We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with a lot of old luxury design. The first impression you get is wonderful, when you are welcomed by the very helpful and friendly staff at the reception.
All this is ruined by the cold attitude you get at the spa centre and at the restaurant Prague. The food at the restaurant seems to be bought at the local supermarket and warmed up. Poor and not tasty. The dishes lack imagination. They said it was a special dietary food. Well, as far as I know, dietary food does not need to taste salt ang gum. The salad bar is very poor.
The room-service lady comes into the room quite early without knocking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Linda,
thank you for your stay and evaluation.
We are sorry you were not satisfied with our services. Regarding your comment about the scope and the quality of meals in Restaurant Prague we would like to point out that all ingredients are of the top quality. In addition, technological procedures used in preparation comply with the modern trends of the current gastronomy.
Our guests can choose from two soups, several main courses, side dishes and grilled vegetables. A rich salad bar is also included. There are also desserts or ice cream.
With regards to our staff entering our guests' rooms, they always knock before entering a hotel room.
This is the main principle that every employee must observe. There may be situations when the guests do not hear the staff while being in the bathroom or in the balcony. When guests do not want to be disturbed by the staff, they can hang a sign on the outer handle of the hotel door with the text "Do not disturb" that can be found in all rooms.
It is also important to point out that the hotel manager was settling the mentioned requirements and similar ones personally with you when you were staying in Hotel Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 293 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a 4 star hotel, with 5 star prises, and to star service.
It is Embarrassing to experience that you have payedthis much money and cant get a refund for a day, and when they specialice in healtcare, they do not even put signs on what food they serve at breakfast, dinners or any kind of meal....
And also you cannot ask for any help because the staf only speak RUSSIAN and Tjeck!!!
My only word is "Embarrassing"...
WE will NEVER come again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Jan,
Thank you for choosing to stay in Hotel Imperial. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. It’s a pity you did not communicate your comments and suggestions during your stay in the hotel. We would have done our best to deal with your complaints to your satisfaction.
The hotel staff speaks German and English too and other guests appreciate its services and language skills (e.g. a review posted by Alexander from Munich on September 18, 2011).
However, we admit that an employee may fail to understand a quest’s wish or requirement exactly. Then it is good to bear in mind that one of hotel managers who are fluent in English is always present on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I never write hotel reviews but this time i just cant ignore it and help people to choose the best hotel in Karlovy Vary. I stayed in Imperial 15 days, got medical package with full board.Personnel is very kind and helpful, Balneo center where you get your treatments is very clean. Food is nice. There are some guests is the hotel who never satisfied and always complain instead of taking rest and enjoying vacations, but you just can ignore them since they are old and jealous. :) Very next day doctor explained me how and which mineral water i must drink before food, he was very polite and checked all my medical history as i had my file with me. I didnt pay anything for laboratory tests. results was told to me very next day and final report given when i was checking out. Location of the hotel is perfect. I was afraid that it will be far from kolonade (waters), but its only 10-15 minutes walk (depends on your speed) which is very healthy plus its is very good to lose some fat from your body (im sure every lady think of it). In contract to other hotels Imperial located on the top and you can feel the difference in the cleaness of the air when you reach hotel. Some of my friends was saying that you wil get tired to go up and down to the city, but there is subway which you can use free of charge during your stay and two bus lines 2nd and 13th (if you want to explore karlovy Vary). Little bit about time consumption: after breakfast treatments (so basically you busy till lunch), after lunch you can have some coffe or tea in Cafe Vienna (very nice and relaxing), tehn you can have city walk for 2-3 hours till dinner. After dinner you can rest or go to swimming pool (clean and has underwater massage), sauna,jacuzzi. If you are in mood to stay late but dont want to go far, there is Bar Imperial (english style) open till 2:00 or 3:00am (everyday they have some entartainment program from 8:00-10:30). There are really many things i could say about the hotel. But one is most important that you will not regret a second if you go to Imperial. I relaxed and full of energy till my next vacation :)

Room Tip: I didnt see all rooms, but noone from the visitors complained, as i was asking them about it:) If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Seniorita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for your rating and full comments.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Imperial in Karlovy Vary.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent two weeks with my wife and our two children at the Imperial for Medical Wellness including full board and 2-3 spa treatments per day. Was a fantastic experience, we are delighted and will come back in spring.

The location is perfect with a stunning panorama view from I guess every guestroom overlooking Karlovy Vary and the beautiful nature. Lots of international guests among 40 and 55 years. A kind of elevantor or subway connects the park of the with the famous Mill Collonades in downtown.

The hotel is an excellent choice also for tennis and golf. They have five tennis courts in the park and two beautiful championship golf courses nearby (5km and ca 8 km by car). The swimming pool and the whirlpools are very nice with great panorama view. The sauna is OK, but I would appreciate a variety of saunas and a steam bath. I miss some

The Imperial Club is great place with live dance music in the evening and lots of cozy atmosphere at the fireplace. Watch the event callendar, the hotel offers a variety of performances by musicians (jazz, soul).

The medical services are excellent. The staff speaks fluently german and english. The doctors are very friendly and competent. The treatments are well done in clean, modern ambience. The programme of treatments was tailored to our needs. After two weeks at the Imperial we are well relaxed!

The food is delicious. We have chosen the intimate gourmet restaurant Paris. Excellent fish, fruits and vegetables. Once at the Imperial Club we have chosen a steak - very good.

The staff in the restaurant and at the reception is very friendly. We have booked a standard room, but they have given us an especially spacios family room with a huge bathroom, that was great to enjoy the two weeks in this comfortable ambience together with our children. Thank you a lot!! We will visit you again.

Alex.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Alex,
Thank you for your rating and comments. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the Imperial hotel. It is our priority to provide high-quality services.
Next year the Imperial hotel Sport center will undergo reconstruction which will change its environment into a more modern and enjoyable place.
We hope to welcome you to our Imperial hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a last minute decision for us. Rooms were a little pricey but the hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds. We walked a lot! The town is enchanting. Our room had a perfect view of the city with a very nice balcony. The staff were ok, not great. They did speak English but not very friendly. Breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RosemaryA646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Rosemary,
Thank you for your rating and comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Imperial hotel.
We make our utmost efforts to continually improve our staff’s language skills.
I believe that next time you stay in our hotel their better communication skills will be a pleasant surprise for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Friends recommended the Imperial and we spent three weeks at this amazing castle. We were avaited at the Prague Airport, friendly driver, great ride to Karlovy Vary, beautiful scenery. Our medical spa vacation was a unique experience. The doctors and therapists have treated us with highest attention and competence. The food at the Paris restaurant is delicious and the service very kind. The rooms spaceous, clean and comfortable. The panorama view from our balcony unforgetable. Great pool. Some nice golf courses nearby. Will be a pleasure to come back :-) Gragg & Liza, N.Y.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Gregg,
We appreciate your highly favorable evaluation and comments.
We are happy that we enjoyed your stay in Hotel Imperial. We do our best to make all guests of the Imperial hotel absolutely satisfied with their stay.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Pros:
- large hotel located in an old historical building which looks very nice
- excellent view to the city and mountains, because it's located on top of the city
- rooms are very large with high ceilings. I have been in many hotels in Europe and this one had the largest rooms.
- a lot of fresh air available around the hotel area, as it looks next to the mountain and forest area.
- large variety of spa procedures/treatments. Big diversity.
- staff at the reception, restaurants, nurses and spa center are nice, friendly and helpful. They tried very well to accommodate and help all patients.
- the staff at spa center comes to you usually when procedure starts. So, there was no problem with missing any procedures, because they were always waiting for you and asking patients to make sure nobody misses their treatments.
- spa center is in the same building which makes it easy to go back to the room between procedures to take a rest
- free ticket is provided to ride a funicular and one of the common buses
- food makes you actually lose weight, because it seemed to be designed dietary. There are a lot of salads and healthy elements inside.
- room service and cleaning are very good and efficient. They always clean it well and fast. It is always clean and tidy. I was very impressed.
- mineral water source is located inside of the building which makes it easy to access.
- the nurse is on sight 24 hours and always tries to answer your questions and provides very good help.

Cons:
- windows in the rooms had no nets and the rooms have no central or local AC. This means you have to keep your windows open to get fresh air. As a result, a lot of bugs and insects including flies and mosquitoes enter your room and you have to get rid off them.
- LAN internet in the room is available, which is very nice. However, it has a lot of interruptions starting the afternoon. It seems like people either start downloading some heavy stuff or bandwidth decreases a lot in the afternoon.
- there are a lot of arrogant tourists in the hotel. For example, I have met some arrogant tourists from Russia.
- our doctor seemed to be knowledgeable and tried to help us, but she had lacked communication skills and became sometimes nervous when you asked her questions. Not sure whether she had a bad day or some family problems.
- there is a point system used by the hotel spa center to decide how many spa treatments a patient gets, but the whole scheme of what procedure gets x number of points is not transparent and nobody can really explain this to none of patients. So, I could not understand this.
- there is an old elevator in the building which does not fit more than 3 people, but it's written it can handle 6 people. The elevator stops working when the door does not close properly. I think this needs to be fixed properly.
- showers are not designed properly, because water often leaks out to the floor when you take shower which is sometimes annoying.
- try to make extra money on things like phone calls within the city or receipts for insurance company. I think this could be done for free to patients staying at the hotel.
- the spa center has no mandatory rule for patients to wear slippers in the procedures and shower rooms which can create some hygienic problems in general or make patients to fall down when the floor is slippery.
- alarm in the TV does not work properly often. It bugs and loses alarms that are setup.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank yogourt_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koutny, Manager at Hotel Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

We appreciate your evaluation of our services and extensive comments, referring, among others, to shortcomings. This information brings us valuable feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the flaws you mentioned.
Our staff receives regular training regarding corporate standards, including language skills.
14-day therapeutic packages are limited to 18 procedures per week. Considering the guest’s physical condition the spa physician prescribes an exact number of types of procedures so as to achieve the best therapeutic effects possible.
The Imperial Hotel has a total of 4 elevators for guests: 2 elevators are right at the front desk and 2 older, yet fully functional and perfectly safe elevators in building wings. The refurbishment of these older elevators is planned for this year.
We will look forward to your next stay in Hotel Imperial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
2 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#2 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#11 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#35 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Libusina 1212/18, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#5 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#8 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: $74 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Imperial in Karlovy Vary, we offer our guests tradition in a modern style. We provide our guests with the highest standard of hotel accommodation, spa treatments and all other hotel services. Due to this commitment of providing the highest standard of service to our clientele, Hotel Imperial is the proud holder of the prestigious award: "Czech Republic's Leading Spa Resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing