We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Hotel Budweis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Budweis
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Certificate of Excellence
Cool, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The room and bathroom were very spacious and decor modern and nice. Loved having a bathtub and windows that opened. Staff was friendly but many spoke no English so things could be challenging. A few spoke very well, so we were able to get through ok.

Breakfast was very good. Quite a few offerings, including eggs cooked to your liking. Wifi was also good.

The shower head needs to be changed to something else. It is just ridiculous!

It's quite a long walk from the train station...wished we had taken a cab!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    57
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
32
4
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was a bit disappointing.
But I loooved the building and the location within the historical city - everything's in walking distance.
The modern interior design is much less charming than the outside view of the beautiful old mill, but it's neat and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Large room, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was nice and bright too. Ate several times in the restaurant, staff were very pleasant and attentive and the food was of a good standard - the beef goulash with homemade potato pancakes was great and only cost about £5.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stay here every time I come here on business. The room is spacious and comfortable. It has lots of features (safe, coffee, internet, etc) and is clean and modern.

Breakfast is good but basic and service is good for local standards. Everyone is very pleasant but not all speak English ( no complaints there, I don't speak Czech).

I highly recommend it. It is very close to the old town and well located. Restaurant is good with local flavours.


If I had a niggle it would be the shower. Overall it is really nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Twed57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very nice hotel with good location,we had here excellent dinner 13.2.evening but:the waitress /dark hair-very young/ was sitting and drinking with another young girl, so sometimes I had to ask for drink at another table....At the end when we decided to pay this young girl came to me I gave her my VISA platinum debit card and she told me Your card is not working, You don=t have money on Your account which way are You going to pay.Without any respect she was talking to me and my old father like to some homeless people!My father has fortunately another debit card that belongs to my account so we have finaly paid with this second card.No problem, but why the waitress is so"clever" and says to the guest-holder of VISA platinum dont have money, why are You comming to restaurant without money.Terrible manners!If there is some technical problem with card it is not problem to ask for another card or to ask for bringing cash from ATM, but telling You dont have money is really fatal mistake for person that works in services.All other staff is very nice-receptionist, porteer but this waithess need to be trained in manners.We are very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rupicapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knocknagashel, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location also very central, lots to see and do, ten mins to Budweiser factory and two min walk to ice hockey arena. It is situated overlooking a lake which was peaceful, with some lovely relaxing walks.

Beautiful hotel very modern and extremely clean. The Restaurant in the hotel deserves more awards than it has, the food was beautiful, and available on late arrival.

The room was lovely with a large bed but to be honest I found it very hard and uncomfortable. ( the only let down)
Tea and coffee in the room, a safe, an ironing board and plenty hangers in the wardrobe.
The bath and shower were large with plenty hot water. The bathroom was bright with lots of mirrors. Overall a fantastic hotel! The staff were polite friendly and very helpful! An excellent hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My overall rating would have been 5* except for a slippery bathtub - I've informed the front desk. Except for that, it's exceptionally good hotel, reconstructed from the 14th century Mill with loving care, good taste for architectural elements, colours used in the rooms and corridors, roomy bathrooms and rooms, good beds and overall ambience, beautiful windows, sitting close to the river banks and the town's centre itself. I've loved beautiful Christmas decorations including a stuffed reindeer as tall as I, kissable adornment of a restaurant corner. Breakfasts very good and excellent meals in the restaurant. We will be back.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a corner room because one gets a wider view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klika
Hotel Klika
#9 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa Hotel Vita
Spa Hotel Vita
#5 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#10 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budweis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budweis

Property: Hotel Budweis
Address: Mlynska 165/6, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budweis 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Budweis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing