We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spa & Kur Hotel Harvey
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Frantiskovy Lazne
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here,we were very satisfied with pretty much everything that was provided for us,the room was large and comfortable,the service was good,the location brilliant,the saunas and the pool to be used for little money,spacious parking lot,would like to return some day

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

All,

I'm not a very picky person. I can go to resort, realize it is not perfect, but still enjoy myself. However, at my recent stay at this hotel with my fiance, we were left completely unsatisfied. So much so, for the first time in my life, I wrote to management to express my displeasure. Surely enough, they never bothered to write back. Below is what I wrote them:

To management:

I just returned from my stay at your establishment, and overall, I was very unsatisfied with the experience. This email will detail why.

First, I will cover the few things we enjoyed during our visit. Reception throughout our stay was extremely friendly and helpful, something of which is to be expected at a 4 star hotel. Next, the rooms were very nice, although it was a little too hot and we could not find a way to turn the heat down, so we had to crack a window. There also was a strange smell at times coming from the sink in the bathroom, but overall the room was nice and the bed and sheets were very comfortable. I also enjoyed the sauna and steam bath area. The lady at the reception of the spa was also helpful when my fiancé needed to find an alternative treatment to the included Jacuzzi. Also, you were helpful in changing our original treatment times to match our request. The last thing was the hot stone massage, we both were very satisfied with that treatment.

Now, the following areas we feel are not conducive of a 4 star hotel and are simply a lack of quality management and shows the hotel is not concerned with providing a quality product to its paying customers.

1. The food at the hotel was simply atrocious. Breakfast was ok, but lunch and dinner we're awful. The soups had no taste to them, the main meals were so bad we could barely eat them, and the desserts resembled more of what you would find in a hospital than in a 4 star hotel. Furthermore, the services in the restaurant was embarrassing. The servers were not friendly at all and lacked basic service skills. First, we were served our main meals before we had even finished our soups both dinners. Our first night, the waiter didn't even ask if we wanted something to drink with our meals, he simply served us our soups and continued on his way. Our last breakfast there, the waitress was clearing our table before we had even finished eating, we couldn't even finished our coffee and was the final straw of us deciding to leave early, prior to even having our pre-paid classical massages. Also, in regards to the restaurant, it was clear the hotel did not care about quality. The clothes on top of the tables we re-used and never cleared. The staff would simply brush them down with sponge; not something to be expected of a 4 star hotel. Eating at the same table, we saw remaining bread crumbs during breakfast which were left over from the dinner the night prior. Last, we were never told that we would be sitting with another couple at the restaurant. Not only were we upset that we had to do this, having never been told, but when we looked around the restaurant at every meal there were countless empty tables which we could have eaten at. Instead, we sat with another couple which made things uncomfortable for me since I do not speak German and wanted to have meals alone with my fiancé. However, the couple we did eat with shared our reservations to the lack of quality and service in the restaurant.

2. Moving on to the treatments. As I stated before, the hot stone massage was very good, but was the only treatment which we both enjoyed. The foot massage we received was horrendous. Perhaps this is just preference or us not understanding the purpose of the treatment, but the guy giving the foot massage barely used any pressure when giving the foot massage and quite frankly is was so bad and simple I think any random person off the street could give a better one. The paraffin wrap was ok, but we felt the room was a little too bright and some relaxing music would have made it a much nicer experience as we sat there for 15 minutes; it is often the little things that make the experience the most enjoyable.

3. Now, the next event alone is reason enough for us never to return to your hotel again. I was scheduled for a 1440 Jacuzzi. At 1340, my fiancé was finishing her hot stone massage. Our intent was to get paraffin wraps together and then relax a little in the sauna area prior to the Jacuzzi. Your employee, Ilona Miehalkova, is a disgrace and I would fire her immediately if I was her employer. As I was waiting, she grabbed my sheet with my treatments even though I tried to explain I was just waiting. She must have seen I had a Jacuzzi at 1440 and I was most likely her last treatment of the day as she was trying to get me to do my Jacuzzi treatment even though it was only 1340. At that time, my fiancé came out from her hot stone massage and explained to her we were going to do the paraffin wraps. Ms. Miehalkova was insisted we do the Jacuzzi but my fiancé could not understand her that well, nonetheless, my treatment wasn't until 1440. During our paraffin wrap, Ms. Miehalkova kept peeking in the door seeing how much longer we had with our treatment, extremely rude and annoying to us as we were trying to enjoy our current treatment. After we were done, she was waiting for us and basically forced me to take my Jacuzzi treatment early. During the Jacuzzi, which is apparently 15 minutes long, every two minutes she was peaking in checking the timer, again, incredibly rude and annoying, taking any possible enjoyment from the treatment away. Once finished, she was essentially pushing me out the door. Again, this entire process was around 1400, when my sheet indicated my treatment was not until 1440. My only explanation for this is that I was her last treatment of the day and she wanted to go home. Her actions were despicable, made us feel completely uncomfortable, annoyed, and downright angry.

To summarize, your establishment is not 4-star value or class . It lacks basic quality management and the service, other than at the reception desk, is atrocious. I will never recommend your establishment to any of my colleagues and certainly will never return again for the reasons stated above.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hotel: opened in May 2012 in a restored building dating from the Austrian Empire.
The location: opposite of the public spa gardens and 500 m apart from the tiny center of the health resort along these gardens
Our room: first floor, spacious, high ceiling (at least 3.5 m), bathroom with shower only, well heated, comfortably furnished, international TV-programs, minibar. The rooms have no balcony due to the hsitoric structure.
The breakfast: good and hearty, typical Czech items and international staples, partially daily changes
The hidden extra charges:
Parking on a designated parking lot at the rear of the hotel is charged with CZK 75 (= USD 4)/night. There is no gate and no visible surveillance, may be there is a camera. The first statement for the parking fee we found in the hotel information in our room. Streetside parking is probably possible, but at least 200 m apart in a residential area and of course unattended.
The use of the indoor pool (29° C) and two saunas is charged with CZK 150 (USD 8) for 2 hours. We got the information thereon upon check in. The web site gave us the impression this amenity would be included in the room rate. For an invest of less than 1 USD more (in total EUR 6.50) you can enjoy the public thermal spa of Bad Brambach (Germany), 15 km apart, for 1 1/2 hour with a by far larger water surface, spray jets and massage showers at 32° C.
The welcoming bottle of mineral water in our room also would have been charged which we regarded as fairly ridiculous in a health resort with free fountains, including one in the hotel lobby.
You have to balance these drawbacks with the room rate you get. For us it still was a good deal. Therefore 4 dots.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor. No view and probably noisy from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daydreamer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel Harvey is best choice in Frantiskovy Lazne.Newly opened hotel offer excellent services and individual care to the customers for a very good price.Hotell has good location,nice large rooms,cleness and other services on a high level.Special thanks to Ms.Eliska-front office manager for her help!We stayed three times,simply best hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupicapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nice new hotel but ask for a room with air condition otherwise it can be very hot. We changed to an apartman which was beatiful but even there the air-condition was not so good but if its not hot outside it will be ok. If you get just a room with breakfast you have to pay to go to the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spyros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pokoje s balkónem a výhledem do parku
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bbaumrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: wir hatten ein Zimmer im "Neubau" waren sehr zufrieden es hatte kleinen Balkon dabei, Klim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frantiskovy Lazne hotels
0.5 mi away
Pawlik Hotel
Pawlik Hotel
#2 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa & Kur Hotel Praha
Spa & Kur Hotel Praha
#6 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Spa & Kur Hotel
Imperial Spa & Kur Hotel
#3 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pyramida 1
Hotel Pyramida 1
#18 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bohemia
Hotel Bohemia
#1 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reza
Hotel Reza
#4 of 27 in Frantiskovy Lazne
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa & Kur Hotel Harvey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa & Kur Hotel Harvey

Address: Dlouha 222/2, Frantiskovy Lazne 351 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Frantiskovy Lazne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Frantiskovy Lazne
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa & Kur Hotel Harvey 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Spa & Kur Hotel Harvey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing