We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Spa Resort Sanssouci(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Schweizer Hof(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
Hotel Bellevue(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
Lazensky Hotel Tosca(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
Villa Basileia(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Spa Hotel Ambiente(Karlovy Vary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
219
67
28
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
67
28
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe viennatennis courtsaverage customer servicegroup classeshuge resortspa treatmentsweek stayswimming poolhill overlookinghotel areamagnificent hotelgreat spawonderful staymain buildingrooms are largethe hotel offerslada
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 336 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed there for 5 day during our stay at International Film Festival. It is a beautiful propery not far from the downtown but in a beautiful nature with forests arond you. Old luxury building but a little bit old fashioned. The service is not so special and the breakfast is avareage. Not good enough for 4 star hotel. Mainly oriented on spa tourists came from Russia. Rooms are spacious - you can dance in your bathroom:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Pavel,
Thank you for your rating and comments. We are sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast assortment.
Your evaluation gives us important information that will be reflected on in our pursuit of the ongoing improvement of our services that are always customer-oriented.
We will be pleased if we remain in your good graces and have an opportunity to welcome you as our guest sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with a lot of old luxury design. The first impression you get is wonderful, when you are welcomed by the very helpful and friendly staff at the reception.
All this is ruined by the cold attitude you get at the spa centre and at the restaurant Prague. The food at the restaurant seems to be bought at the local supermarket and warmed up. Poor and not tasty. The dishes lack imagination. They said it was a special dietary food. Well, as far as I know, dietary food does not need to taste salt ang gum. The salad bar is very poor.
The room-service lady comes into the room quite early without knocking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Linda,
thank you for your stay and evaluation.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with our services. Regarding your comment about the scope and the quality of meals in Restaurant Prague we would like to point out that all ingredients are of the top quality. In addition, technological procedures used in preparation comply with the modern trends of the current gastronomy.
Our guests can choose from two soups, several main courses, side dishes and grilled vegetables. A rich salad bar is also included. There are also desserts or ice cream.
With regards to our staff entering our guests' rooms, they always knock before entering a hotel room.
This is the main principle that every employee must observe. There may be situations when the guests do not hear the staff while being in the bathroom or in the balcony. When guests do not want to be disturbed by the staff, they can hang a sign on the outer handle of the hotel door with the text "Do not disturb" that can be found in all rooms.
It is also important to point out that the hotel manager was settling the mentioned requirements and similar ones personally with you when you were staying in Hotel Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a 4 star hotel, with 5 star prises, and to star service.
It is Embarrassing to experience that you have payedthis much money and cant get a refund for a day, and when they specialice in healtcare, they do not even put signs on what food they serve at breakfast, dinners or any kind of meal....
And also you cannot ask for any help because the staf only speak RUSSIAN and Tjeck!!!
My only word is "Embarrassing"...
WE will NEVER come again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Jan,
Thank you for choosing to stay in Hotel Imperial. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. It’s a pity you did not communicate your comments and suggestions during your stay in the hotel. We would have done our best to deal with your complaints to your satisfaction.
The hotel staff speaks German and English too and other guests appreciate its services and language skills (e.g. a review posted by Alexander from Munich on September 18, 2011).
However, we admit that an employee may fail to understand a quest’s wish or requirement exactly. Then it is good to bear in mind that one of hotel managers who are fluent in English is always present on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I never write hotel reviews but this time i just cant ignore it and help people to choose the best hotel in Karlovy Vary. I stayed in Imperial 15 days, got medical package with full board.Personnel is very kind and helpful, Balneo center where you get your treatments is very clean. Food is nice. There are some guests is the hotel who never satisfied and always complain instead of taking rest and enjoying vacations, but you just can ignore them since they are old and jealous. :) Very next day doctor explained me how and which mineral water i must drink before food, he was very polite and checked all my medical history as i had my file with me. I didnt pay anything for laboratory tests. results was told to me very next day and final report given when i was checking out. Location of the hotel is perfect. I was afraid that it will be far from kolonade (waters), but its only 10-15 minutes walk (depends on your speed) which is very healthy plus its is very good to lose some fat from your body (im sure every lady think of it). In contract to other hotels Imperial located on the top and you can feel the difference in the cleaness of the air when you reach hotel. Some of my friends was saying that you wil get tired to go up and down to the city, but there is subway which you can use free of charge during your stay and two bus lines 2nd and 13th (if you want to explore karlovy Vary). Little bit about time consumption: after breakfast treatments (so basically you busy till lunch), after lunch you can have some coffe or tea in Cafe Vienna (very nice and relaxing), tehn you can have city walk for 2-3 hours till dinner. After dinner you can rest or go to swimming pool (clean and has underwater massage), sauna,jacuzzi. If you are in mood to stay late but dont want to go far, there is Bar Imperial (english style) open till 2:00 or 3:00am (everyday they have some entartainment program from 8:00-10:30). There are really many things i could say about the hotel. But one is most important that you will not regret a second if you go to Imperial. I relaxed and full of energy till my next vacation :)

Room Tip: I didnt see all rooms, but noone from the visitors complained, as i was asking them about it:) If you want room with balcony you can probably ask for it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Seniorita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for your rating and full comments.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Imperial in Karlovy Vary.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent two weeks with my wife and our two children at the Imperial for Medical Wellness including full board and 2-3 spa treatments per day. Was a fantastic experience, we are delighted and will come back in spring.

The location is perfect with a stunning panorama view from I guess every guestroom overlooking Karlovy Vary and the beautiful nature. Lots of international guests among 40 and 55 years. A kind of elevantor or subway connects the park of the with the famous Mill Collonades in downtown.

The hotel is an excellent choice also for tennis and golf. They have five tennis courts in the park and two beautiful championship golf courses nearby (5km and ca 8 km by car). The swimming pool and the whirlpools are very nice with great panorama view. The sauna is OK, but I would appreciate a variety of saunas and a steam bath. I miss some

The Imperial Club is great place with live dance music in the evening and lots of cozy atmosphere at the fireplace. Watch the event callendar, the hotel offers a variety of performances by musicians (jazz, soul).

The medical services are excellent. The staff speaks fluently german and english. The doctors are very friendly and competent. The treatments are well done in clean, modern ambience. The programme of treatments was tailored to our needs. After two weeks at the Imperial we are well relaxed!

The food is delicious. We have chosen the intimate gourmet restaurant Paris. Excellent fish, fruits and vegetables. Once at the Imperial Club we have chosen a steak - very good.

The staff in the restaurant and at the reception is very friendly. We have booked a standard room, but they have given us an especially spacios family room with a huge bathroom, that was great to enjoy the two weeks in this comfortable ambience together with our children. Thank you a lot!! We will visit you again.

Alex.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Alex,
Thank you for your rating and comments. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the Imperial hotel. It is our priority to provide high-quality services.
Next year the Imperial hotel Sport center will undergo reconstruction which will change its environment into a more modern and enjoyable place.
We hope to welcome you to our Imperial hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews