We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more in the middle of the city center”
Review of Hotel Palatin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palatin
Ranked #24 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed for one night in a huge room with even bigger bathroom with 2 sinks - I think that's overdoing it a bit.
Nicely situated in the city center next to the colonnade with the hot springs taps where ever local gets his/her mug full of hot and very badly tasting water.
Interesting walk across the city that houses great scenic and decorational subjects - amongst other the big (very big) hotel from the James Bond movie "Casino Royal". Lots of shops with jewelry and souvenirs and tourists mainly from China and Russia. Local staff do not speak English very well - not even in the most succesful restaurants, but a bit of German will do.
Hotel staff very poor in English as well, but helpful and friendly.
You have to park the car (and pay for full days/nights) something like 1,5 km away - and it's difficult to find ones way when getting to the hotel by car to load of your goods as all roads are one-way - even our GPS lost it several times.
Breakfast was quite average - nice and clean, few bits of meat, some cheese and cereals and coffe/tea/juice. Nothing special but not bad at all.
Should I come back here, I'd probably stay at a less expensive hotel a bit out of the center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisPetersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palatin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Located in the middle of the pedestrian street in Karlovy Vary, there's only a short walk to all the attractions.

Room was large and bathroom was even larger. Well kept and functional. Beds were too soft for my taste. I think it was ok for a single night, but if I were to stay longer I would chose something with a little more atmosphere.

The breakfast was in all respects mediocre - the quality of the produce was low, the bread was bordering stale and the juice had been poured into glasses for hours. Breakfast was definitely a regarded an annoying cost rather than a service to the guests.

Reception staff was correct, but neither helpful nor welcoming. The breakfast waiter rates amongst the most inefficient I have ever experienced and the used tables were left uncleaned until the end of the breakfast period.

All in all it was ok value, but I doubt I will ever come back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else....
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mwestermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the lovely Hotel Garni Palatin for one night and it was a great experience. We arrived a bit early, but our room was already ready and we were able to check in. The room was average-sized, but with a large bed. The bathroom was absolutely massive, with 2 sinks and a big shower stall. Everything was spotless and felt spacious because of the airy and refreshing decor. The windows open onto the main promenade of the city, but that was not a problem for us because it was very quiet. The one improvement I would make to the bedroom is the addition of blinds -- there is only a sheer curtain that does not keep any light out and not everyone wants to wake up at 6am with the sun!

The breakfast the next morning (served from 8-11am) was quite extensive, typical continental fare, and more than sufficient. The location of this hotel could not be better, and I would venture to say it is probably the best-located hotel in Karlovy Vary as it is right between the older and newer parts. The only downside was that the reception desk was not staffed all the time: we stored our luggage after check-out and when we came back to retrieve it, we had to wait 10-15 minutes for the receptionist to come back. This was even after ringing the bell outside. We did not really mind the wait but if there had been a real emergency this would not have been good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saturdayedition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week in feb 2011 and we payed very little and were expecting a cheap hotel we could use as a base whilst we popped around the Czech Republic but we were very impressed, check in was very easy and the room was very big for the price and was very bright and airy. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice and clean but also upto 5 star hotel bathroom standards i have stayed in in London. The location of this hotel is right in the middle of things and even breakfast which was included in the price was more than acceptable. We were so pleasently suprised with this hotel and when we return to Carlasbad and Marienbad we will stay here again. One of the best value for money hotels we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: The in hotel massage is very reasonable and worth a go.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BeachHunter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful.The rooms were great. The breakfast was great. The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tasa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is a small boutique hotel right in Carlsbad. It is a bit difficult to find by car as there is no parking available but once reached the hotel the receptionist was mostl greatful to help and advise where to park and how to get there. the rooms were great. light spacious and the bathroom feels just like being home. the rooms were also very kleen and modern equipped. i suggest a room with a view as we looked onto a construction side. the breakfast was great. sufficient and good choice. not your english but certainly contiental europe breakfast with fruits, cheese etc. they also have a discount available at the nearby spa which is recommened to book in advance.
Being in czech quite often, this is one of the most friendly staff i met. all of them were polite and always helpful. would always recomend to go back there as they just made our stay unforgetable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franziska_altenkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is in the centre of town, making it very easy to walk around and see the sights.
We arrived by train and used a taxi both ways to the railway station. This part of town is pedestrianized giving it an old world feeling and this, together with the beautifully maintained buildings, make it a delight to just wander around this elegant town. There are a lot of nice restaurants not only around this hotel, but also in the newer part of town, which is not far to walk.
The staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
The breakfast room was cheerily decorated, the staff gracious and the food excellent.
Our double room was large, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage space. It was tastefully decorated and everywhere was very clean and well maintained. Free internet access was available, with reception providing a cable for use in our room. There is an
elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petr
Hotel Petr
#68 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#23 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heluan Hotel
Heluan Hotel
#34 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marttel
Hotel Marttel
#55 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASTORIA Hotel & Medical Spa
ASTORIA Hotel & Medical Spa
#25 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palatin

Address: Lazenska 16/10, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: $57 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palatin 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Palatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palatin Hotel Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing