We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Czech - Saxon Switzerland
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
31
7
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews both sides beautiful area beautiful scenery boat trip pravcicka brana about half an hour national park easy hike rock formations mezni louka border km route nature czech boats hiking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our tour group drove from Dresden to Hrensko, across the border in the Czech Republic, to do some walking. There are lots of walks to choose from - long or short, for some you have to catch boats to get from one part to another. A great national park for scenery and walking.
There is a tourist info centre in the town where you can get info and maps. The various walks are quite spread out.
The town itself is full of stalls run by Asians - not selling touristy stuff. They have lots of household goods and clothing, which are apparently bought by the residents of both sides of this Czech/German border.

Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Wherever you go, there's alway something spectacular to see nearby. The low terrain means you don't have to climb much, although the ban on parking along roads on the Czech side means you'll have to park your car at one or two places a bit further from the real sights, but the walking is still excellent. And you can take a bus anyway. The wondrous sandstone cliffs make the whole area a top attraction in Europe.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We drove to Hrensko to visit Edmunds Gorge. At 9.20 on a Monday morning we got one of the last parking spots (5 euros for an all-day ticket) near the entrance to the Gorge. However, there is more parking further down into town if the lot is full. The signs to the different hiking trails are incredibly clear. There is absolutely no doubt in your mind where you need to go. Once in the gorge, all one can do is enjoy nature. It is absolutely beautiful! Rock walls on both sides and nothing but a peaceful river, pines, ferns and what have you. The hiking trail to the boat landing is about half an hour. It's an easy hike and definitely doable for children. I even saw a wheelchair! The trail is (ever so) slightly hilly and rocky and it cannot be easy to push someone that far. Strollers with big wheels would be fine, although I would opt for a backpack. The 20 minute boat trip (3 euros) is in Czech and German, so if you don't speak those languages... watch where the boatsman is pointing. It's generally about rock formations that look like certain animals; fun but not essential information. Once you arrive at your destination you'll find some decent toilets (for those of us who need those.) There's a kiosk that sells a variety of (hot) foods, drinks and ice cream. You can also buy sausages (2 euros each) and roast them over the fire. Overall prices are not extremely expensive. There are many (covered) picnic tables next to the river. From here one can continue on the trail to the next boat ride and further hiking adventures or you can take the boat back (for another 3 euros.)

Thank AllyBerlinDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Quite amazing views from the top of the mountains and the rock formations are amazing. The famous Pravcicka Brana is worth the steep climb.

Plan your route out fully before leaving; the trials are not easy although much work has been done to artificially preserve the paths and assist walking. To see the rock bridge and the gorge by boat, it is about 15km of ups and downs from Hrensko along the red, then green, then yellow paths. Refreshment are available at Mezni Louka or Mezna but nothing else otherwise. Also, you have to pay for parking 120CZK / 5€ (cheaper in CZK) and entry to the rock bridge tourist area and boat trips (85 CZK pp). Finally, bring your Czech or German phrasebook - there are no other languages!

Overall, the price you pay and the tough walking is completely justified by the spectacular views and nature - don't miss if you are in the area!

1  Thank Callum29200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Just about 2 hour car driving out of Prague, this is such an amazing place for hiking. We rent a village house in Krasna Lipa to stay for 1 more day and then enjoyed another hike to the Boat ride, which was also nice and worth the try. Beautiful scenery, well-reserved national park and lovely weather!

Thank Anh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

A little disappointed when tour guide show us on map of our tour. Our intention is Prebischtor (need to walk a lot). Or by Boat ride (less walk). Both are same Price. According to the trip advisor infor.

Lucky. No regrets. We meet a gd teams member n excellent tour guide.
The view was superb & incredible.
The Best of lunch v hv in Prague.

Thank soheiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

If in holiday season or nice week-end, go relatively early to find parking. Based on the map we got from the park attendant we easily could plan our day. Be prepared for some queues for the boats.

Thank Lengyelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

the area is way too large to be visited just on foot - take one day for the 15 km walking tour, and take a couple of days more to 'get lost' on the super-well care cycling paths between Czech & Germany!!!

Thank Maria Isabel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

This area is a wonderful hiking and nature place in the border region between Czechia and Saxony. From Hrensko you can walk the big loop via the Pravcicka Brana/Prebischtor and through the two gorges including a boat ride. For the boat ride and on other places Euro are accepted. And the whole hike can be done easily as a day trip by train from Leipzig oder Dresden (using the Sachsenticket) to Schöna at the border, where you take the ferry to Hrensko. When you're in the region this are should not be missed.

Thank dr_peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

This is one of the best natural resources I have ever been. It is a very picturesque place with routs of 3 complexity: green - the easiest, yellow - moderate, and red - difficult. I would recommend to have a walk on three of them. Just be ready for a long walk up and down on the 'red' path. The view from the top is breathtaking, especially when rocks and trees are slightly covered with snow (when we reached the pick spots, it started snowing). The nature all along the routes is incredible and makes you want to take photos and videos of every single rock and tree. We spent there 8-9 hours and walked more than 30 km, and were absolutely happy that we did it. It was a pity that we could not take a boat trip as it opens in April, but it is the reason to come there again.
There are some restaurants, hotels and a marker at the beginning of that park so you could have a dinner there and stay for a nigh if you need. If you do not have a car, you could take a bus to that place, i.e., from Decin.

2  Thank anika1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews