We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different”
Review of Hotel Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ruze
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Perfect location in the "Old Town" of Cesky Krumlov, however, the conversion from monastery to rooms in a 5 star hotel didn't quite work out. The rooms are very small with the side of the two single (euro king) beds against a wall and a window only 16 inches by 16 inches meant the room was very small and dark. As far as the art, it is all of a religious theme and like the figures in the lobby/bar (one resembles Rasputin), tends to lean toward the bizarre. Staff was OK, as was the breakfast. Stay here for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Peter,
thank you for the valuable comments, it is really important for us to get your feedback.The Ruze hotel building used to be a former Jesuit monastery from the 16th century, which style and equipment we keep also in present days.Currently Hotel Ruze is real five star hotel with all the required amenities.

We are sure, that your next visit of one of Jan hotels will convince you about the best services provided by us.

With kind regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ruze for two nights. We found the hotel to be very conveniently located. The hotel staff was very courtious and made every attempt to be helpful despite their English speaking limitations. The room was very well furnished, and had a nice old style to it. Overall, we were very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
thank you very much for your nice review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay in Hotel Ruze.

We hope to welcome you soon again in one of our Jan hotels.

Best regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed three nights in a large room with a good bathroom. Hotel is in a great location. Breakfast is good and includes a choice of four cooked items. Lounge areas are not particularly inviting. Car parking is 10 euros per night. Used to be a Jesuit College and there is a medieval theme. So the two easy chairs in the bedroom had vertical backs attached to the wall, not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Anthony,
thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate your time to write it down.
Your review gives us a commitment to improve our services and facilities in the future, which we will follow.

We hope to welcome you once again in one of our Jan hotels in the future.

Kindest regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ruze with my husband to attend a conference held here. The rooms were fine, typical European double bed and old style furniture that gave it an old time charm.

Service was slow in the bar for coffee or for drinks, but to be expected in this part of the world. Free wifi in the lobby, bar area.
Location was perfect for sightseeing,
My husband said that all went well for the conference. There are at least 2 large meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Lower floor so you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubbysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Madame/Sir,
we are pleased that you spent your time to review recent stay in the Ruze hotel, we really appreciate it.
Hotel Ruze offers all the comfort, facilities, well equiped convention halls and saloons to organise smoothly any kind of MICE event.We hope that your next visit will convince you, that also in our part of the world you get the service corresponding with the highest demands.

We look forward to welcome you again in one of Jan hotels in the future.

With kind regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The town is postcard lovely and the hotel could not be better located. It is clean and the breakfast is good. The art, including the fascinating, I am not sure what to call them, statues. You really need to see it to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Sir,
thank you for your time to post this nice review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Cesky Krumlov and especialy in Hotel Ruze.Hope to welcome you once again in one of Jan hotels.

With kind regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales manaager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were so disappointed in our stay at Hotel Ruze on many levels. First off, we paid over $300/night and were looking forward to a nice hotel stay. The room looked more like a room from a convent than a 5 stay hotel. Additionally, the corny wooden throne built around the toilet was just stupid. Hotel staff was unfriendly. Hotel breakfast uninspiring and food ran out and was not replenished. Bed linens tattered. Everything about this hotel seemed stuck in a time warp of the 50's from the room amenities to the dated straw flowers. Try one of the pensions!

Room Tip: Room was awful. Hotel unwilling to attempt a change for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Karen,
thank you for your time to post this review.Please accept our deep apologies for all the shortcomings you mentioned.Our main goal is to have satisfied guests who will be coming back to us.
We will go through all the mentioned points with high attention and deduce appropriate actions and measures to remove deficiencies in the future.

We hope, that we could welcome you sometimes again in one of Jan Hotels and convince you of the highest level of its services.

With kind regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights at the only 5 star property in Cesky Krumlov. The location was great. The hotel was average. The biggest thing in its favor was that the rooms were air conditioned. Food was average. Service was very average. Rooms were small. Wifi only available in the lobby area. I would try to find a hotel with a little more charm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuze, Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Madame,
thank you for your time to write down this review and thank you for your recent stay in Hotel Ruze.
We regret, that you found the stay at the Ruze hotel just as the average.Your evaluation is a reason for us to continuously improve level of services as well as to train our staff to use the best performances.

We hope, that we could welcome you sometimes in the future again in one of our Jan hotels.

With kind regards

Michal Pelikan, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#4 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Inn
Hotel Old Inn
#10 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#11 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruze

Address: Horni 154, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: $100 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ruze 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star Hotel Ruze located in the former Jesuit dormitory from the 16th century together with its 70 rooms designed for comfort represents a unique accommodation with a charming atmosphere. Historical spaces of the conference center and spectacular summer terrace are ideal places to organize a wedding or hold a meeting. Guests can enjoy also Wellness center with a range of various health services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruze Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing