We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recurring happiness!”
Review of Grandhotel Pupp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grandhotel Pupp
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Every year in springtime I check into the same suite at The Grandhotel Pupp and every year it feels like a second home . It is one of the great highlights of the social calender that brings me and so many others here every spring to enjoy festivities, good food and dancing at this excellent hotel. I have witnessed its restauration and year by year it just becomes better as does the service. Even my two little dogs got V.I.P treatment with special dog beds, toys and goodies! The new spa is a lovely bonus too. Thank you for making me, and those I love, feel like special guests, -every time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front with french doors. They are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 710 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Most beautifull holliday which you can imagine. Lovely vintage architecture around, and Pupp is like a castle and you have that honour to live there. Beautifull nature everywhere around make feeling that you are in the fairytale. You will remember visit of Pupp for rest of your life!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zamoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent new spa-area, very individual and luxurious rooms, it´s a very recommended place to be. The restaurant and bar in the basement are marvellous! The location in the most beautiful part of Karlsbad is magnificent. Especially in spring and autumn it is one of the most loveliest places in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel holds a special place in my heart. I have been spending my summers here for as long as I can remember. When I was a girl, I'd spend summers here with my father who worked in the Czech Republic, not to far from the hotel. My father was also good friends with the owner of the hotel. Some of my most distant memories are of a grand ball in which all the people were dressed so beautifully. There were so many people speaking so many foreign tongues. I remember hiding under the table cloth and sneaking a slice of cake from the large, beautiful cake. I can still taste it. It was, and will always be, the most delicious cake I have ever, and will probably ever, consume. I remember roaming through the kitchen and the service areas not seen by the guests. Coming year after year, I began to make good friends with the staff. I would watch the band rehearse in the ball room and accompany the maids when cleaning the rooms. I specifically remember once, a maid allowed me to look at the presidential suite and her saying in a sweet, tender voice "Nyní Judy, ty nesmím se ničeho dotknout." I remember being in awe in its extravagant appointments. It was so luxurious and grand in it scale. I will never forget it. I saw where the sheets were washed, where the food was made, where they stored all the fine china, where they pressed the napkins, and much much more. Today, I envy that wide-eyed little girl I once was. Walking in brings in a realm of memories; my father, the grand parties, the rooms. I will never forget the experiences I had in Grandhotel Pupp. It's where I found myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy2342352662724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a wonderful stay in a great hotel in a great neighborhood. The staff is fantastic. As soon as you step in the door you forget that you are in the middle of Carlsbad. You step back in time and feel like you are entering an chateau. Common areas are charming. The rooms are unique and very comfortable, newly refurbished. Everything is top notch. Excellent location. We got an upgrade - room 150 with a view over the Tepla river and spa promenade.
We parked our car in front of the hotel, offered valet parking for free.

There is also wellness center entrance included in the room rate. Bathrobes and slippers were already in room. Wellness area is new, built in modern design. We like it. They use L'Occitane cosmetic in the shower. What a treat.

Delicious breakfast, huge selection of everything you could ever imagine. Newspapers available as well.

And one last thing which required to be mentioned -- I have been staying in many many hotels, but receiving a turndown service is something I did not experienced for a long time. It was a nice surprise when we returned from the city that our bed made for sleeping with choco on the pillow. Just PERFECT!

We are glad we have chosen this hotel. And yes, we will do our best to come back again for more days than just 2.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radunkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the best spa resorts in Europe - old-World palace-hotel with recently added superb spa. Stayed in magnificent junior suite. The only minor faux pas I can report is the lack of ac in the room (simple fan provided instead) - not a problem in rainy and coldish mid-September but might be in hotter months. Everything else is simply superb and in line with what one can only hope to get from palace-hotel. It is a bit too pricey for a hotel in Czech Republic and reception staff could occassionally smile, but you can hardly find many better hotels than Pupp

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel has a great history but seriously need some reconstruction.
Our suite was nice and well located but need some painting for sure.
Staff seemed kind of confused and not really sure what to do.
Location is just perfect, walking distance everywhere

Room Tip: Large suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomasss99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#1 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#8 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
Luxury Spa Hotel Olympic Palace
#9 of 90 in Karlovy Vary
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Pupp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Pupp

Address: Mirove namesti 316/2, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#1 Business Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#3 Spa Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#4 Luxury Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#12 Family Hotel in Karlovy Vary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karlovy Vary
Price Range: $190 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grandhotel Pupp 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque spa town of Karlovy Vary in the Czech Republic, the Grandhotel Pupp is one of Europe's most famous historical hotels. Talking about its history would take a while, because it dates back to 1701. In recent years the Grandhotel Pupp has hosted illustrious names from the movie world including Morgan Freeman, Gregory Peck, Sharon Stone, Robert Redford, John Malkovich, Antonio Banderas, Jude Law, John Travolta and Nikita Michalkov. Such stars have descended on the hotel especially for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival each year at the beginning of July. As well as modern-day celebrities, the hotel has also attracted eminent historical figures from culture and the arts including German poet and philosopher Johann Wolfgang Goethe, composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Richard Wagner and Antonin Dvorak, violinist Nicolo Paganini, writer Franz Kafka and master of Art Nouveau Alfons Mucha. In two connected buildings, River Side and Park Side, the Grandhotel Pupp complex offers 228 rooms in the categories of Comfort, Superior, Superior Plus, Junior Suite, Premier Suite and Apartment. The ground floor of the hotel features restaurants, a cafe, bars, a boutique zone, a hairdressing salon and casino. Becher's Bar provides entertainment in the evening. The Grandhotel Pupp invites guests to the new Pupp Royal Spa wellness centre with pool and saunas. The complex includes a modern fitness centre as well as a private Royal Spa Suite with whirlpool, massage tables, sauna and a relaxation zone. The Pupp Royal Spa offers an extended range of treatments, from traditional procedures based on the natural bounty of Karlovy Vary and the region to modern massages and beauty treatments. Grandhotel Pupp - If you want a chance to see a star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grandhotel Pupp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Pupp De Luxe Hotel Karlovy Vary
Grandhotel Pupp Karlovy Vary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing