We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service, Excellent Location!”
Review of Hotel Barbora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barbora
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service, Excellent Location!”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We had planned to stay at the Hotel Barbora for two nights back in April, 2010. Unfortunately, our 7-month old son became very sick while we were in Prague and we ended up staying a night in the hospital there. Despite this breaking their reservation cancellation policy, the front desk lady (I believe her name was Irene) did not charge us and was instead very concerned and compassionate regarding the situation with our son.

Upon arrival she greeted us and was concerned how he was feeling. She was so friendly! She lived in Florida for a period of time and because of this, her English is excellent (which was helpful since our Czech was nearly non-existent)!

The location of the Hotel Barbora is PERFECT! I really struggled with where to stay in Cesky Krumlov because there are quite a few choices. However, Hotel Barbora is perfectly located to be able to explore the old town area as well as the castle area. The top two rooms also have a beautiful view of the castle which we got at no additional cost.

The room was spotless and had a huge bathroom with double sink and large garden tub (this was the top floor room, I believe #6 but I'm not positive). There was also a large sitting room as well as a bedroom. We built the pack n' play for our son to sleep and were able to relax in the living room at night. It's one of the largest rooms I've ever stayed in while traveling in Europe (that wasn't considered a suite or apartment). The only NEGATIVE thing I would say about the room is that it is slightly lacking in decor.

The breakfast that is included is plentiful! There was a large variety of yogurts, breads, cheeses, deli meats, dry cereals and coffee or tea. (The coffee was amazing!). Breakfast is served in the Hotel Restaurant which has a medievel feel to it.

Overall, a wonderful experience, great staff and perfect location. You can't go wrong with the Hotel Barbora!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EgyptianHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Great little spot, large very comfortable room overlooking the river and castle, very clean. A special mention for the staff who were brilliant. Unfortunatly the restuarant was being renovated at the time and was closed. Would have liked to have stayed longer,something for next time.Will definately use again.

  • Liked — Location and Hotel Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We did a one day trip to Cesky Krumlov in September of 2007, staying about 24 hours.

The Hotel Bora was very conveniently located near the main square, the castle, and very central in general. You could not ask for a better location. The hotel is small with a lot of character. The room was nice for a three star hotel. The windows in our room overlooked the street below. There's not much going on in the streets at night, so sleep was nice and peaceful there. Breakfast was good and served in their stone walled dining room buffet style. The dining room had great medieval character. The hotel desk clerks were very helpful and very happy to engage in conversation.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank waynesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

I booked a deluxe room and expected a quality room particularly based on other reviews here. The 1st night our room was dirty with dust caked on the bathroom vent (that was broken), the rug worn and frayed, the windows tiny and bearly able to see outside. The sheets used are a rough woven cotton. Although the fixtures in the bathroom are new there was no hook for the handheld shower so no way to shower easily. I asked about a better room and was told they the deluxe rooms were the same. In the morning after theating to check out we were shown a room that was a great improvement and had a great view of the castle. The breakfast was a problem, as well, with only instant coffee served. On our 1st morning the eggs were floating in an oily liquid. The 2nd morning the food was better. There is a good bread and cereal selection. The staff was pleasant and helpful, except there was a great deal of smoking in the office area during the day. I also noted it was the only hotel along the river with dead flowers in the flower boxes. It is difficult to find as its name does not appear on the directional signs located around the area. A little attention would greatly improve this property. Cesky Krumlov has many better hotels for fair prices in to stay. The town itself is a great experience and fun to visit.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Instant coffee at breakfast and dirty conditions
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't book
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

An interesting hotel in an interesting village. Staff was friendly, the room was clean and had a window for watching traffic stroll by.

Old Town is mostly closed to traffic, you will want to park at lot P1, but it is most economical to arrange your park pass through the hotel, iteself.

Also, we had arranged reservations well in advance and found the strict checkin times (2pm - 5pm!) somewhat imposing for roadtripping.

  • Liked — Convenient!
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan parking in advance!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2005

We stayed at Hotel Barbora end November 2005 - we were the only guests. It was great!

The snow had just arrived and we had to walk from the bus station through a virtual blizzard, with our luggage. When we got off the bus there was only the driver to point the way up a small hill with a small path! I'd recommend going by train and getting a taxi.

The room was great, the breakfast was fine, but the restaurant was closed. It seemed like almost the whole was closed by 8 pm. There's agreat place to eat across from the hotel in the converted mill which also houses a bicycle and motorbike museum.

I woudl recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Barbora for three nights, 8/28-8/30/05. It has character, comfort, location, and value, and we recommend it very strongly. The Barbora is off the main square about 50 meters, and sits just under the town Castle, alongside an old mill causeway that connects to the main river (the Castle is on a bluff on the other side of the river). The setting is as romantic as it sounds, but the views of the castle might be better from hotels a bit further away from the bluff. The hotel allows easy access to all sights in town, yet it is on a quiet side street. The English speaking staff was friendly and helpful.

Our room (#303) was on the top floor, up several short flights of stairs that were a bit of a challenge with our luggage (there is no lift). The climb was worth it, however. Our room was very large with cathedral ceilings and dormer windows, two of which face the castle and give a peakaboo view of its ramparts. There was a small entry alcove that opened into a sitting area with a couch, coffee table, t.v., and minibar with small refrigerator. The separate large bedroom had an armoire, a dresser, and a couple of upholstered chairs in addition to the bed (two twins pushed together, a common arrangement we found in Eastern Europe). The beds were low and comfortably firm. The tiled bathroom was very large, attractive, and newly redone. There were two sinks and a long shelf above them that gave adequate storage space. A possible downside for some travelers is that there wasn’t a regular shower but rather a large open tub with hand-held shower. We’ve encountered this often in Europe, and though it isn’t our preference, we find it a minor inconvenience if all else is ok.

The breakfast was buffet style in an attractive room on the main floor adjacent to the waterway. The selection was ample, and included some fresh fruit, juice, cereal, yoghurt, meat & cheese, bread and sweet rolls.

We walked from the main bus station to the hotel, but it was a bit far with luggage. The walk from the train station would be even farther. Our recommendation would be to take a taxi from either location to the hotel. One is usually waiting at the bus station, and the tourist information office at the train station will gladly call a taxi for you. The fare is reasonable and well-worth it.

All in all, we highly recommend staying in Cesky Krumlov for a day or two at least – it is a charming and welcoming town – and we also highly recommend the Barbora for those who like character and charm (but don’t mind climbing a few stairs).

Helpful?
4 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barbora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barbora

Property: Hotel Barbora
Address: Shiroka 89, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barbora 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Barbora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbora Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing