We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay in the neighborhood”
Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Onyx
Ranked #49 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The house and sleeping rooms are OK. Bathroom in most of the rooms is much too small. There are almost no facilities to put your clothes away.
The breakfast is average and definitely not worth the price. Filling up the food seems to be a big problem and will be postponed as much as possible. At the start e.g. 5 sandwiches for 6 persons, never filled up, the same with bread, meat and cheese. The owners are selling the house and I think they are not interested anymore in the quality they have to offer to the guests. They say you can walk next to the river to get to the city but in fact you follow the main road with a lot of traffic during the whole day. The river is 5 meters down and 10 meters away from the road, so the way is not that idyllic as they purpose. They only change the towels after 4 days and they put of the central heating almost the whole day, so in the morning you still have wet towels from the day before. Without any warning, they count 5% plus when you are not paying cash. They say that it’s written in the book from the hotel you can find in your room, unfortunately for them it wasn’t written in every book in every room, so they have to pay us back after a big commotion and arguing. When you pay by card it’s with an over aged system I last saw on a Greek Island more than 15 years ago. I wouldn’t recommend the pension to anybody, much overprized. There are lot of better places to find in Cesky Krumlov than this. The husband seems to be a good guy but we only saw him once in 5 days, he seems to be ill. The lady of the house was not spontaneous, she “acted” to be friendly and did her best to stay away when she needed to fill up the food, her sister, who did the reception when we arrived, didn’t speak or understand much English or German. No wonder there were almost no reservations during our stay. The pension and the garden have a great potential but the management needs a fresh wind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penziononyx, Owner at Penzion Onyx, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

This guest review is written as a reaction to our credit card surcharge. It is our policy to warn guests as they check in that there is a surcharge for credit card payments and we offer payments in CZK or Euro cash as an alternative. All of our rooms have a guest information book in each room in which the credit card surcharge is written on the room price list page. We do not have an explanation as to why this page was missing from this guests room. These guest had friends in another room who paid the charge without problem. Daniela offered to both sets of guests that they could still pay in cash, which after discussion they declined to do. The vast majority of our other reviews show that Daniela and I care a lot about our guests as we did for this group. Our breakfast is an extensive unlimited buffet which is replenished regularly, which includes; four types of bread, two types of cereals, white and fruit yogurts, home made fruit salad made freshly every day, ham, cheese and salami, bowl of vegetables, a selection of French cheeses, grapes, freshly cooked warm boiled eggs, cake, pate, cheese triangles, jams, honey and butter, orange or apple juice. Our heating is not on a timer and is available throughout the day. We do not say anything about the walk to town except to show guests on a map which we give to every guest. My wife's sister, checked these guests in as Daniela and I had to visit the hospital for me to undergo my fortnightly chemo therapy sessions. Daniela regularly gave this group recommendations for suitable activities. Daniela and I remain dedicated to making all of our guests stay as pleasant as possible but sometimes with some people we do not succeed. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The Old Town is 10 minutes. Good beer.:-)
Clean and comfortable rooms. The owners Peter & Daniela keep a very clean Penzion.
The house and grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was delicious.
Breakfast was served in their lovely dining room looking out on the garden
Home-made atmosphere, great service.
Recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Penzion Onyx on August 20, 2013 unfortunately only for 1 night....

Our stay here was flawless (as mentioned in other reviews before this). The garden (I would say "yard" right Peter? haha) was immaculate and the inside of building, from the reception area, to the dining room, to the rooms themselves were spotless and very comfortable. Even the breakfast is setup with care and not a thing is out of place.

Peter and Daniella are fantastic hosts and made us feel at home and went the extra mile to accommodate us having a late transfer out of Cesky Krumlov after we had already checked out. There is a lot of pride of ownership here that doesn't exist in many accommodations.

This is a first class place to stay and the 10minute walk to the castle-area and the centre of C.K. is easy and we found it very refreshing to return after a busy day to a quiet comfortable oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtisrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Arrival at Penzion Onyx is the start of a great experience. Peter & Daniela's directions are perfect, very clear and easy to follow. We arrived by Student Agency bus from Prague and wheeling suitcases it was an easy walk to Penzion Onyx. We are in our mid 60s. The road follows the Vltava river so it is impossible to get lost. For guests arriving by car there is plenty of off street parking.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very clean and comfortable room, which overlooked the sundeck. Peter & Daniela have thought of everything, including tea & coffee facilities and a well stocked honesty bar fridge in the room. Our bed was very comfortable and our room quiet ensuring a restful sleep.
As we were anxious to explore this charming town, Peter provided a map on which he marked recommended restaurants and directions. From Penzion Onyx it is a pleasant 10 minute walk into Cesky Krumlov. One evening we returned to town after dark about 9 pm to see the castle illuminated, and felt very happy walking back along the well illuminated road.
Each evening we were welcomed back with a cosy fire in the lounge area where there is a bar where you can buy drinks or a coffee. This was very welcome as we visited during very wet weather, although this in no way diminished our enjoyment.
Breakfast is served in the conservatory overlooking the garden. It is very comprehensive buffet catering to all tastes.
This penzion is great value and warmly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a double room shown with mauve floral quilt on the penzion's website. All the rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 270Loch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at Penzion Onyx in Cesky Krumlov. The room was extremely clean and the breakfast was delicious. The Penzion is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to downtown (mostly along the river). It is also about a 15 minute walk downhill from the train station. The place is very quiet and comfortable so it's easy to get a good night sleep. We were provided with a map of the city and very good restaurant recommendations. If you don't mind the short walk downtown, I highly recommend this Penzion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Onyx visiting the lovely UNESCO World Heritage site of Cesky Krumlov (Krummau) in Southern Bohemia - which boasts the second largest castle complex, after Prague, and an enchanting mix of architecture.

A very peaceful stay in a B&B just outside of town. A short 15 minute walk along the river and you're in the Old Town with it's plethora of restaurants and shops.

Onyx is easily accessible and has secure parking. Good breakfast although nothing sumptuous, but the dining room is bright and inviting.

Peter and Daniella are engaging hosts as well. Nice rooftop seating to sit in the afternoon sipping a wine or beer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmooveP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

home-made atmospere, great service, fire place, good breakfast, interlocutor at evenings, everybody knows English here, attention to every detail. Still a bit far from center but 700 metres will not make sence.

Recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#46 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Penzion Laura
Penzion Laura
#18 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#56 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Onyx 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing