We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, cosy room”
Review of Pension Adalbert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Adalbert
Ranked #61 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Randomly looking for lodging on several websites and found this place. We think it might be cool to stay in a Medieval building when paying a visit to Cesky Krumlov, a medieval town. As such we booked Pension Adalbert.
It's very easy to be found, if you entered from the main entrance of CK, after you crossed the bridge - it is located at the 2nd sideways on your left from the main road. (Masna street)
To our surprise, the owner of Pension Adalbert is a Korean musician. As we were music lover, this is a pleasant surprise!
The room is cosy, I like the atmosphere of this small B&B.
This is one of the very few B&Bs that I ever stayed in Europe which provided toothbrush & disposable razor. haha.
Breakfast is good, fruits, bread, ham, egg, fruit juice, tea/coffee, yoghurt, etc. Very "Korean".
No complains about its Bed and pillow - though pillow might be a bit too soft to me.
The famous KRCMA restaurant of Cesky Krumlov is right behind this penzion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

To be absolutely honest, this pension is not bad at all given it's budget pricing, location and view of the castle in an above-average sized room. However, we did arrive to find out the room we booked was let out to others by mistake so we got an upgrade to a room that did not have a kitchenette we were hoping to have. That room according to the inn-keeper was his best room, great view, good size and very very medieval, in fact, too medieval to my wife's liking. I guess it is characteristically medieval and potentially rather charming but then my wife found it a bit spooky.

The owner looked apologetic every time we saw him since we checked in and so was very compliant to our request: use of a "communal" hair-dryer, great service at the breakfast table (but we were the only one having breakfast) and let us cut our initial two-night booking half so we could find alternative accommodation.

The location was lovely in a side street that leads you to everywhere you would want to go in this part of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was our least favorite hotel in five weeks of travel in Europe. While the room was perhaps adequate for a budget hotel - a small room, no A/C and one tiny window in the eaves, hard mattress, too soft pillows, hard and stained towels and threadbare rugs - the service was terrible!

There was no hairdryer (which was OK in a budget hotel) but there was a sign not to use my own in the bathroom. The only outlet in the bedroom was under the eave where it was impossible to sit up straight and there was no mirror. There was a nasty sign saying "we are not a laundromat" and that it was forbidden to do laundry. An additional threat was that if we did do laundry we wouldn't be able to have a shower! Everything worded as though we were the enemy, not the guests of the hotel.

Both the male and female proprietors were unnecessarily and unacceptably rude. At all times, they acted as if we were nuisances if we dared to ask a question. Our reservation confirmation had nothing about paying in cash yet the woman scolded me in a most unpleasant tone for not reading it and then she nastily accused me of taking a map (which I hadn't.) At one point we were entering the dining room and she shouted at us to "get out of the way" for the man delivering towels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The innkeepers was rude and curt. We arrived 2 hrs before check - in which we knew. We rang the door bell and she wouldn't even come to the door. She stuck her head out the window and told us she was too busy. I explained we had a reservation and if we could at least leave our bags. She came down after 10 min. in an exasperated state and opened the door and in an impolite manner told us to leave them in a dark corner in a dark stairwell. The room was dark, disgusting and dusty, no soap and I had to ask for it. When asking for soap, the male innkeeper insisted he put it there and I must have taken it. I was never so insulted in my life. Breakfast was horrific - stale bread, old fruit and dried up hard boiled eggs! The worst place I have ever stayed in all my 30yrs of travelling!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystictraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Our room was very large, and very charming. You didn't feel like you were in a hotel, more like you lived in this medieval village. Lots of windows with different views of the town. The innkeeper was helpful and friendly. If you plan on driving, make sure to contact them beforehand to make your trip easier as it is hard navigating through small mostly pedestrian streets. Not sure if it common in this type of accommodation, but there was no shampoo and conditioner in the room. Breakfast was pretty basic but enjoyable. It was a great experience and price was well worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvis2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The hotel is in great location, good value for money, fine breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff and we had really big and comfortable room with view to the castle.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieGiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Do yourself a favor and stay here. This place is in the perfect location, about 20m off the main thoroughfare after the bridge. We thought the rates were great for the nice room with beautiful views of the castle. Breakfast was good, and we had a nice conversation with the innkeepers. We will be definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drinkthekoolaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pension Vodotrysk
Pension Vodotrysk
#64 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension U Hada
Pension U Hada
#45 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pensione Garibaldi
Pensione Garibaldi
#104 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Havana
Hostel Havana
#27 of 53 in Cesky Krumlov
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Svet
Penzion Svet
#28 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Adalbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Adalbert

Address: Masna 136, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: $73 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Adalbert 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Adalbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing