We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle View Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location and accommodations”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights enjoying Cesky Kremlov. We had a two bedroom apartment with plenty of space. Comfortable within easy walking distance from the town square, Castle, etc.
I highly recommend Castle View Apartments!

They were very accommodating as to arrival times, holding our luggage when we went touring, etc. Friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor so getting in and out with our luggage was very easy! I recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_of_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
116
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Good: Great location, on a side street just off the main square. Clean, comfortable. Very much enjoyed having the living room w/ kitchenette. There was a binder in the room with all kinds of information on both the property and the area. (Their website also has lots of helpful information) Friendly and helpful receptionist. She made 4 or 5 calls for us, as we were deciding on transportation arrangement. Good breakfast at nearby hotel.

You might want to know: We were in the 1st Floor Apartment. When we first walked in, I thought the couch had a water stain. Turns out it was just the pattern of the fabric. We were here in Oct, so noise from the restaurant across the street was not an issue. The cool weather sent all the customers inside early. But in nicer weather, if you are an early to bed person, this could be a problem. The streetside bedroom has a sound conditioner for you to use, but I doubt it could mask the noise completely. When reception is closed you have to unlock, then relock 3 doors each time you come and go. (Your door, an inside hall door, and the hotel's front door.) On the one hand, I felt the property was very secure. But on the other hand, I wondered how fast we'd be able to exit in an emergency.

Other: We walked to the hotel from the train station. Not a bad walk, though I wouldn't do it if I had a lot of luggage. We just had one rolling bag each. Once you reach the main part of town, the streets are all cobblestone, and I'll admit it did get a little annoying listening to the bag rumble over them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our apartment on the ground floor with two big room with a little kitchenette, a dining table and a sitting area has a great balcony and a beautiful view of the Castle. The apartment was very nicely decorated and well equipped, centrally located in a small lane way near the town square. We had no noise issues in this apartment. The hotel has very good security in place. Jiri the owner is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good and is served at the Grand Hotel on the corner of the street, which was included in the rate.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rp
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Quaint and well appointed. Our apartment on the ground floor with two rooms has a great balcony and view of the castle. Beds were comfy. Great location literally a stone's throw away from the square and everything else as Cesky Krumlov is a small town.
Internet is good. Note that it does not have a stove. A microwave is provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank turkeysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

True to its name, our apartment does have a very good view of the castle tower. This place is clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast (at hotel next door) is included in price quoted. Great location, as it's just steps from the main square. Jiri (George) the owner is very friendly. (On the day we stayed here, they have set up a zipline going from the castle tower down across the ways. But it was not set up properly, and people trying it kept getting stuck halfway across the zipline. How awful!)

We had the hotel arrange for our taxi ride from the AN bus station, which turned out to be very close by. But they gave us a rate of 10 EUR per taxi. And because we had five of us with luggage, we needed two taxis. But due to miscommunication between hotel staff and the taxi guys, we had to wait at the bus station for 10+ minutes before one taxi showed up. It also turned out he was the only one available, so he had to make two runs in order to take five of us to the hotel => more waiting. We had to pay 20 EUR. We learned later that this was a rip-off. We felt the hotel could have done better in negotiating a better price for us. For that reason, it's a 4 star instead of 5.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank applied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JiriCeskyKrumlov, Manager at Castle View Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review; I am glad you enjoyed "Castle View Apartments" but sorry about your experience with the taxi company. I still have not been able to determine the exact instructions given to the first driver and if he called the dispatcher for clarification when he met you and problems arose. Although more and more people in Europe are learning English, it is usually British English rather than American English. Sometimes even official legal English/Czech translators (who have even lived in England for a while), translate Czech into British English that can lead to misunderstandings when heard by an American English speaker.

Rather than go into details about each step of the misunderstanding, I thought you and other forum readers might benefit more by what could improve the situation. First, with rare exceptions I urge all tourists to use the local currency of the country they visit; I know it is a great convenience to use the Euro throughout all Europe but such countries as the Czech Republic have delayed joining (using) the Euro for another five or more years. Local merchants in a non Euro country may accept the Euro in payment as a favor, but tourists can pay a terrible currency exchange rate for this "courtesy". Second, before travel please read such websites as http://www.myczechrepublic.com/prague/prague_taxi.html for an overview and guidelines to some customary taxi rates. I don't know if the driver or the dispatcher set your high price based on the trip refused, route used, "addition error", "currency exchange rate charge", if there was extra large luggage, driver overcharge, or a combination of these factors. Third, websites such as http://www.prague-taxi.co.uk/60-taxi-drivers-prague-overcharged.htm write, "You should always request a receipt (ucet prosim) although the driver is supposed to do so without being asked. The full receipt must contain: document number; taxi company's name and address; car registration number (SPZ); identification number; date; time and place of departure and arrival; basic rate plus the rate per kilometre plus total distance price including VAT; driver's name and signature." Such a receipt promptly shown to the police station in the Main Square of Cesky Krumlov would increase your chance of getting a partial refund from the taxi company. However I understand that you did not know how much you were overcharged until you left Europe; again I apologize for this incident and hope that others will benefit from your experience. If there were no misunderstandings, the driver would usually charge about 100 CZK per taxi ("standard" vehicles might be limited to three passengers based on the specific taxi company) for your route unless there were other surcharges such as extra large luggage, etc. Fourth, since a taxi in Europe is usually smaller than a taxi in the U.S., some companies (if they have advanced notice) can use a larger vehicle if there are four or more passengers with luggage that does not want to use a second taxi. However since such vehicles may be in use elsewhere, a week advance reservation by the tourist directly with a taxi company or shuttle service is strongly suggested if the tourist has special requirements to allow time for price negotiation and schedule synchronization. I am sorry that you expected us to negotiate the price for you; I did not learn about the total price charged by the driver until you were back in America. Taxi companies are separate companies so we don't set their prices as we don't set the prices for other entities in town; we call taxi companies with a good reputation that will certainly be influenced by your experience with them. Fifth, since taxi drivers have been displaying a sign with the passenger's name in airports for years for prearranged rides, I will suggest to Cesky Krumlov taxi companies that they do the same at the local bus station and train station when they have enough advance notice for a trip.

Ideally the driver who meets you (if they did not have enough advance notice to prepare the above mentioned placard) would say something like, "Hello. Are you Mr./Mrs. (passenger's name) going to 'Castle View Apartments'?" If indicated, the driver would add, "Second taxi arrives in several minutes." (Unfortunately since most taxi drivers have limited knowledge of English and most tourists have very limited knowledge of the Czech language, it could be easy for misunderstandings to develop with that second and subsequent sentences. Hence it is important to keep sentences/words as simple and short as possible)." In your reply to the driver with something like, "Yes. Price please," you will have a comfirmation of the price in advance. I can appreciate your valid concern when a taxi of a different size than you expected and a possible different "destination" than you expected arrives.

Thank you again for your visit; I hope you and your family continue to travel for the cultural education it provides and have a much better transportation experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for the location. The communication from the owner is pretty good for the reservation.

It is right across the way from a nice place to eat and a stones throw from the main square.

I had to cut a star because the Internet did not work and the reception could not help. So arranging the rest of our trip was very difficult. I would not have stayed here if I knew it had no internet as this was my main form of communication.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuvDZnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in the Castle View Apartment No3, which was a very nice and spacious. Nicely decorated and well equipped. We had a beautiful view of the Castle. The apartment was very centrally located in a small lane way near the town square. We had no noise issues in this apartment. The apartment is not airconditioned, but they provide fans. We had a very nice breakfast at the Grand Hotel on the corner of the street, which was included in the rate. The hotel has very good security in place. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawkolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#8 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Apartments

Property: Castle View Apartments
Address: Satlavska 140, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castle View Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy staying in the center of Cesky Krumlov, the famous UNESCO Heritage Site, with more room to spread out than in standard lodgings. Three apartments have views of the castle; one even has a large balcony with a spectacular panoramic view. Value priced features include kitchenettes, living rooms, heated bathroom floors, free high speed internet access, and laptops available for rent. Let us exceed your expectations with comfortable rooms, canopied beds, and great personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View Apartments Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing