We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Vilseck, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel, The location on the river is magnificent. The total experience is geared to promote relaxation and good health, The staff is friendly, gracious and accomodating. The room is state if the art with a view of the river., The pool, sauna and steam rooms were immaculate and inviting. The breakfast was spectacular with wonderful choices, all fresh and wholesome, fruits, made to order omelets, herring and lox , fresh breads and cakes. I could not find anything to improve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Bonnie,

we are very pleased that you have found some time to rate our hotel on tripadvisor website, we really appreciate it. When we were building this hotel, we were thinking of what we want to provide to our guests, and we deciced to make our guest to feel like to be at home and also to make one of the best places to get rested. I think we were succesfull when reading your reply. Thank you very much for your opinion and I am looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Your sincerely,
Petra Gutwirt, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    40
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
45
161
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay and very relaxing. I recommend anyone that has the chance to visit to stay at this hotel and have a vacation of luxury! The food is amazing and the service is great. It's nice to be some what away from the town but it is still very close and a lot of fun. This hotel is a great get away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

we have chosen our hotel’s position very carefully, because we wanted to provide to our clients one of the most breathtaking view of Karlovy Vary neighborhood and also a quiet place for relax, which will clear your mind. Thank you very much for your time spend on writing this nice comment. We would be happy to welcome you in our hotel once again. Do not hesitate to contact as straight through tripadvisor web side for best offer.

With regards,
Petra Gutwirth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is brand new, Just ten minutes away from the busy Karlsbad. THe SPA is perfect, clean and performes very good therapists. The reception staff is efficient and friendly. The italian restaurant is fair, not really italian but the food is good and well presented, probably a little bit expensive but the quality is worth. The room is perfet, clean, specious, well furnished and with a beautiful bathroom. One of the best hotel I Washington in Rep. Chetz.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the riverside, Just choose one of those on the second or tiro floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

thanky ou for your time spend on witing this nice review. We all work hard to provide professional services that would make are guests happy and feeling like at home. We also aprecciate your feedback on our La Terazza restuarant.

We would be happy to welcome you back in our hotel during your next trip to Czech Republic.

With regards,


Petra Gutwirt, Hotel Director and all team members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our visit to Hotel Retro Riverside was at the end of a two week trip through central Europe, and we needed the rest and relaxation! the Hotel and especially manager Petra Gutwirt was amazing, and the experience was one we will never forget. It is a beautiful property on the water outside of the town of Karlovy Vary. easy to get to, easy to stay at! the spa was perfect with a number of massage and services available and the saunas and baths were very relaxing. Ladislav on the staff was always there when we needed something (i dont think he ever leaves the hotel!) and again Petra did everything to make our stay very pleasant. Traveling from the US, you always wonder what "5 Star" means, and this hotel satisfied my expectations and then some!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

not only our front office staff is here for you, but also the managers, which is not so common and I am glad you mentioned it, because it is my goal to connect with people, to make them feel as they have come to visit friends, as oposed to just stay in a hotel. Me, Ladislav and everybody on our staff would like to see you again in our hotel. Thank you very much for you appreciative comment.

Your sincerely

Petra Gutwirt, Hotel Director and all team members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the very best i ever stayed at, if not the best. fully deserves the 5 stars for everything: hotel setting, rooms, culinary, hotel staff and services and of course the spa! the hotel is very new, opened this year so even the furniture in the rooms looks brand new. Very romantic, with a setting on the lake. It is situated outside karlovy vary far from the hassle of the town, but they provide a shuttle service to karlovy vary so its really good...also there is amply parking space to park your car free. The hotel is not huge so what struck me most from this hotel is that the guests get special attention from the hotel staff. we were really impressed. so big thanks to the staff for making our stay FANTASTIC! We hope to return soon to this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double room with a view on the lake. simply wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hello Pierre!

I was very happy when I finished reading your comment. As you said, we are not that big hotel like others in Karlovy Vary, but that makes us to build a great relationship between staff and client and it’s one of the most important things we are betting on. Your comment is very nice and we are thankful for every single satisfied guest. I hope you will come back one day and let us prove, that we are one of the best hotels in Karlovy Vary.

Yours sincerely

Petra Gutwirt and Hotel Retro Riverside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is located 7 km.from the centre of Karlovy Vary.But for us this has been no problem because it is very easy to get there.All rooms overlook the water and the hotel has very new rooms with beautiful bath rooms.In house spa,all saunas that you can imagine,swimming pool and massage facilities for traditional and thai massage.The terrace is overlooking the water and offers lunch and dinner.The restaurant is ok,but not excellent.A small menu without too much variety.
We enjoyed the stay of two nights very much.The only critical point is that the road along the hotel is very noisy at night,so take care of that when booking a room

Room Tip: Ask for room that is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Nico,

thank you very much for such a nice comment on your stay in our hotel Retro Riverside. That is great to know that you have enjoyed our wellness with saunaland. All our room are facing the dam to avoid the noice from road near by, we apologize if there was still some noice caused by trafic that is not very offen.

Have a nice day and do not hesitate to come to visit us soon again.

With regards,

Petra Gutwirt and all team members !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything perfect, we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel offers a great wellness area-5 different types of sauna and a great whirlpool. The only thing that could have been better was breakfast. the offer was quite poor. Dinners could have been better as well as it's a five star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra G, Generální ředitel at Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. Satisfied guest makes satisfied staff so we are very happy that you enjoyed your time in Karlovy Vary. We hope that when you come back again you will not enjoy only our wellness area, but also our F&B services. We are looking forward to your next visit in Retro Riverside****.

Best regards,

Petra Gutwirt and all team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
1.8 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#2 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#13 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#11 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prezident Luxury Spa & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort

Property: Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
Address: Brezova 157 | Brezova - Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spa Wellness Resort Retro Riverside is brand new exclusive 5* resort hotel, which was opened on the begging of 2013 in retro style of early 20th. Offers 19 luxury rooms & Suites, wellness center for the high demanding clients looking for true spa vacation, and luxury restaurant for overall 150 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing