We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical czech cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pivnice Dacicky

Pivnice Dacicky
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Kutna Hora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Try the Beer Degustation. Six kinds of beer.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical czech cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me while I tried to find a place for a big group of tourists. This place was great, really huge, with outdoor seating. It is a typical czech pub with lovely decorations. Everyone loved the meal and seemed to be satisfied. Our waitress was not very friendly but the service was over all OK. I would recommend this pub - it is clean, good, inexpensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KamBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    230
    46
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you like meat dishes, this is perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My local company office suggested this fabulous place for a dinner with customers. Excellent choice for sitting outside under the trees on a 36 celsius hot summer evening - a very pleasant place in the middle of the historical city center.

Extremely friendly staff (communication in english is ok) in working uniforms with just a hint of a medieval touch, which is the perfect fit for their main attraction: "The King's Sword", grilled meat for 3 persons, served on a "real" sword. Our party had a few of those, as well as the "High Chamberlain's Casserole", which I can also recommend. All other dishes I saw at our and at other tables also looked very inviting and tasty. There is even a vegetarian section of the menu, so no hungry soul will leave unhappy...

But it's not only about display, the cooking is really excellent. Meat, potatoes and vegetables are super tasty. The desserts are spectacular, too. And they do not use small pots or plates.
:-)
You will have to take a timeout between main course and dessert... This place has everything the cuisine of Bohemia is famous for.

Menu card is in Czech, English and Russian.

We paid the equivalent of 340 Euros for 12 people, including drinks and a 10% tip. Great value for excellent food and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnorzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty, Well Priced, Family Friendly, Interesting Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant while touring Kutna Hora. It is great! The food is fantastic and plentiful. My husband had the councilors platter which was way too much food for one person. I had the Ox Stew. It was great but also too much food. We also got the Goulash in the bread bowl. The waitstaff was helpful and nice. In the outdoor eating area, there is a play area for kids that mine adored! The decor is fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asarnoci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
275 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Come hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Restaurants in Kutna Hora offer better value and better service than similar restaurants in Prague. This place is a beerhall style restaurant. Four of us went together and thought the food, service and atmosphere were all great. I had the counsellor's platter and it came with 3 kinds of dumplings and potatoe pancakes, so I suggest that you arrive hungry. The beer and wine are priced very fairly. Our server spoke very good English and was friendly and talkative, which is a rarity in the Czech Republic. The neighbourhood surrounding the resaurant was one of the most enchanting walks I've ever taken. There was a man selling cups of wine right out of the barrel. This was definitely one of the favourite meals of my vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Medieval style traditional pub/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were seated in the large outside area, which was fantastic for a hot day.The staff spoke fluent English, and facilitated separate payments (Which is handy in big groups!) The atmosphere and theme of the place seemed very authentic and added to the enjoyment. The food was nice, although more variety would have been welcomed.

Just two downsides - The bathroom had no toilet paper or hand-towels, and bits of leaves from the trees outside constantly fall into your drink.

The value for money was great. My main meal (vegetarian option) and beer cost 130czk, and nobody on my table paid more than 200.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pivnice Dacicky also viewed

Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
Kutna Hora, Central Bohemian Region
 

Been to Pivnice Dacicky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing