We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't consider anywhere else - this is the place to stay”
Review of Penzion Delanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion Delanta
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't consider anywhere else - this is the place to stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The owner is extremely nice. He even came and picked us up from the train station and even dropped us back!

The rooms were very large and nice. The location is a small walk out of town but it was extremely easy walk and would definitely stay there again.

Amazing place. Book it now :)

Scott (Australia)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    30
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile


We had 4 nights here and from the first email could tell that Martin was a very friendly and thoughtful host. He picked us up from the train station without being asked (the station is a good distance out of town and up a hill - would only walk it with luggage if you have to)

The Pension is beautifully built with large, spacious rooms that look out towards the historic centre over all the tiled roofs - beautiful! We had the place to ourselves and used the kitchen to cook breakfast every morning. There are numerous options for dinner in town - we loved Martin's tip to go to the old medieval prison which does great grilled meat on an open fire in front of you. Cheap draught beer too.

There is a supermarket within 1min walk and also an electronics store where we bought a new fuse for our travel adaptor. The walk in/out to the centre was easy and we enjoyed it every time, helped all the food/drink digest. Only took about 10mins.

The shower is strong with constant hot water. Overall a really great stay, we were sad to go. Martin dropped us back to the train even though he was busy - very much appreciated. Best of luck in the future to you and your family from both of us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed there only for one night, but were impressed with the cleanness of the room. The location is good, just 10 mins walk down to the town. The host was very friendly and helpful. Great value. We surely will return next year.

Room Tip: clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anninbayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Penzion Delanta for one night as we travelled from Prague to Vienna. We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to visit the lovely town and found that the penzion definitely deserves it's #1 ranking. The room was spacious, meticulously clean and very comfortable. Martin and Julia were both friendly and helpful and Julia provided us with a map & directions, as well as a restaurant recommendation. The breakfast at 4 euro was great, with a good variety of food choices and attentive service by the lady serving us. The wifi wasn't working when we were there but a repairman was on- site trying to fix the problem and Martin was most apologetic. I have no doubt that they will get this problem solved. The location is easy to get to if you are driving and a 10 minute walk from the town centre (this might be a bit far for someone with mobility issues). Free parking is available, which was greatly appreciated as we had to pay at most places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 days recently at the Penzion Delanta and I must say I Was very impressed with the quality , cleanliness and professional way it's run at the affordable price it has. The rooms are very spacious , clean and tastefully done up for the pricing. Bathrooms are clean and nice. The Pension is very well constructed and quite cute in the way it's built. Breakfast is quite good. parking is easy and free . Very important if you are driving into Cesky Krumlov. Other pensions in town centre have that issue. It's very near town so distance is not a problem at all. Cable has English channels :)
Mike and Julia are very nice and helpful though it would have been great if they could have guided us a bit on their recommendations on other great places / sites that only locals would know.
They were kind enough to accept USD and even give s crowns at the bank rate when we needed some local currency. Very convenient for us.
The only issue is that the WIFI DOESNOT work on the rooms on top so be prepared with your own connection. Hopefully Mike and Julia can fix that easily. Else it's spoils an otherwise perfect experience..

All in all a great stay. I would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Penzion Delanta is a budget pension that offers superb quality in almost every aspect, with only one noteworthy potential weakness – location.

This pension is in a modern and quiet residential neighborhood, located about 700m southwest to the old town of Český Krumlov. There is a gentle hill in-between, and from the southern bridge (Most doktora Edvarda Beneše) of the old town it takes around 10 minutes of pleasant walking. This is not much of a trouble for people who drive to the hotel. For those who take train or bus, however, the extra 1Km of luggage hauling through hilly terrain can be of some significance. The bus station for Student Agency coaches from Prague and elsewhere is in the eastern part of town, and it takes about 20 minutes (1.6Km) of walk to Delanta. The Český Krumlov train station is at the northern edge of the town, and it probably takes more than 30 minutes (2.6Km) of walk to the pension, although taking a bus at the train station and getting off at the northern gate of the old town saves you about 1Km (drivers don’t speak English, but they do drop you off if you ask for “Český Krumlov”). The owner couple did give us a ride to the train station on the way back, and it seems they try to give a ride whenever they are not too preoccupied with their three young children.

The said owners are capable and well-meaning hosts. Martin, the husband, speaks English well, and Julie, the wife, speaks German as well as some English. While Julie often looked tired and distracted, understandably due to her three younglings running around, she was clearly interested in our satisfaction and tried to anticipate our needs.

The pension has four rooms in a house that the owner family also lives in. Our room was a bit cold, with no heating turned on in September (13 degree Celsius outside in mornings). But the room as well as the bathroom was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Outside some East Asian countries, it is not often that you meet independent lodgings this clean. It was also very quiet, and the sleep quality was good.

As of September 2013, the owner couple is building a small building, next to the house, that will house a reception and a wellness center. It is meant to open in Spring 2014, and will solve the issue where people often have to pre-arrange the time for check-in/out or call and wait. In addition to this, if they manage to operate a regular shuttle bus to/from the train station and bus station, perhaps in partnership with other pensions, we think Delanta will become a full five-point lodging.

To conclude, Penzion Delanta is an impeccably clean and quiet pension run by a competent couple. While the location may not be ideal, the rate is very attractive. Overall, we think its performance-to-price ratio is superb, and would recommend Delanta to most anyone visiting this wonderful town that is Český Krumlov.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After many reviews, I feel like there's nothing to add, so I normally don't do one. However, Penzion Delanta so impressed us, I want to add my endorsement of it. The price is very reasonable, the location is convenient if you're driving, it's very clean, and the breakfast was good. With that out of the way, I can't praise Martin enough. We came in much later than I had originally told him because of all sorts of little things that added up, but Martin couldn't have been more gracious. Another couple traveling with us, were in a different lodging in the Old Town, after not being able to get a room here. Martin patiently explained to them how to get to their penzion. He even called it to make sure there was someone there to greet them because it was well after their check-in time also. He told me where to park in sort of a hidden spot right by Old Town and the procedure for it. And his restaurant recommendation was right on. All of this was at a time he was dealing with three young children because a new baby in the family was his wife's focus. The man did look a bit tired!

Two bits of advice. The penzion is not located in the old town so you do miss that experience. On the other hand, I will take cleanliness and quiet over quaintness any day if it might include noise and crowds with it. We did have a little trouble finding it, but only because we didn't realize the bridge on the map was the second one after the roundabout. Simply cross that bridge and look to turn right immediately if you are driving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCDM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#1 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Maleho Vitka
U Maleho Vitka
#2 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ruze
Hotel Ruze
#7 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Andel
Hotel Zlaty Andel
#3 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dvorak
Hotel Dvorak
#6 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Konvice
Hotel Konvice
#5 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Delanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Delanta

Property: Penzion Delanta
Address: Vencova 393, Cesky Krumlov 38101, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Delanta 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new wellness center available (for an extra charge) to the guests equipped by whirlpool, massages, finish sauna, infra sauna, solarium, beauty studio ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penzion Delanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing