We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking very tired and outdated”
Review of Hotel Cernigov

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cernigov
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hradec Kralove
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Looking very tired and outdated”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place looks tired both from the outside being a Communist era block some 10 or so floors high. Its main benefit is its bang opposite the main rail station. The faded flags above the main entrance door again looked in need of replacement. Reception area again looked 20 years outdated. A very friendly receptionist took care of the check-in. Again the lift, corridors and room really all have seen better days. Everything in the room looked outdated and the metal window frame not in the best of condition. Plastering underneath was damaged. Bathroom OK.

So really take it as it comes, hotels in the bigger cities do attract higher prices and I would say its not worth it compared to lower prices I paid for much better elsewhere. But it really needs a full refurbishment, stripping out and starting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    27
    17
    10
See reviews for
8
17
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed many times in the hotel while studying my university in Hradec Kralove. Concerning to the age of the hotel the clients should work out a little bit with some disadvantages as the isolation of windows sometimes is not done and during the winter it could be a little problem... or when its windy... But anyway the hotel is very well situated just next to the principal train station. the room is a classic room with all necessary stuff for not long staying clients, with TV satelite, big mirror etc... and surely the view from the higher floors... one side the train station, another side the city view... Very beautiful during the night! The principal reception and the cafe in the entrance are very beautiful and well representing the hotel. the receptionnists as I remember were very friendly and especially the Russian receptionnist speaking very well Czech tried to learn me Russian. I had very nice time in the hotel.

Room Tip: if wished beautiful view, ask for the city view side...You will not regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Had I read the reviews on TA I would have avoided like the plague, as it is I found the hotel by chance. From the outside I was a little apprehensive due to the windows looking rather dirty/steamed up glazing?

Decided to go in and take a look, first impressions of reception bar area were good. Asked the receptionist for a room rate and as it was good I decided to ask to look at a room. Was given a key to a room on the 9th floor. Yes one of the lifts did judder ever so slightly, but nothing to worry about. The room and bathroom were very clean apart from one of the windows due to the sealed unit having misted up, also the steel frames were showing there age. So decided to book it.

Furniture in the room was oldish but in good condition. The beds were firm but comfortable with clean linen and a decent duvet. Biggest problem was that the curtains were very thin, that combined with all the bright lights in the square in front of the hotel made it rather bright in the room.

One concern if travelling with children is that the large windows opened fully and no way of locking them, so I would recommend avoiding if you have young children.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and was typical Eastern European, cold meats, eggs and salad. Various breads, cereals and cakes. Plenty orange juice and tea coffee.

For the person who said no hairdryers in room, all you needed to do was ask reception for one.

All in all a good hotel for an overnight stop, friendly and efficient staff. Also a good car park right in front and free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbpublishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel was awful. I am currently in dispute with expedia for selling me this hotel as it is infact inhabitable.
I am unsure where to begin in describe the hotel. The front entrance and resturant areas are passable with little to complain of.
However a ride up in the 1920's elevator to the rooms and my heart promptly sunk. The corridors to the rooms are dark narrow and brown. The room doors are triple locked heavy doors which give the impression of a prison.
The rooms are dirty, in a state of dissrepair and very very old. Not only did the curtains no close they were all torn. The beds were tiny and very low.
Pros: Good breakfast service
Coffee in the bar
View of square from room
Cons: Everything else

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oasiscalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hradec Kralove hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2011

From the moment I arrived at the hotel I knew I had made a mistake. From the outside the hotel looked old and run-down and my expectations were low...but I was still dis-appointed with how bad the rooms actually were. The 'mattress' consisted of a 1inch foam and the'duvet' a piece of polyester insie a cotton cover. The curtains only covered 2/3 of the windows; as I was on the 10th floor privacy was not an issue, but the bright lights were! Everything about the bedroom was dirty looking. The bathroom was clean and a little better, until I realised the next morning (after washing my hair) that there was no hairdryer anywhere in the room. Breakfast (included) was very basic. I would advise to avoid this hotel! There are equal priced better choices around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_traveller_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We spent four fine days in Hradec Kralove, the hotel is before renovation, but in good mood:-). As a family travellers we didn´t spend much money and the service was fine. Great location in the city, close to the Main railway station, as well as to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxPrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

It was my first time in the hotel Hradiec Kralove. I was very pleasantly surprised by all! Friendly and helpful staff, silent and clean room and the breakfast was also excellent. Willing receptionist helped me with a checking of bus departure back to Prague in the morning. When I will be back in Hradec I am sure I will stay at the same hotel - great service for a great value!!!

  • Liked — All staff members I met!
  • Disliked — No time to stay for a longer time:-(
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hradec Kralove hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Okresni Dum
Hotel Okresni Dum
#2 of 8 in Hradec Kralove
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boromeum Residence
Boromeum Residence
#3 of 8 in Hradec Kralove
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vacek Pod Vezi
Hotel Vacek Pod Vezi
#5 of 8 in Hradec Kralove
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel U Kralovny Elisky
Hotel U Kralovny Elisky
#4 of 8 in Hradec Kralove
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
EA Hotel Tereziansky Dvur
EA Hotel Tereziansky Dvur
#1 of 8 in Hradec Kralove
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel U Ceske Koruny
Hotel U Ceske Koruny
#5 of 18 in Hradec Kralove
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cernigov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cernigov

Property: Hotel Cernigov
Address: Riegrovo namesti 1494/4, Hradec Kralove 500 02, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Hradec Kralove Region > Hradec Kralove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hradec Kralove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cernigov 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cernigov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cernigov Hotel Hradec Kralove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing