We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Accommodation & Atmosphere!!”
Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion Onyx
Ranked #56 of 140 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
rmsmithny
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, Accommodation & Atmosphere!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My boyfriend, his parents and I stayed at Penzion Onyx for 3 nights in December 2009 over the Christmas holidays. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. Peter and Daniela, the owners, are incredibly warm and helpful. We joined them for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinners as well as chats around the fireplace. They cooked up a storm and were especially accommodating for my boyfriend’s father, who does not eat dairy products. They even had small Christmas gifts for each of us, and we especially loved the way they shared local (and British) Christmas traditions with us.

The penzion itself is nicely decorated and really makes you feel at home, especially with the fireplace going when you come in from the cold weather outside (only during wintertime). I should also mention that Peter and Daniela gave us great ideas for day trips from Cesky Krumlov, including Hluboka Castle and Lake Lipno. (It’s nice to rent a car when going to Cesky Krumlov because without one, these day trips aren’t possible, and in winter when it’s cold outside, it’s much easier to drive into town than walk, although taxis are also an option). My boyfriend’s father, who normally stays at four and five star hotels, told us at the end of the trip that he enjoyed the personal touch and warm atmosphere of Penzion Onyx so much that he would now consider B&Bs over fancy hotels for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmsmithny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

What was it about the accommodation? It was so warm and cosy, (we struck un-seasonally(?) cold, wet weather), sparkling clean, comfortable bedroom with adjoining ensuite. What was it about the location? It's an easy 10 minute walk from the centre of the old town. And what was it about our hosts? They were so welcoming, (including a cosy open fire on arrival), so helpful in recommending what to do, where to eat, and great wine in front of their open fire! Our intention was to stay 2 nights, we simply couldn't resist the temptation of the hospitality and so stayed a 3rd!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at Pension Onyx in September 2009 for 1 night.. Despite people saying its 10 minutes walk to the medieval town, I would say its more like 20 minutes. Rooms are clean and the service is good, probably well worth the little extra walk. .

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here on the 4th night of our 'Cycle Bohemia' trip. It was great to be made so welcome at the end of a hot and sweaty ride . A room with a veranda was a novelty.Peter did his best to persuade us to stay an extra night -sadly pre booking the rest of the trip made this impossible. The city is amazing though and we managed to pack in 6 hours of sight seeing. We would highly rate Pension Onyx and the hosts are absolutely charming and more than keen to help with any aspect of your trip

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed here in the fabulous town of Cesky Krumlov and were really fortunate to have stayed in Penzion Onyx, this was the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed at. It would rival any hotel for attention to detail and service.

Our room was really spacious and spotless and the linens were the crispest ever ! It had a mini bar (with reasonable prices), hairdryer, tea and coffee tray with everything supplied which we appreciated on our arrival after a long drive. Another fantastic thing is wireless internet in the room, though if you don't have your own laptop, there is free internet in the hallway all day for guest to use.

Breakfast was thouroughly enjoyable each day and is served in a lovely dining room, which is beautifully decorated. Everything was well presented and fresh and tasty.
The property is situated at 10 minutes walk from the town and has secure car parking, the gardens are beautifully planted with lovely lawns and water feature.

Thanks again Peter and Daniella for making our visit to Cesky Krumlov so good, we really appreciated the time you took to recommend restaurants, and plan day trips for us.
Hope to be back again soon. K + A Dublin

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our holiday was organised by a friend who goes back to the Onyx regularly on business and leisure trips. We were welcomed by our hosts, Peter and Daniela, with a drink followed by greatly appreciated open sandwiches. Our hosts went beyond the call of duty to cater for our many needs and make our stay memorable - arranging our travel to and from Prague, costumes to wear at the 5-petal rose festival, rafting down the river and more. They are well-informed about restaurants, amenities and attractions in the area.

Accommodation is clean and comfortable - all rooms have mini-bars, tea/coffee making facilities & satellite TV. A relaxing hot tub on a lovely terrace is available to ease the pain of tramping up and down the cobbled hills in town. There are a good variety of board and lawn games. The hotel is about 1 km from the town - a pleasant walk along the river - surrounded by a lovely garden and by fields, hills and wooded areas.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccas363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2008

It was my second time in June 2008 when I came to stay at "PENZION ONYX" in Cesky Krumlov. In 2007 I was so pleasantly surprised by the home-like warmth and hospitality, that I didn't take a moment to hesitate where to stay this, 2008, year, to attend the Five-Petalled Rose annual festival.

In short - PENZION ONYX is: 1) superb and cosy ccomodation; 2) very convenient and lovely location (closest to any venue and place of interest in the city of CK); 3) great food and fantastic drinks!!! (the hosts, Peter and Daniela, are real masters of ceremony! You will not forget the tastiest dishes cooked by Daniela and exquisite drinks, served by Peter!) 4) it feels like... HOME!!! 5) ONYX is also a great place to stay either with your family or with a big company of friends!

If you are looking for a place to stay in Cesky Krumlov - DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME CHOOSING! THAT's the place! :)

P.S. Can't wait to get back there next years... ;)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andy-the-Big-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
1.0 mi away
Penzion Laura
Penzion Laura
#18 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#11 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Krumlov
Penzion Krumlov
#3 of 140 in Cesky Krumlov
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Property: Penzion Onyx
Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Onyx 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing