We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy, great value”
Review of Penzion Laura

Penzion Laura
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penzion Laura
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here as a couple with a group of friends in May 2014. We did not have a lot of options to choose from as we booked late and needed several rooms in the same place. We were extremely pleased with Penzion Laura. As you'd expect from the price, it was no frills, but extremely comfortable and we were made to feel at home and at ease by the caring and friendly owners who happened to speak a bit of 8 languages, though no English :) They really went the extra mile, including a trip to the store for fresh ginger to settle an uneasy stomach. The place itself it at the top of a hill (not ideal) and walking distance (maybe 15 minutes) to the main city and attractions. Breakfast was excellent and they were accommodating with a late check out and bag-holding due to our departure time. Would definitely recommend if you don't mind being a little further from the action.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USATravelerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Penzion Laura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

I traveled with a group of 5 friends and we all stayed at this lovely hotel for 1 night. The Lady that was working there was absolutely fabulous. While she didn't speak English (though she did speak 7 other languages!) we managed to get checked in with no issues. And we arrived early! The rooms were nice and very clean. The bathroom, while small by US standards, were good size for most of what I've seen in Europe and just like everything else- very clean. Each room has at least a door size window to open- and all but one of ours had a balcony with a small table & two chairs.

It is located close to the city center- and it is up a fairly steep hill. Though if you're visiting Cesky Krumlov you should be prepared to do some hiking anyway! The whole area has hills and is breathtaking. Breakfast was excellent- boiled eggs, cereal, meats, cheeses, veggies and bread. One of our party woke up with a stomach ache- and she (the hostess) sent someone to get fresh ginger to make tea with! After breakfast she pointed us up a hiking trail to a church with the best views possible. And there was no problem letting us leave our luggage there while we did some more sight seeing until our shuttle arrived that afternoon.

By far the most personal service I've seen in a bit- recommend 100%!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

located up the hill, walking distance from old city. coming back especially with bags is a bit of a problem. the house is pleasant and althouht the rooms are very small and closed we didnt have a noise problem..clean /breakfast was rich . the kitchen is closed at night and no way to make a cup of coffee in the rooms. the owner does not speak english .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is by far the best small hotel I have ever stayed in the Czech Republic. The room and bathroom were very clean. It is located on a steep hill but very close to the town center. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good (very typical Czech).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice small hotel, we had a room on the seconf floor, not very large, but with a balcony and a nice view of the city.

Room was OK, bathroom perfect, the breakfast - not opulent but good enough.

The owner was very kind, spoke some German ( no English).

The only drawback: the step hill. If you have a car, you can park at the beggining of the street,
walk to the old town ( 10 minutes) and on the way back drive uphill

In short, very good value for the money

Room Tip: Ther is no traffic on the street, a front room is OK
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BemiIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This penzion is located on a quite steep hill at 10 minutess walking distance from old town. The staff were helpful and friendly. Brakfast was prepared individually for each guest but it was not so good. The atmosphere was very home like.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klyunat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Great place to stay in this charming town! Excellent value and friendly staff. Location is a bit of a hike up the steep hill from town, but not that far. Rooms were new-looking and beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were spotless, modern, and brand-new looking. Staff was very helpful with booking excursions and cooked a great breakfast to order!

2  Thank Haristhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Penzion Weber
Penzion Weber
#13 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Svambersky dum Hotel
Svambersky dum Hotel
#15 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Laura

Address: Na Vyhlidce 361, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: $62 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Penzion Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing