We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for an authentic Czech feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Krcma Marketa

Krcma Marketa
Ranked #2 of 105 Restaurants in Cesky Krumlov
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue, European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A Renaissance-period restaurant with meals prepared on open fire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for an authentic Czech feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is simply superb. After a brisk, wintery walk up through the old castle, we eventually reached the very discreet door of this establishment. Had our local guide not pointed it out earlier, we wouldn't have been as lucky to come across this gem on our own.

Dimly lit, by fireplaces and candlelight, the smell of roasting meet and the sound of clinking beer steins sets a perfect atmosphere for a traditional feast of beasts from the open fire. There's a limited number of tables, and our waiter/owner/chef/resident comedian kept all customers in his establishment fed and watered at all times, in an attentive, yet unobtrusive, manner.

Don't come here for haute cuisine or extravagant interiors, but if you fancy a filling feast of meat, vegetables and some locally brewed beer to wash it all down, then this is your place. I'd pay handsomely for such a dining experience, yet we were shocked at how cheap the night for the 6 of us was when the bill came.

I'm sure the word will eventually spread that this is the place to go, but for this moment in time, it was our little gem and we all loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    59
    4
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was highly recommended and justifiably so.
It seemed that there were at least 10 staff as the service was so efficient ,but it was a husband and wife cooking and attending to our party of 6 .
Food was less heavy than normal bohemian fare and salads were huge but healthy.
The meat was expertly grilled and the selection of beers washed the food down perfectly due to mine host regularly inviting us to try another local brew.
All in good humor and we never felt pressured to purchase more than we wanted.
Prices are ridiculously low by our Australian standards.
6 of us ate and drank way too much and the bill came to 72€.
It's worth the long walk past the castle ,but get directions and enjoy a great night out by the fire.
It was -5C the night we dined and a great way to warm up before the long walk back to town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An economical, atmospherically, absolutely deliciously dip back in time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

A definite go-to restaurant if in Cesky Krumlov. The food was amazing, traditonal and delicious. The atmosphere was dark and medieval with a crackling fire, oil lamps and crakling candles.
The service was far better than most other places we have attended and our poor Czech greetings and thankyous were returned very kindly.

if you want to find this restaurant, head up into the castle from the centre of town and once across the castle bridhe follow the sign towards the Marketa, right and up next to a carpark adjacent an open grassy field.

The beer is cheap, 30 kr, ~$2 Australian, for a pint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graduge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A worthy find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I usually make it a habit to try a different place for lunch and dinner every day on vacation, but in our two-week European trip, this is the only one I was happy to go back to a second time.
It is a bit out of the way from the crowds, so we had no trouble just walking in and getting a table at dinnertime (on a Wednesday and Thursday). It's not so far that it's not walkable from the center of town though, and it might be a welcome walk home after dinner if you've eaten a lot.
The ambiance had a real medieval feel. It wasn't until I reflected later that I figured that the restaurant may've been purpose-built to feel old fashioned, but even still, it was a fun atmosphere. It's very dark inside with wooden tables, painted plaster or stone walls hung with farming tools, candles, and the wonderful smell of meat on the grill.
The dinners we had were truly great. You'll find skewers of grilled meat (chicken, sausage, beef, etc.), tasty grilled vegetables, and wonderful Eggenberg (local) beer. It was a great value. If you're going for the "meat-skewer basement-hall" ambiance that so many Krumlov restaurants seem to emulate, I highly recommend making this your top choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt8495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was good that I read some of the reviews in Tripadvisor before going to Cesky Krumlov, otherwise I would have missed this great place. It is as some other coments say, 'hidden' , but if you follow the signs you will find it.
We went there on a Saturday lunch and the place was magic. The music, ambience....it was so peaceful and relaxing. The food and the service were really good, and the beer.....superb!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepa819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krcma Marketa also viewed

Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
Cesky Krumlov, South Bohemian Region
 

Been to Krcma Marketa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing