant made it to every single printed guidebook and everyone just heads there. And that might be the problem, I could not see very many locals around and the food was on the pricier side, so eventually this place could easily become just another tourist trap.

And not sure what everyone here says about inexpensive, maybe when you compare it to downtown Prague tourist traps, but this place isn't cheap. They have lunch menu which is reasonably priced ($5 per meal), but come 2 PM, all meals start at around $10 and come on, this is a restaurant in a small town in Czech Republic with slightly-above-average fare, so I don't think the place is inexpensive at all. There are other restaurants in town where you can get main dishes for $5 all day long. Sure, most people won't care (and they shouldn't, because the experience is worth it), but let's just be honest about it and not mislead fellow tourists.

The staff was attentive and I'd definitely come back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab
Level Contributor
202 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dark beer was superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a nice pub with a wonderful beergarden. Inside you sit at long tables (with cushions?).
Waiters pay attention. Try the hermelin - very nice and afterwards one of the various meat dishes.
Was a nice evening, next time again, although a lot of tourists are there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivnice Dacicky also viewed

Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 

Been to Pivnice Dacicky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing