We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience - beyond expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Punyalakshmi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Punyalakshmi
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good experience - beyond expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had amazingly good experience here. It is located JUST on the Ganges with huge lawn. The lawn is very breezy throughout the day - ideal place for relaxation. Rooms are big, clean and well maintained. Has lot of choices in food. Service is very good.
The only area of improvement I would like to spell out is, the swimming pool. Though it is apparently clean, the water is not circulated / cleaned on regular basis. Also, we saw many people are entering the pool wearing regular garments, which is unhygenic.

Room Tip: Try to get room 301 or 401. These are bigger and better view of Ganges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debashis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    97
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
125
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

It is amazing how close this resort is to Kolkata. From my house in Saltlake it's only a 60km drive. The hotel is value for money - with an excellent view of the Hoogly river, a nice swimming pool, play area for Kids, AC Rooms and a good functional restaurant. nothing fancy, but is a great place to cool off, especially during the summer weekends. We wer six families who stayed there last week of April, and really loved it.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the top floor (401, 402, 403 and 404)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnimitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went for a day trip few days back to Diamond Harbor, and to beat the heat, we checked in to Punyalakshmi Hotel. According to me, it's one of the best place to spend the weekend near Kolkata. Though the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main road, it is quiet and the location (beside the river) is unique. Got a well maintained lawn with swimming pool and baby pool, which are maintained too. They have placed some seating arrangements strategically beside the river. The food price is reasonable and also consist a bar. They are also expanding the property with some two storied buildings.

Try the river facing rooms, 2nd or 3rd floor.

The only problem we faced is when we tried to order for the lunch at 2 pm, they told us that they can't serve it right now, because the restaurant is closed. But we found that the bar is open and they were serving some sort of food. Their service is bit not upto the mark.

Room Tip: 2nd floor river facings rooms are the best, if not available you can opt for the 3rd floor river fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went for an overnight stay at this resort, during the weekend. We chose this property due to the positive feedback that we received about the same.

It took about 1:30hrs from metropolitan Kolkata to reach here. Once we got into the place, it started turning out to be a real pleasure. Each moment here exposed a truely professional and well managed resort. Frankly speaking, I was not expecting such professionalism in this remote area. Right for the upkeep of the property, behaviour of the reception and well-mannered staff, everything was a delight. The promoters have made sure that they have left a huge place open converted it to a amazing garden. The property is just over the Hooghly. Also there are two smal porticos at the garden, which are suspended over the Hooghly.

I am categorizing further details as follows.

1) HOW to REACH: The place is located on the NH117. It is about 40kms from Behala Chowrasta, about 1kms from the Diamond Harbor Railway station. Hence this place is reachable both by train or by road. Best would be to arrange for your own conveyance.

2) RESERVATIONS: Please get the numbers from the hotel website and make sure that you have reservations very well in advance, in case you are planning to visit on weekends. On the weekdays, you may still take a chance of booking at spot.

3) ROOMS to LOOK for: First thing, as for river facing rooms. In case that is unavailable. all other rooms are well located with various degrees of river-view. Avoid top floor rooms during summers. Even A/c are unable to cool too well due to the heat.

4) FOODING: They have a multicuisine menu, but they tend to run out of stock. I remember in our case, we ordered Prawns. At 9:30pm, they advised us that they had run out of stock. We had to settle for fish then. Else, food is very good and reasonable.

5) BEVERAGE: Apart for the regular soft drinks, they have a healthy stock of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. You will get both high-end foreign brands and local Indian produce too. My advise is, the mocktails are still amateur. You sometimes may feel that they have served sugar-syrup drink!!

6) OTHER AMENITIES: They have a decently equipped gym and a modest but clean swimming pool. Conference facilities are also available. They also accept cards for payments.

7) IF YOU ARE ADVENTUROUS: Then take a ride across the mighty Hooghly on the local ferries. They are not available for booking. They are for local passengers. One end-to-end trip may take 1:30hrs. Try this if you have time. ;)

FINAL RATING: Please feel free to explore this place without any concern. I stayed here for a night. But I guess 2nights 3days would have been ideal to enjoy the place. One thing is, this place is not in Raichal per say. Proper Raichak is still about 15kms further from here.

Room Tip: Though the architect has done his best to provide river-view from all the rooms, however the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chandrachoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I guess this Hotel has the best scenic view.
Extremely well maintained garden.
Small, clean well maintained and a cute Swimming pool.
Along with a Cute smaller pool meant for the kids.
It is strategically located right on the banks of the river where the river touches its boundary/ wall during the high tide.
In spite of being near the Main road is quite disconnected to it hence providing a peaceful atmosphere.
People who drive in have a parking facility and for those who do no drive in from Kolkata, Its location is very convenient and walking distance from the Diamond Harbor Railway station.
There is a small walk way along the river bank right outside the hotel main gate. This is again quite clean and peaceful.
The Garden landscape is extremely well maintained.

Rooms are standard nothing exceptional but yes they are quite clean.

One strange fact was for a double bedded room they had provided only one thin blanket ...
isn't it logical to provide two for a room meant for two people..?
Food/Restaurant
Food is good and reasonable priced.
A strange fact that we were told the tandoor was closed hence no tandoor items available like as naan etc.
And another strange fact They did not provide salt and pepper along with soup, probably they are not used to it because on asking for it it took a long time for them to serve that, by that time the soup had been consumed and secondly they did not provide it in a salt and pepper container, rather in two small bowls. Any any one can make it out as per logic that they did not have that container and were not used to serving it.

Staff is polite too.
Location is great for people who are into photography, specially those into nature photography.
The garden and river proximity provides ample scope for photo enthusiasts to click sunset and river landscape during the sunset.
A good place for picnic and to spend a relaxing day or two with friends / family and for the creative artists like writers etc some peaceful time alone.

Room Tip: 3rd floor river facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leochirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We went to Punyalakshmi Hotel for a weekend trip with family on 11th Feb 2012. The location is great. We were in room no. 403 and 404. From the room you can have a breathtaking view of the river. The room is spacious. I found the toilet little small. The hotel has small swimming pool. The pool is maintained well. Kids will enjoy a dip in the pool. The garden is landscaped and well manicured. More buildings are coming up, which is not good for people who love to spend their weekend in peace and tranquility. The hotel staffs are well behaved. Restaurant food is good although menu food especially the tandoor items were not available as we were told that this was consumed by a big group which had come from a corporate house on an outing. Overall enjoyed the hospitality. The lift is from "Adams" and little noisy. Overall, the hotel is value for money and will love to visit again. Those who are interested in swimming pool should carry swim costume as they do not allow people without proper attire. They also rent out swimming costume which may not be hygienic. Its a nice place to laze around.

Areas of improvement - They should have smoking and non smoking room. We are located on the top floor and people down below were heavy smokers as a result the cigarette smell was coming up in our balcony and was inconveniencing us.

Room Tip: Pls choose room no. 403 and 404. You will get amazing view of the river. From room no. 404 you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainloverKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I had been in this hotel for a family picnic on January 26th this year. Its about 45 kms drive from Kolkata, takes 1.5 hrs by car. Bus and train connectivity is also there. Hardly 15 minutes rickshaw ride from Diamond Hurbour railway station or bus stop. The approach roads of both direction are extremely narrow. But as soon as we reached the hotel, its totally amazing. The landscaping of garden is nicely done. The hotel is overlooking the river. Rooms are relatively bigger, there is a scope for improvement of interiors of the rooms. Swimming pools are very small. Gym is there too.
Food they served were very tasty and reasonably priced. The presentation can be improved. Ample of parking space is there. Construction work is being going on without affecting boarders. However, we are satisfied with their service and facilities. Billing system is also fast and satisfactory.
Punyalaksmi Hotel is a nice place for weekend stay, value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor river facing rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshisRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Harbour
0.9 mi away
Hotel Girish
Hotel Girish
#1 of 1 in Diamond Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ffort Raichak
The Ffort Raichak
#1 of 2 in Raichak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel East Coast
Hotel East Coast
#1 of 4 in Haldia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#176 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
23.7 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#1 of 6 in Howrah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ganga Kutir Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punyalakshmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punyalakshmi

Property: Hotel Punyalakshmi
Address: Beside Punyalakshmi Garden, Diamond Harbour 74731, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Diamond Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Hotel Punyalakshmi Diamond Harbour, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing