We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets away with a few things...”
Review of Hostel 99

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel 99
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gets away with a few things...”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Cesky Krumlov is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited so I think my view of the hostel here is a little swayed because I enjoyed the town itself so much. If you remove it from the town and just look at the hostel itself it's pretty standard. The rooms were fine, the beds were really comfy, I enjoyed that they had a lounge room with couches and hundreds of movies to chill on rainy days. The kitchen was great and had what you needed, I also enjoyed the free wi-fi and use to two computers. The staff are a little awkward at times but I think they mean well. It's in the perfect location to see everything! And the restaurant and cafe that are attached are delicious and really great value!! Would recommend and stay here again. Also their Pub Crawl down the river! The only thing to improve on was maintenance and more bathrooms & showers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
33
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Would never stay here again and would recommend that you stay away from here. The Australian guy is a complete tool

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyPerth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Firstly, I'd like to point out that we were staying in a "deluxe" apartment, which is across the road from the hostel section and down a staircase into what seems like a cellar. From what I have read and heard about the hostel part, it seems very different and much nicer. But the room we were in - although large - looked and felt like a cellar or a basement from an old prison, filled with some old, uncomfortable furniture. There was dust and cobwebs absolutely everywhere, and dozens of daddy long-leg spiders. It wasn't the spiders themselves that bothered me, but in my opinion their presence indicated the level of care the hostel shows regarding the cleanliness of their rooms.

There were various nooks and crannies in the walls, like old doors or windows, one larger one we opened and it was filled with polystyrene... There was also a small, dark and empty room that was closed off from the room by a cage door, and it was even dirtier than the rest of the place, and seemed to house bits and bobs like broken appliances. Opposite this there was a locked door - we don't know where this one led to.

Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and others seemed as if they couldn't be bothered. I found it very peculiar that, when we checked out at about 9pm having decided we just couldn't bring ourselves to stay here, the staff didn't even enquire as to why we were leaving. We lost one night's cost for the room, but moved down the road to another hotel and didn't regret it for a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sara_mynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I might be getting slightly old for the hostel scene, but opted to stay in one when I visited Cesky Krumlov. Hostel99 was the only one I found on-line with space for the two days I wanted so I ended up here. I usually don't expect too much when I go to a hostel. But this place had atmosphere and was clean and quiet (the only exception being the rushing river and the noisy barking dogs from the neighboring house). As usual, independent backpackers stay here so it has a social and young atmosphere with lots of people to meet. The people working here are friendly and helpful with good recommendations of where to go in town. Overall, a great place to stay if you are looking to stay in a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hostel is not like any other, amazing staff, clean and very relaxing. You have everything you need at this hostel. The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much for them. If you get the chance to do the rafting pub crawl it is a must, Cesky Krumlov has plenty to offer. Thanks Brendan and Mark for an awesome stay...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

good accomodation for the price we paied. The place was clean, the bed was perfect for my sore back. I was excited about location and atmosphere of the hostel. Of the creek under the window. we had nice breakfast at Deli99.

Room Tip: we had private double room - this time of the year quiet, and enough what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LuciaSPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Now, this hostel isnt a five star necissarily because of its cleanliness, but because of it's rafting pubcrawl that it has. The hostel itself is a bit cozy and extremely rustic. But it is warm on the cold nights in cesky. They have a movie room which has movies in english, which is a real treat to encounter to those travelling europe for a long time. Although, you will have to be sure to be first to ask for the entertainment center key, or else wait until someone elses movie is over. They offer free tea and coffee, but it was empty when i tried to get some. Its a bit of a pain to carry a heavy bag up the stairs, since they are extremely steap. Also, they have a laundry service but it didnt fully dry my items and shrank and ruined a few other items. So, if you have items that you would be devistated to ruin, opt to do your own laundry elsewhere.
Now, this brings me to the reasons I adored this hostel.... It offers a river rafting pubcrawl. They take you to the river with a raft and some beach root rum and give you instructions of where to stop and when so they can pick you up at the end. Along the way there are pubs which you stop the raft and can buy a pint for under $1. It was an experience unlike any other. Amazing views and so much fun with friends! The closeness that this unique experience brings you and along with the coziness of the hostel made my stay in cesky one ill always remember. THANKS HOSTEL 99!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you are lugging heavy luggage so you dont have to go up those s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#9 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Krumlov House & WriteAway Retreat
0.7 mi away
Hostel Havana
Hostel Havana
#29 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 99

Property: Hostel 99
Address: Vezhni 99, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel 99 is a friendly, family-owned hostel in a lovingly-restored 16th-c. Building located in heart of UNESCO protected Cesky Krumlov, one of the world's-best preserved medieval cities. We offer a variety of accommodation from dorm rooms with unique atmosphere, to comfortable private doubles and triples. Hostel 99 is centrally-located within the old town, only steps away from all that Krumlov has to offer. It is the closest hostel to both the train station and bus stop, making it a great place to unload your backpack and relax. Whether you choose to spend your days exploring the city, enjoying delicious Czech beer in the local pubs, gently floating down the river in one of our rafts, or just hanging out on the hostel terrace or in our friendly Hospoda 99 or cozy Deli 99, Hostel 99 provides you with all you need to fall in love with Krumlov. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing