We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punyalakshmi Hotel Diamond Harbour Kolkata- A beautiful hotel to stay in”
Review of Hotel Punyalakshmi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Punyalakshmi
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Flaunting a prime location situated at Diamond Harbour, Kolkata, Hotel Punyalakshmil is the best choice for you and is located around 40 km from the Howrah Railway Station. Come in for its fantastic set of facilities packed with personalized services,most lavishly furnished accommodation options in Diamond Harbour to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable stay during your Diamond Harbour tour.The best part of the hotel are the extremely supportive and receptive staff always willing to help and doing all they can to make your stay comfortable. Their overall services and demeanor added to the pleasures of the family vacation at every step of our stay. The charming restaurant will drive you crazy with its tranquil ambiance and a delectable assortment of food.There is a dazzling swimming pool. Rooms have soft colored ceilings, subdued lighting with pleasing and gratifying ambiance with a striking garden view.There is a well maintained private bathroom in each room with extra towels, complimentary toiletries and shower. Garden side is tranquility in its own. We had a very very very comfortable stay...

Room Tip: Garden side is tranquility in its own.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Garden side is tranquility in its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yogesh2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent 25th Dec over here with family. Heard lots of positive things before visiting the property. However, disappointed with my experience over there. On the day they had lunch buffet where they were charging INR 400 + tax. To my surprise they didn't give me any bill. On asking when they are deducting service tax or VAT they have have to provide adequate bill but as usual they had blunt response of not having billing option for lunch buffet. Clearly they are tax evaders. They know that for guests there is no other option.
The lawn is the best part of the hotel. Though its small but has nice view overlooking Ganges. The swimming pool is a waste. Food taste was not that good and doesn't have any value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We went to diamond harbour to spent a day. We read review of this place and thought we can give it a chance if we like the place. The property is located within 10 min walk from the railway station on the banks of the Ganges. They have 3 seperate buildings, one having Deluxe rooms, One having Cottages and the other one for family suite rooms. we decided to stay in a cottage. All the cottages are having nice and large space with a view of Ganges.
Restaurant is located at the main hotel. Food quality is excellent. Both Bengali and Chinese cuisine we tasted are lovely. They serve Complementary unlimited breakfast with a wide range of food. Food price is quite reasonable.
The whole property is well maintained, neat and clean.
Overall nice stay for 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subhablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent a couple of nights. The location is fantastic, just 10 min walk from the old Sagnik Lodge. As far as location is concerned, in my opinion, it is better than any other resort in Raichak and DH. But only for the cottage rooms. The rooms on the main building are not so impressive. The swimming pool is tiny, not practical for a proper swim, more like a huge bathtub. The staff are helpful but they are all local lads and they don't know much about proper hospitality. The rooms are nice so is the food. But one dampener is that they don't serve food outdoors. But we did take our drinks and snacks on the lawn. It is much more fun there. Avoid the Sundays in winter, huge picnic parties arrive in hoards and the hotel puts up monster speakers for their entertainment in the lawn. They are sure to spoil a relaxing Sunday afternoon in the Riverside. We had to bear various bhangra and item songs throughout the afternoon. The resort is small.
Overall it is a nice resort, and gains most points due to its location and food. If they employ proper professionals for the service and a proper pro as the manager they can be a premier getway resort for Kol people.

Room Tip: Only rent rooms in the 1st floor and higher . Ground floor rooms don't make much sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Achyut78ins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A nice place on the bank of river hoogly/ganga, picturisque location,but approach road from highway vary bad. Poor professionalism so far hospitality is concefned. No welcome drink neither any complementary bed tea even in a socalled delux rooms. Food offcourse quite delecious but quite costly.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing river on the bank of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drpkpandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Property is located right on the river bank. You get excellent view of the river from your room/cottages. Two Swimming Pools along with child pool where you can laze around. Beautifully maintained Lawn and Children Play area. Overall you can spend a couple of days peacefully here.
On the other side, Swimming Pool is not maintained and cleaned properly and requires repairs. The depth of the pool not mentioned.
The complimentary buffet breakfast menu was quite disappointing with minimum number of items.
In the end, let me state with the kind of space and infrastructure at it's disposal, the resort can definitely become one of the best hotels in the State.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swastik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful and Peaceful stay on weekends. The view of the Hoogly from the lawn of the hotel is just amazing. You would preferably feel nostalgic. Nice and cosy atmosphere to go with it.

Smiles:-
1. Good, beautiful and clean property.
2. Excellent view of the Hoogly.
3. Well behaved staff.
4. Clean and well decorated rooms.
5. Nice food.
6. The price of the property ensures that you are away from the usual normal crowd.


Frowns:-
1. Horrible intercom service. Its almost impossible to connect to either the restaurant or reception or housekeeping over the intercom.
2. There is a place called Aamtala that you need to cross to reach PunyaLakshmi from Kolkata which would surely make you cry. It would take approx. 45 mins to cross that stretch.
3. Entry to the hotel is very narrow.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the Hoogly on the first and second floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basav_Mitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Harbour
0.9 mi away
Hotel Girish
Hotel Girish
#1 of 1 in Diamond Harbour
10 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
320 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel East Coast
Hotel East Coast
#1 of 4 in Haldia
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Rajbari Bawali
The Rajbari Bawali
#31 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
103 reviews
24.2 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#184 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
25 reviews
23.7 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#1 of 6 in Howrah
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punyalakshmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punyalakshmi

Address: Beside Punyalakshmi Garden, Diamond Harbour 74731, India
Location: India > West Bengal > South 24 Parganas District > Diamond Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Harbour
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Hotel Punyalakshmi Diamond Harbour, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing