We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Restaurace U Svejka
Ranked #15 of 146 Restaurants in Karlovy Vary
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Trip advisor brought me here. I might have set my expectations up too high but objectively speaking I didn't get an overall good impression of this place. The food didn't taste good, the service was poor (our waiter was a guy who acted as if he was in such a hurry even when he wasn't).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Famil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    225
    124
    51
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great casual place, excellent value - a must.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This restaurant is really easy to find, as every time we walked past the small alley leading to the restaurant, there were small groups of people either entering or leaving. Firstly, we ate here on Christmas day at 4pm - and were very surprised that they were even open.
The restaurant has a lovely cosy, warm feel, which is very casual - perfect for devouring our pork knuckle (which was perfectly cooked to fall off the bone) whilst downing two pints of dark beer. The pork knuckle was really cheap (about 10Euros), whilst each beer was about (3 Euros). Service is fast and efficient (perhaps a tiny bit abrupt), but hey...it WAS Christmas day and they were working!
Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want a great meal at a bargain price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Jam packed, but good value”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited here on a Sunday night out of season and the place was packed with locals - always a good sign. The food was fresh, inexpensive and had huge portions. The vibe is a little unfriendly and the feeling was certainly that they tolerated the foreigners, but the waiter was friendly enough and helpful. Good value all round.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robber222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap, tasty, big portions - what else do you need?”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We go to this restaurant every time we are in Karlovy Vary. It is cheap, the taste is great. And portion are huge, so don't over order. And I haven't seen a tourist that didn't take picture with the Svejk's soldier outside the restaurant. It has become an attraction of Karlovy Vary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yelena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We thought this place was great with piles of really good food in a fast-paced setting”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We found this on a back street and just wanted a kind of "local" experience so we czeched it out. So busy the night we came and when you see an empty table just grab it. Very, very busy but the staff knew how to keep things moving and the food and beer was really nice and not at all expensive. Food came fast and 1/2 of the restaurant is non-smoking (to the right when you come in the door).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daveferre80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace U Svejka also viewed

Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
Karlovy Vary, Karlovy Vary Region
 

Been to Restaurace U Svejka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing