We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzion Onyx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzion Onyx
Ranked #41 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in September and were very happy with our choice in accommodation. The Old Town was a pleasant 10 minute walk away and I liked the idea of a gated property which offered secure parking.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Peter who was working in the manicured gardens. Check in was relatively quick and we were shown to our tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean room. Upstairs there was also a computer with high speed wifi and a bookshelf with a variety of books in different languages available to guests.
This B&B offered quite a substantial breakfast which included fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs etc in a breakfast room which had views over the garden.
During the evenings we sat in the sitting room. Here we shared two pleasant evenings with our hosts - Peter and Daniella over a few drinks. Apart from giving us some valuable information on the old town we had such pleasant and interesting conversations over many topics. I might add that the drinks were very reasonably priced and that the nights ended just after 10.00pm.
If I were to return to Cesky Krumlov I would not consider any other accommodation and would look forward to seeing Peter and Daniella again. They were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had heard of Ceksy Krumlov through a friend and keen to look at it we booked one night at Pension Onyx. We were not looking forward to the language difficulties but found the Pension was run by an Englishman. This alone made the trip much more pleasant
We have stayed in around 50 different b & bs and motels in 12 weeks of Europe and I would have to rate this as one of the more tastefully furnished places I have stayed in. The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The walk to the old town is perhaps 10 minutes and quite pleasant. There is a lovely courtyard to enjoy a drink. Internet was strong as was the television signal (not that we could understand much!)
The breakfast was very good compared to many small places, with fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and fantastic soft boiled eggs. Coffee excellent. To have breakfast in such a tastefully decorated room overlooking the garden was a great start to the day. Peter is obviously proud of the work he has done in the garden and it is a pleasure to wander around. There is even a mini golf course should you feel like a game but there is plenty to look at in the old town to keep you occupied. It was pleasant to finish off an evening having a drink with Peter and drinks supplied are reasonably priced
We had planned to move onto Prague and but Peter told us about a bus that went daily. The cost of the bus was low and the bus was equipped with toilets and coffee supplied. When we weighed up the cost of moving on, petrol, dearer accommodation and parking we decided to stay and take the bus. Peter arranged this and charged it to our booking. He was totally honest in this and gave is the ticket printout. As it was were so taken with this place we ended up staying four nights.
If I go back I would not hesitate in staying at Pension Onyx again and for English speakers this place is ideal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debraj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

chose this place because of what it looked like from the outside and were not disappointed. big enough place not having to rub shoulders with other guests too often. quiet and peaceful. breakfast was good and filling. walk to the old town approx 15 mins, not a problem, immediate vicinity not so interesting. not exactly super good value for money. overall; nicely decorated, beautiful garden. free wifi was fast. in response to previous posters thoughts on the hosts; i couldn't help being reminded of Basil Fawlty, but in an absolutely nice way!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The owners work very hard to make sure you have everything you need for a pleasant stay. We had a large, quiet room separate from the main building (#7?). When we first arrived, English speaking Peter helped us prioritize our list of sights to see and gave us several restaurant recommendations. The pension is located in a very quiet, peaceful area, yet is just a safe, short walk (10 minutes) from the picturesque Old Town. It was convenient to have the on site, cosy bar and Peter was kind enough to stay open past his 10pm closing time the first night as we enjoying the chitchat (more fun than the mini-bar in the room). The free Wi-Fi worked well and the breakfast was a decent mix of meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, and breads. Peter and his wife saw us in town one morning and were kind enough to stop to see if we needed anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penziononyx, Owner at Penzion Onyx, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you back in Penzion Onyx in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a unpleasant visit for us and overall an uncomfortable stay. Overall the facilities are ok, abit out of town but with with large family apartments however the host (Peter), appears uncomfortable with people in his home and his passive aggressive mannerisms made us feel unwelcome and continously watched. In a memorable situation I was told off for eating the last egg, with Peter leaning over the table to tell me how he was saving it for the other 2 guests (1 egg). I prefer staying at pensions for the small friendly, homely, and welcoming environment and this place fails this part big time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0sTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We are a family with two grown up children, we stay there for 2 nights. The room for 4 is big and comfortable, actually, there are two extra single beds under the roof up a staircase which we dont need, but there are still space for us to sit around the table and enjoy our family activities. The house has a English decor and a lovely garden. It is within 10 minutes of waking distance from the touristic old town, so it is quiet,homey and nice to be away from all other touristic activities. The breakfast was tasty and ample, the coffee is especially good. We enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzunshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

As a retired couple we have just stayed 2 nights at the Pension Onyx and what a delightful experience it was.

We specifically selected the accommodation as it offered secure parking something not often available in Cesky Krumlov. The walk to town takes about 10 minutes along the river and in fact proved to be a bonus as we burnt off a few calories from the lovely restaurants in the old town. The Pension is located in a quiet safe area and has a nice garden setting.

The owners Peter (English) and Daniela (Czech) proved to be the perfect hosts and went out of there way not only to help us plan our stay, but also to make us feel very welcome in their home.. Coming from New Zealand it was so nice to have bilingual hosts to assist our every need.

The rooms have all the usual facilities, very clean and a bonus is the tea and coffee making facilities. Plenty of opening windows in our room with lovely fresh air for a restful nights sleep.

Breakfast is plentiful with lots of variety and the breakfast room and bar lounge are a delight.

We couldn't have selected a better place for our very special stay in Cesky Krumlov

25BrianMcC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25BrianMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penzion Laura
Penzion Laura
#18 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Penzion Svet
Penzion Svet
#22 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Tiffany
Pension Tiffany
#36 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Onyx

Property: Penzion Onyx
Address: Na Svahu 172, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Onyx 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Penzion Onyx is a family run, traditional, English Country Inn style, bed and breakfast. Penzion Onyx is situated on the edge of Český Krumlov old town just 10 minutes walk from the historical centre. It offers a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of this beautiful medieval town.The owners of the pension, Peter and Daniela are English and Czech, so they can provide a unique blend of Czech and English hospitality, with a high standard of room coupled with an extensive breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Onyx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing