We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating, Good Location, Roomy”
Review of Hotel Dvorak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dvorak
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed one night on our side trip from Prague. Reserved the room on booking.com; no glitches. First room offered was on fifth floor, but the lift goes only to floor four. No big deal, but the room was hot and had only one small window. We were able to be changed to the first floor at no extra charge - much nicer and MUCH cooler. Very pleasant stay and excellent location right on the river.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor in the summer! There is no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our room was very large with a couch and seating area. The bathroom is newly remodeled and very nice. The lobby and breakfast room look rather dated. Breakfast offered a good selection.
The location and views are excellent. We looked directly at the castle and the river below. While we only had drinks in the restaurant, the riverside location is lovely.
Only real complaint was that it was very warm in the rooms. We were able to get a fan from the front desk which helped.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We chose Hotel Dvorak because of its location directly opposite the castle, and the hotel fully delivers on that score - just a very short walk away over a bridge and our room had a window looking directly at it. The only slight inconvenience about the location is that the closest we could park our hire car was in the P1 car park (on the other side of the castle) so we had to half carry, half wheel our cases over cobbled streets for 10 minutes to get to the hotel; okay for us, but less agile/strong guests may need a taxi to transport luggage, which may be a bit of a nuisance. What we discovered upon arrival in Cesky Krumlov is that the old town area is relatively small. So you could probably book a cheaper hotel in the newer part of town and take a short walk into the old town area rather than pay the premium that Hotel Dvorak charges for its location right in the centre. The property itself was good. The young lady at reception was very welcoming and spoke excellent English, and breakfast wasn't bad at all. Our room was large, nicely furnished and comfortable; the only downside was that the over-bath shower had no curtain or screen, so water splashed everywhere. While Hotel Dvorak is a nice property, should we ever return to Cesky Krumlov we would probably look at other options. A final note - though the hotel's website mentioned free parking, we had difficulty in getting it confirmed online when we booked and eventually asked for email confirmation. The hotel didn't volunteer any details when we arrived and ultimately, since we were only staying one night, we opted to pay the modest parking fee ourselves. I'd suggest that if you're staying longer you insist on clarification on how it's going to work.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ollie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Ollie,

thank you very much for your review.The parking in the city centre is not possible due to hotel alocation in the pedestrian zone. The parking is possible only behind the city centre zone.Our bathrooms are spacious and many guests warn us about missing curtains in the bathtube.We do not want to install it,because it would look like cheap and unaestethic.

Petr gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just the one night in a superior room (303) which is huge and included a couch and 2 chairs in addition to the bed, desk, wardrobe and television. Bed is very comfortable.

The bathroom is also large, however because of the open shower over the narrow bath it's impossible to shower without water ending up everywhere. In this day and age, I find this practice totally bizarre.

The wifi is free and the signal is strong.

The hotel is located right across from the castle, so it's position is incredible. The castle is really the main reason for visiting and there's not a lot else to see, but the diversion to Cesky Krumlov is totally worth it and the position of the town with the river winding around it is really lovely.

The old part of town is not open to cars and this hotel will cover your parking costs and ferry you and your gear to and from your car. Not entirely sure how this all works and we did not push it with reception, as we had left our car in one of the car parks outside the city walls. They did not offer to pay the fee and seemed to imply that we shouldn't have parked there (but we had to in order to make a castle tour). We paid the parking fee ourselves to avoid any hassle.

Breakfast takes place on the lower ground floor. It's plentiful and very tasty with cereals, eggs, bacon and sausage as well as various cold meats and cheeses, fruit, yoghurt and sweet treats.

All in all a good place, but I reckon some of the other B&B's would provide the same for a cheaper price.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Mark W.,

thank you very much for your review. We apologize ourselves for problems with parking,but the situation with the parking in the city centre is tricky and is not possible to park here.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Grand, slightly dated, hotel. Wonderful location, affording spectacular views of castle, church and river from rooms. Our room (303) is recommended, with its corner location and views out two sides. Servic could be slightly better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Hotel is in a perfect location with a wonderful view over the castle. We got a Deluxe type room (101 on the ground floor) with a huge and nice bathroom, vestibule and a large room with an extra sofa. You can just relax by looking at the view of the castle right from your bed, or have an even wider picture including the river by sitting in the window! Breakfast was just excellent! We tried the kitchen as well, tasty, their desserts were nice and delicious! The waiter was really friendly! We were here in February, got very nice weather luckily. The city was nice and calm. I suggest to visit the city in this time of the year as well especially for those, who do not like too much crowd and noise.

Room Tip: No air condition, but thick walls. I don't know about the heat in summertime, but might be warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balazs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Balasz,

thank you very much for your nice review.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed in Deluxe room with Castle View for 1 night during our Europe trip in Jun 2013.

The room is quite stylish, and the bathroom is quite large. The location is really great as it has overlooking Krumlov Castle and next to the bridge. Manager and staffs are very friendly. Everything seems to be ok, except for the fact that there is no air condition. <We haven't realized this fact during the booking as we thought that at the price we paid, there should come with air condition>

Since we are there in June and it is Summer already, we cannot sleep without the window opened. Unfortunately, after opening the window, the noise and insects come to our room. So, it is a bit of an disaster in that night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petr G, Manažer at Hotel Dvorak, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Mai L.,

thank you very much for your review.

Petr Gužik - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#10 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
196 reviews
0 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dvorak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dvorak

Address: Radnichni 101, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range: $78 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dvorak 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dvořák is allocated at the historical centre of Český Krumlov and its rooms offer a unique view on the Vltava River and the magnificent castle panorama. Historical town of Český Krumlov is based in the valley of meandering Vltava River and it was established by the Vitek family early around 1274. The historical centre of the town was recorded in the UNESCO list of world cultural heritage in 1992. The castle of Cesky Krumlov is the most impressive landmark with the round tower. The part of the town Latran is also admired with so-called Budejovicka gate, Main Square with city hall, plague pillar and the fountain. The whole town managed to keep the unique medieval streets with a significant number of Renaissance buildings containing Gothic cores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dvorak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvorak Hotel Cesky Krumlov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing