We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Old Inn very charming, close to everything”
Review of Hotel Old Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Old Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in May. Location right on Cesky Krumlov's main square, very close to everything you want to visit in this beautiful old village. The staff were very accommodating, spoke English (appreciated that very much, thank you), the room was small with a huge bathroom. Nice breakfast buffet, loved the espresso coffee machine, enjoyed people-watching in the outside cafe on the square. Only downside is the rock-hard mattress. Asked for extra pillows to sleep on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PushPin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelikan_michal, Manager at Hotel Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Madame,
many thanks for chosing Hotel Old Inn for your stay in Cesky Krumlov. I appreciate you were satisfied with the hotel standart and services.Thank you also for letting us know, that you found out, that the mattress in the room was not comfortable enough.It is really very important remark for us, therefore we check all the hotel matresses at this time.We would like to assure you, that you´ll find very comfortable mattress during your next visit of The Old Inn hotel.

With kindest regards

Michal & collegues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Old Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 430 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located on the old town square, ten minute walk from the Castle. The staff was superb. Since the hotel parking lot was some way off, the staff drove us back to our car, unloaded the luggage, and delivered it and us to our room. From there it went downhill. The mattress was terrible, unless your preference is for extremely soft. We were on the top floor and the ceiling was sharply gabled. I hit my head several times getting into bed. While the room and bathroom were very modernized (a/c and tiled bath), you cannot get into the tub if you are under 5' 4" tall since the side of the tub is the highest I have ever encountered in over 50 years of traveling. If you are more than 5'4" tall you will have to take a shower hunched over since the ceiling gable leaves no headroom to stand up. There is no wifi but there is free Internet access on the public computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The location is perfect, very near to the square. When I was there, there was a christmas market set up just at the square. Room is spacious and clean.

Only drawbacks are.. My room didn't have a nice view (some other rooms have the square view), and the internet they provide was apparently via a LAN cable. We didn't bring our laptops so we couldn't use the internet.

But aside from that, this hotel is fantastic. Would definitely come back again in the future if I'm given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the square view
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyacinth_mist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Old Inn has the perfect location in one of the main squares of the town. The police don't like cars in the centre so parking is just outside the city but the hotel shuttles you there in a mini bus. Rooms are eccentricly decorated but very comfy. The restaurant in the cellar below is possibly the best spot to eat, certainly in the winter evenings - good food and wine. Overall there probably aren't many better places to stay. No hesitation to recommend both the hotel and the town - which is extremely charming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Bottom line first: If we go back to Cesky Krumlov, we will definitely stay at the Old Inn. Our room was clean, spacious, and overlooked the old town square.
If you go there, here are some things you should be aware of:
* This is not a Marriott. It is a very old hotel, which is exactly what we look for when traveling. It does have a lift, which is very helpful.
* We always drive because it gives us more flexibility. However, our GPS was worthless in getting us to this hotel. We finally parked in a public lot and walked until we found it. Once there, one of the hotel staff took me to our car. I followed him to the hotel parking lot, then he took me and our luggage to the hotel. Next time, I will be sure to find the exact location of the hotel parking lot before we go.
* English is not nearly as common as in other parts of Europe we have visited. That didn't cause us any major problems.
* One of our reasons for going there was for the Christmas market. The market was tiny compared to most of those we visit, and it is only open on weekends. By luck, we were there on the weekend.
* The tourist office is just across the square from the hotel. There, you can register for a walking tour of the city given by a local who really knows the city's history.
Again, the best recommendation I can give is to say I will definitely stay there if we return to Cesky Krumlov.

Room Tip: Our room was a "deluxe double" overlooking the square.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob_in_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The train trip to Cesky Krumlov was the worst we ever took. It took 3 legs. The second leg was 4 hours on a bumpy, jerky, 2nd class only train. It is probably the first time I ever felt train sick. Luckily we could open the window to get some air. The last leg was only about an hur but it was also terrible. No more than a glorified bus chugging along.
Then we arrived at our destination. A run down old station and not a soul in sight. No Taxis, nothing. Luckily I had written down the walking directions to town. We walked very steep downhill on cobblestones and then uphill still on more cobble stones.
Once we found our hote it looked much better. The hotel is an ancient, old building. Very charming, nice size rooms, good beds. Breakfast very good with a decent size bathroom and a large shower which is very unusual in Europe.
The town is a lovely surprise, a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked this hotel base on its good location. It is located right in the old square. The hotel and the room is good and we had a room facing the squre. However, the reception staff were terrible. They were not friendly nor helpful at all except for one by the name of Lucy. When we asked if there was any shuttle service to the bus stop different staff gave different rate. In the end I paid 150KC and not 100KC as I was informed earlier. One of the lady staff was even smoking near the restaurant when she was supposed to be on duty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank winleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#12 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Inn

Address: Namesti Svornosti 12, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: $77 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Old Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the main square of the beautiful UNESCO town of Český Krumlov Hotel Old Inn provides all the comforts, quality services and gastronomic experience in its two unique restaurants - restaurant with summer terrace and Grill Restaurant Katakomby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Old Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing