We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, fab breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ontario Garni
Ranked #1 of 71 Karlovy Vary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Huge room, fab breakfast”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved our stay at the Ontario Garni hotel. The room was huge with a hallway, sitting room, and huge bathroom. Everything in the room was top-notch, and first rate.

The breakfast was a buffet with lots of choice and excellent quality food.

The location was just up the hill from the main hotel strip of the spas, so you needed to walk uphill, but it was not a long walk. Parking onsite was easy, but you don't need a car while in Karlovy Vary.

The staff spoke acceptable English so we never felt that we had trouble communicating,

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the spas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed one night in this hotel.Our room was on the 2nd floor. It was huge and very clean.
The location of the hotel is 5* (it's right above the colonades): it quiete but it's close to everything in the city.
The staff is really friendly and helpfull thogh their english is not completley fluent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveL0vrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Whilst on a motoring holiday in the Czech Republic we chose the Hotel Ontario initially because it offers ease of parking. It has, however, much more to offer! Location is excellent. Just a short walk into the centre of town. The rooms are good-sized, and ours had a lovely balcony with views. Staff are very helpful, and the breakfast room is pleasant and serving a decent breakfast (though the kitchen staff member was entirely disconnected with the idea that "service with a smile" might be part of her responsibility). Bring your soap and coffee/tea. Whilst equipped with a kettle, etc there was no coffee/tea/milk etc, and the bathroom had no bars of mini-soap. All up? The Ontario is a lovely hotel, offering cleanliness and good value for money. Recommended.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a high room with a balcony. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrekker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights which was enough time for us. We had room #7 on the corner with a view looking down at the city. The room was much nicer than we were expecting very clean, very spacious, high ceilings, a nice view...excellent! There is mixed reviews on breakfast we found it to be a good selection of eggs, sausage, breads and sweets, yogurt and cereals, only the sliced meats did not look good. It is right in the middle of town and there is a "secret" walkway that can be reached from the left of the Mill Colonnade when facing it. The pathway is sort of steep and not manicured but quicker to reach the hotel if you want a short cut.
We also visited The Castle Spa which was very relaxing. The actual services (Superior Aroma package) were ok, we would not go again but it was great for a one time experience and we don't regret it. The massage was just relaxing strokes not deep tissue by any means. The spa was beautiful and extremely clean. You are only aloud to stay as long as your package ours was 3 1\2 hours. The only time you are aloud to use the facilities (pool, tiny sauna, etc.) is in between services maybe 2 separate times for 30-45min. Once your package is complete you need to leave or maybe you can pay extra to stay longer...we were satisfied with the amount of time.
That being said we were extremely satisfied with Ontario and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Any room facing down hill we had room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avabava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A lovely little hotel 2 minutes pleasant walk from the main area of town. Our suite was enormous with a bathroom we could have partied in. Super views of the town from our 2 balconies. Karlovy Vary itself is amazing - one of the most picturesque towns we have visited and the Ontario is very well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Level Contributor
202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We couldn't ask for a better place during our overnight stay in KV. Wish we would have had time for another night here. Our check in was efficient, and our room was spacious, with very comfortable bed, two balconies, small kitchen area and bathroom with shower. Our room and the entire facility was very clean.
As others noted, it was a short walk to the main street and quiet at night. The room was not air-conditioned- however we did not need it anyway for our stay.
The price was very reasonable for this city and included an adequate continental breakfast downstairs with some hot choices. There is no restaurant at this hotel, but you are a short walk to some dining. This hotel was just cozy, very good value and the right match for us.
We would stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated near the "kolonada" and the beautiful area near the Russian Church. The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly and professional. The room we had was spacious, had a great view and was more luxurious than we had expected. It was very clean.
The room had 2 balconies, both very nice for sitting outside.
The TV had many channels form many different parts of the world.
The breakfast was good. Parking is perfect and guarded with cameras.
This hotel is definitely worth booking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlovy Vary hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Pupp
Grandhotel Pupp
#1 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Westend Hotel
Savoy Westend Hotel
#12 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quisisana Palace
Quisisana Palace
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacky
Hotel Palacky
#62 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ontario Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ontario Garni

Property: Hotel Ontario Garni
Address: Zamecky vrch 422/20, Karlovy Vary 360 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Karlovy Vary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Karlovy Vary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ontario Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ontario Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing