We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Tour”

Cesky Krumlov Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.09*
and up
Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague
More Info
$112.64*
and up
Private Tour: Cesky Krumlov Day Trip from Prague
More Info
$128.22*
and up
Private Transfer from Passau to Prague with Stopover in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our company provides shuttle bus transportation service between Cesky Krumlov or Ceske Budejovice, Vienna, Salzburg, Hallstatt, Linz, Prague and other destinations.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the second time I've been to the Cesky Krumlov castle, but the first time I've ever been inside. Sadly, most of the castle was closed because it's the winter, but we were allowed to go into the museum and into the tower, both of which were really interesting. There were great views from the top of the tower - just make sure to hold onto your hat, because it's windy! Be warned though, there is no elevator! The museum also has some interesting things to look at - my favorites were the pictures of all the ladies all dressed up from the late 1800s and early 1900s from birthdays and parties. The best part - the bear pit! Still would love to see them!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieLoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,901
    743
    121
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Magnificent colour and craftsmanship!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited Cesky Krumlov in December and sadly the castle was closed in winter...
However, we did walk around the castle. Since we stayed a night here. We went there for a walk at night. The Round Tower was magnificent at night with the lighting. Take a tripod with your camera and you would capture the most beautiful side of the tower.
Walk in day time too, the craftsmanship of the painting will surprise you by confusing our senses!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sth amazing”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Rich culture of Krumllov can be seen by visiting this magnificent place. Nowdays politicians are the same as the rulers from few centuries ago. Who could live in such castle?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tomislav404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The town is a "must see" but the castle can be skipped if you lack time”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Cesky Krumlov deserves all the raves and should be visited by anyone visiting the Czech Republic. It is an easy day trip from Prague, but I recommend people rent a car and explore the whole Czech countryside. As for the castle in CK itself, it is beautiful and interesting...as is the entire town, and indeed the entire country side. The problem is that the castle is by far the most crowded and congested part of the town. Also, to make the castle worthwhile, you need to take the tour, which adds to the feeling of congestion and stress, as you strain to hear and understand the guide above the racket. If you have limited time, you may want to just explore the town on your own, and admire the castle from the outside. You may find your time better spent and your stay more enjoyable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but crowded”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The castle was a must see when we went ro Cesky Krumlov. We booked a tour, the only way to learn about what you're seeing. We thought the castle was great but there were far too many people on the tour so it was hard to hear the guide. The walk up to castle is a bit of a challenge but the views are worth the hike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cesky Krumlov Castle also viewed

Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 

Been to Cesky Krumlov Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing