We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option, in a town with a lot of choice...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Peregrin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Peregrin
Ranked #28 of 142 Cesky Krumlov B&B and Inns
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good option, in a town with a lot of choice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well, there is a lot of choice in Cesky Krumlov. I guess half of the town is either a hotel / guesthouse or a restaurant. This is one of the few so called "hotels", which didn't look like grandmas place, but rather fresh and modern. Thats why i chose it.

Location: It's located just in the heart of Cesky Krumlov, near the market place. It's on a steep road (which was in the process of being rebuild (?) while i was there -> they blocked the street with a construction machine from one side), so choose your way to the hotel carefully, if you don't like steep streets (just approach it from the market place side). It's in a quite area with no cars, so your sleep will not be disturbed at night.

Hotel: Well, it's more a guesthouse, which doubles as a hotel, because it has a small reception (which closes after 8 p.m.). It's not big, it has a small reception, a small communal area and well, the rooms in two floors.

Rooms: We were at the ground floor, in a good sized room, with a nice leather sofa, some okay-ish beds (they were a bit soft and they didn't have a single matress, but two separated mattresses), a TV right in front of the bed, and a table and a place to hang your clothes. All in all the basic comfort was there, not complaints.

The bathroom was also very nice to look at and kept in a modern style.

Cleanliness was no problem and contrary to other reviews here, the room was made up after we left. They made our beds and cleaned it.

The problem i had with the room, apart from the separated and slightly soft mattresses (in a double bed) was the NOISE. The rooms are nice to look at with wooden floors, made out of historic wood, but this will also make sure, that you here everyone walking who is in the room in the first floor. And, if there is somebody in the communal area at the reception talking, you will hear everything they talk. This was especially bad, as it was the receptionist who was talking to someone sitting there and i had to hear it. Also in the morning you will hear a lot of noise when people start to get going.

Sleep Quality: I slept good, despite the bed. But in the morning you will be awaken by the noise around you.

Breakfast: The breakfast was okay. Coffee was surprisingly good, but the rest was just medicore and felt slightly cheap.

Service: Uff, not their best point. First, the reception is only open until 8 p.m. and second, if you do have a question, don't expect to much help. At first i was stared at in utter disbelief, when i told them that i walked from the train station. After i was given my key, nobody gave me a map or anything. No good customer support. Instead the girl was talking to a guy who was sitting there on a chair, talking with him. Then, when i wanted to pay, i asked if they accept Maestro Cards, they didn't know (but at least they tried). When i asked for the price of a taxi to the train station, they said it's maybe (!) 50 krona. Well, let me tell you, i was charged 170 krona ! They do really not know anything about the going ons in this town, i believe. Worse, nobody told me that the way will be blocked when i arrive, so that i cannot enter the street of the hotel from both sides. They should have known about this, when they sent the confirmation mail (2 days before my arrival). But no, it's just not so important, to communicate with your customers about this. They didn't even apologize for the construction work going on, directly before their door, which blocked the entire street.

Verdict: Well, it's still a good option, as it was quite cheap and modern. It's a bit noisy and not ultra-classy, but if you don't like guesthouses, this might be a better option. Just beware of the things i have written !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We traveled with an older couple, one of them who had heart disease. To arrive to the hotel, we had to walk and carry our bags up a small hill with cobblestones. No help was available. The lady at the front desk would not even apologize. The rooms were small, although we would expect that in such a historic place. Upon departure, they were filming a movie by the town square, meaning we had to walk back and carry our bags through half the town to get to a taxi to get to the parking lot! The hotel was clean but the bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The bottom line is that if you cannot carry your own bags- don't go there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana M, Manager at Hotel Peregrin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hotel Peregrin is located in the town center of Český Krumlov which is a pedestrian zone with limited motorized vehicle access. However, guests with a valid hotel booking are allowed to enter the town center. Hotel Peregrin has no luggage service,we can only help with suitcases upstairs.Beds are one of the most comfortable which hotels offer, no one has complained yet. There are still like a new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June and enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the hotel with another couple who had the top floor room with the balcony, so it was nice to see the different rooms. Although there is only daytime staff at the hotel/front desk, we did not find this to be a problem as any questions we had were answered at that time. The staff were very hospitable and helpful throughout our stay. They offered free wi-fi (which worked great!). The rooms were modern and updated, although still had their original beams etc. intact, which added to the overall experience. In looking at the other reviews for Cesky Krumlov hotels, many seemed tired, and in need of an update. However, Hotel Peregrin easily met our needs.

The hotel itself is located right in a prime location, just off the main town square. Despite this, the town is easily navigated on foot (no vehicle traffic permitted, unless for loading/unloading purposes). With this in mind, the hotel offers off-site parking for their guests in a safe parkade.

Each morning we were offered a wide array of options for the breakfast buffet which was included in the room rate. We did find that it was beneficial to be early, as if you arrived later than the other guests in the small hotel, there were fewer options available.

Cesky Krumlov itself was a fantastic location to visit, and I would not hesitate to return! Hotel Peregrin was a great location to use as a base for the town at a price point that provided a great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardinal_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The location of this hotel is excellent: it is very close to the main square. We have room No. 7 (the only one with a balcony): this room is relatively small without any wardrobe, but cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was elegant and perfectly clean. Furnishings in the whole hotel are beautiful. Breakfests were good and hearty; however, we missed a coffeemaker in the room, especially due to limitations of services to the BB only. Free WiFi in the rooms, this is great. The staff was very helpfull during the whole stay.

Room Tip: The room No. 7 is small without wardrobe (there is only coat rack on the wall), but it is the only r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RePeVe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Peregrin - location is great, on a quiet lane near the square and not far from the top end of the town. Rooms were large, very nicely furnished, very clean, good WiFi, nice breakfast. Front desk is only staffed mornings and early afternoons, but that wasn't an issue for us. Would definitely stay there again! We came in on the train, took taxi to hotel. A much better way is the wonderful Student Agency Bus which we used to travel from Cesky Krumlov to Prague - easy booking online, cheap, ex ride, short walk from the Old Town. We also booked a day trip to Bohemia sights with Karolina, www.krumlovtours.com, who gave us a private tour of Trebon, Hloboka Castle and Holasovice - nice tour. Loved, loved, loved Cesky Krumlov!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana M, Manager at Hotel Peregrin, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, it will be our pleasure to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for just one night and everything was excellent. The room is beautiful and cozy, good breakfast and super helpful staff! Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wubluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

i think we were the only people in this hotel. we let ourselves in and out with the same key as our room key? we were put at the top of the house, really this room should be left to people that are 2ft tall, when you had a bath used the toilet or sat up in bed you banged your head of the beams. no shower,no phone, no coffee and no one in the hotel

Room Tip: not at the top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana M, Manager at Hotel Peregrin, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello, thank you for your visit to our hotel. Our guests have a key to their room and the same key is from the main entrance. Our reception desk is open from 8 am to 8 pm.The rooms in our hotel have usually bathtub. I hope that you have enjoyed staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesky Krumlov hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#11 of 21 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Nostalgie
Pension Nostalgie
#3 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle View Apartments
Castle View Apartments
#2 of 45 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krcinuv Dum
Hotel Krcinuv Dum
#24 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Mysi Dira
Hotel Garni Mysi Dira
#25 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Cert a Kaca
Pension Cert a Kaca
#19 of 142 in Cesky Krumlov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peregrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peregrin

Property: Hotel Peregrin
Address: Masna 139, Cesky Krumlov 381 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Cesky Krumlov
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Cesky Krumlov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peregrin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peregrin In the middle of the charming Český Krumlov you can find a hotel offering a much-welcome refuge and accommodation to the pilgrims of modern times who have travelled from near and far to admire the unique beauty of the town of Český Krumlov, listed as one of the UNESCO world heritage sites.Hotel Peregrin Český Krumlov hints at its main mission by its name, derived from the Latin word peregrinus meaning a pilgrim or a traveler.Hotel Peregrin is located in a house of medieval origin dating back to the 15th century. We respect the unique historic value of the building and combine it with modern furnishings and design objects in an original and harmonic fashion. During the reconstruction we have also taken great care to preserve and develop unique features. In the hotel you can find solid hardwood floors, custom-made wooden doors and made-to-measure furniture.Each room in Hotel Peregrin is unique with both its furnishing and set-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peregrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing