We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Friendly staff! Beautiful city!”
Review of Hotel Budweis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Budweis
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed three nights at Hotel Budweis in early September when I was visiting Ceske Budejovice for a conference. I found the staff very welcoming and helpful: their English was perfect but, at my urging and to their amusement, they also tried to teach me some Czech. When it was raining, the staff offered me a loaner umbrella. My room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Wireless network was reliable. The restaurant offers a nice breakfast and also provided a good place to do some work for a few hours. I also loved the location of this hotel: its in the Old City and you can walk to many different restaurants and shops. Its right on a footpath/bikepath that runs along a canal and down to the river so its easy to find a nice route for a run. And just two minutes away -- in sight of the hotel -- is an indoor pool facility that you can use.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarefootAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on Business back in May. The hotel is decorated to a good standard and rooms are clean and a good size and really good value for money. Location is good -only a couple of minutes walk from the main square and adjacent to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayCee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is not the easiest to locate but once there it is in a great location. 2 minutes walk from the main square and when I was there, very quiet.

Check in was smooth with the receptionist being extremely helpful (and able to converse in Czech, English and German). Private garage for parking at an additional fee or free outdoor parking.

The room was of a very good size and initially seemed bright and relatively modern with plenty of windows and decent views. Closer inspection revealed ockets coming off the wall, a badly damaged bathroom door and a poor attempt at a shower (which only had one directional setting which made it impossible to use unless it was removed from the holder). In addition, the shower gel/shampoo was of poor quality and certainly not enough for 2 people. The mini bar was stocked with only about 5 drinks and no food.

Breakfast was the major let down. At 9.15am there were several dirty tables (but at that time only 2 other tables actually being used). Self service tea and coffee from a machine and a pathetic choice of 'fresh' bread, ham cheese and fruit left myself and my friends rather surprised considering this is supposed to be a 4* hotel. Cooked eggs were available and there was pre-cooked bacon and sausages but the quality of the bacon and sausage was extremely poor. In addition, asking for a knife to be brought to the table led to raised eyebrows and a deep sigh from the staff.

Hotels need to remember that breakfast is the generally the last memory you have of the hotel, save for the actual check-out, so giving an extremely poor breakfast choice and service is something to be avoided.

Overall, not a bad hotel (save for the breakfast) in a very good location and at least the majority of the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at room 406, a no smoking room with twin beds, from Sunday 10 till Friday 15 june 2012.

The Hotel:
The historic building has been completely renovated, and it shows!
Upon arrival you're greeted in Czech, German or English by the receptionist. On the right there's the entrance to the restaurant and the elevator. At the back there's the staircase and a door leading to restrooms.

The Room:
Fitted with double glazed windows, so I didn't need the earplugs I usually tend to take along. View towards the historic centre of Budweis, mostly rooftops and the Black Tower in the distance.
Plenty of room to keep your clothes in the wardrobe and other cabinets, comfortable chairs, several mirrors, a safe, a minibar, phone, free tea and coffee, A/C, master switch on either side of the bed to turn off all the lights, TV with about 18 stations ranging from local to German and some bigger international ones (CNN and MSNBC, no BBC World).
Beds were made daily.
2 pillows on each bed plus a 3rd that was more decorational, all very soft. I used the 2 together to provide firmer support, the decorational one wasn't required.
I totally ADORED the bathroom!
It was large, offered a huge mirror, several soaps and other grooming items, hairdryer, 3 types of towels per guest, grooming mirror, toilet and bathtub!
There's also an extra switch that allows you to listen to the TV in the bathroom! (ideal when putting on a music station, or to listen to the morning news)

The Restaurant:
Well staffed during lunch and dinner, less staffed during breakfast. Staff is very friendly, and take your empty plates very quickly. Most staff members know German, some know a bit of English.
There is a good Continental / English breakfast buffet (bacon & eggs, saucages, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, mini-croissants, coffee, hot chocolate, juice, fruit mix, etc). I noticed a bit of variety from day to day, but the special things run out quickly, and the kitchen can't always resupply the special items.
Lunch & Dinner buffets offered a basic salad bar and new meat options every day. I only once spotted fish. Rice, potatoes and fries are always available. Main dessert changed every day, but you can always take some fruit mix or miniature pastries.
Drinks during Lunch & Dinner are waited on the table. If you order a bottle of wine (I recommend the red and rosé Czech ones) and you can't finish it, you can ask to have your room number written on it and finish it during the evening or the next day. The only remark I have to give about this otherwise perfect service, is that they apparently place all wines in their cooling chamber, including red wines. I suggest you try to explain to your waiter if you prefer your wine placed cold, or not.
We paid for our drinks aftter every meal, though this can be done at checkout too.

CONCLUSION:
I can only say good things about this hotel.
During my stay I observed groups of seniors, business people, families and even 2 backpackers. It's an example for other hotels in its category thanks to offering a good service for a fair price.
I'm sure it will offer any type of guest a comfortable and enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 406, my parents had room 407. They are identical twin bed double rooms with all com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeroen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel is near the center of the city. It is new and modern. We had a nice dinner in their restaurant. One caveat - the bathroom fixtures emphasize form over function and are difficult to use.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmarymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the Budweis on a business trip to the Czech Republic. The location was excellent and the little stream outside was very pretty.

Breakfast was very good, with a chef to cook for you to order. The room was also very nice and very clean.

My sleep was not good though, due to noise from reception, directly underneath my room. Take some earplugs!

Room Tip: I was in room 215, which is directly above reception. As a light sleeper, I found that I was woken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magicknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This is a beautifully, tastefully renovated 15th Century building located near a waterway, in the old part of the town and close to the old town square (which in itself is beautiful); 15 min walk to the railway station. Inside is a good blend of the new and the old very modern fittings, very clean. Close to bus stop (5 min walk) (to the main station- bus and train). Taxi service is very punctual. Breakfast menu (buffet) is very basic and repetitive - sometimes stale pastry (probably the only negative); restaurant menu (a la carte) is quite good.

Exchange rate is very good - better than Prague. Very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Segu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ceske Budejovice hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zvon
Grand Hotel Zvon
#2 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Budejovice
Clarion Congress Hotel Ceske Bud...
#3 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
230 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Klika
Hotel Klika
#7 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spa Hotel Vita
Spa Hotel Vita
#5 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel U Solne Brany
Hotel U Solne Brany
#4 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
Hotel Zatkuv Dum
#9 of 20 in Ceske Budejovice
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budweis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budweis

Address: Mlynska 165/6, Ceske Budejovice 370 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Ceske Budejovice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ceske Budejovice
Price Range: $95 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budweis 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Budweis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing