We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Terrific Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Promenada Restaurant

Hotel Promenada Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Karlovy Vary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Terrific Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Those who read my reviews know that I rarely give out five stars. In my view too many reviewers hand out five stars for what are, in my view, three- or four-star experiences. The Hotel Promenada Restaurant, however, deserves every one of its five stars. First, the setting is small and intimate. The room is charming, traditional, and not overdone or kitschy. Second, the service is superlative -- given with a broad smile and great cheer. There is no whiff of the Soviet era here -- the staff aims to please! The headwaiter in particular deserves kudos for his good humor, knowledge and kineticism.

Most importantly, the food is excellent. Our dinner here was our first in the Czech Republic and remained our favorite regardless of where we traveled. In my view, you will have trouble finding a better restaurant in the country to combine traditional Czech cuisine with excellent ingredients and superior execution.

The best choices are those prepared tableside. The goose liver really benefitted from the flambee -- it was slightly crisp on the outside, tender and flavorful on the inside. The duck was also winner, its skin crispy and the meat suffused with deep fowl flavor. The duck gravy was superbly rich and savory -- you wanted to splash it on everything. Only the dumplings were a little dry and under-flavored. The wines by the glass were excellent accompaniments to the meal. Finally, the crepe suzette prepared tableside was far better than the average dessert crepe. it was not too sweet and had excellent notes of bitter orange and dark caramel.

All in all, this was a memorable meal and a great choice when you're in Karlovy Vary

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    63
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best restaurant 2013 in Karlovy Vary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is small but they have great foods with good prices. We ordered roast duck with red cabbage and dumplings, my husband said that it's the vest roast duck he'd ever eaten in Czech. Salad with chicken breast and their croquette were also very tasty. We ate also their dessert which is dumplings filled with sour cherry puree and served with cream, for me it's not so delicious but I believe they have another good desserts. Their black beer is good! The service was very friendly. We spent only about 50 euros for what we had plus three kind of drinks (cola, orange juice and beer). From the trip advisor's reviews, this restaurant has become Karlovy Vary's best restaurant 2013! And after we came out from there, we could say that it's true!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veronica_vania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Whatever you order here, it is like a paradise. Fois Gras, beef steak, tomato soup and pancakes, all of these will be unfogettable experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on the 10th August to celebrate out wedding anniversary and I can honestly say it is one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time, and we eat out a lot. Everything about the place is perfect, he food delicious and the service excellent. We can't wait to visit Karlovy Vary again soon and go back here for dinner. I had king prawns for starter and my wife had mussels, then sea bream and pepper steak for our mains, each was delicious and presented to us beautifully.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJennyinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel manager (not the same hotel as the restaurant) and after seeing all of the good reviews, we decided to come here. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and spoke many languages. The food was delicious. My partner ordered the various fish and I ordered the halibut. We also had the free hors d'oeuvres (stuffed tomato and paté). Everything was delicious down to the last veggie. The next evening, we tried a different restaurant and immediately regretted that we did not go to Promenada instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank youryevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Promenada Restaurant also viewed

Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 

Been to Hotel Promenada Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing