We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but charge is little high”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ashok Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kalapettai
1 review
“Good but charge is little high”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have plan to spend our in any beach resort so we select Ashok .rooms are average only but charge was little high but beach side view is excellent swimming pool is very clean garden is pleasant to look out side maintainence was very good but inside the blanket was little muddy because of beach sand.breakfast was good many varieties it was compliment children play area was good.my children's are not in mood to leave pool and vacate the room entirely it is fun loving trip for my children's according to us it was good that's all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    46
    13
    18
See reviews for
64
21
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Charges for rooms are not worth the money.

Rooms are spacious with nice view to the ocean and you can enjoy the sound of the ocean but the overall maintenance and service is just average.

Leaky taps, bad cable connection, poor wifi connectivity and bandwidth, untidy corridors, pale towels are just few things among many which disappointed me as far as hotel brand is concerned.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was there along with my colleagues and friends for a weekend stay. Best thing I liked about the resort is its access to clean beach, which is just a stone throw away from the room. The staff are courteous and very helpful. They also have a huge lawn with options for outdoor games and a well maintained swimming pool, we all had good fun enjoying the evening outdoors. I would rate the food as average. The only draw back was that the toilets in the rooms were very badly maintained to the level that wash basin was cracked and could fall down any moment. If they consider maintaining it better, it could easily be one of the most sought after places in Pondicherry considering its apt location and proximity to clean beach.

Room Tip: By choosing rooms in the ground floor, you can directly walk to the beach from your room balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here during new year period. Just like any other govt. hotel it's location is excellent. Welcome in the reception very warm and everything was going perfect till we entered the room. We paid approx. INR 6 K Per night on bed and breakfast, and the room condition was horrible. Stained bedsheet, tv remote not working and wall paint all peeling off from the wall. In fact, you will get better room 1 star hotel rather than this so called five star hotel. But it was peak period and we wanted to stay at the beach resort with lots of space. However, staff were very prompt and they changed the bedsheet and changed the remote immediately.

The balcony of the room opened in the lawn followed by beach. Food was very good and reasonably priced and the restaurant is sea facing.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing higher category ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annugautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. All staff very friendly, room fine, restaurant good. (On TV could have done with more English-language channels, but wasn't really here to stay in and watch the the television!) Free wifi in lobby worked well. A/C in the room worked well and was not particularly noisy.
Be aware this hotel is not near the centre of Pondy - it is about 15 minutes away by taxi. Not necessarily a bad thing. Nice in a way to be slightly outside. There isn't really anything much to see immediately outside the hotel so for food it's the hotel itself or a cab into town.
Pool is a very welcome addition and well maintained. Although there is a beach, it is not really for sunbathing on - when we were there, there were fishermen camped and living on it. But nice for a stroll.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were 48 people from our office M/s Rishi Madhur & Co.
All rooms were sea facing and air conditioned and in very good position (well maintained).

Big conference hall, nice play area, lobby and dining area. We enjoyed the Dinner in the lawn with lightning and music.

Everything was very good, food was more than average.

We enjoyed the sun rise on the beach.

Only thing we missed the swimming pool and shower near the beach. It was not there at that time (under construction).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rekha0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for the great support and hospitality extended to me and my family during my stay at your hotel on December 23-24, 2012.

Apart for a very friendly and supporting team at your hotel to all my needs, the wonderful gifts given to my daughter on our departure was a very pleasant and deeply cherished surprise!!

Mr. Basha and Mr. Kartick deserve a special mention for their support and coordination.

Thanks a lot once again for the memorable experience we had during our stay at Pondicherry and we will relish it all our lives!!

Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalapettai
3.1 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
15.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#40 of 77 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok Beach Resort

Property: The Ashok Beach Resort
Address: East Coast Road | Kalapet Beach, Kalapettai 605014, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Kalapettai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kalapettai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach resort having sea view for all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Ashok Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashok Beach Hotel Kalapettai
Hotel Pondicherry Ashok
The Ashok Beach Resort Union Territory Of Pondicherry, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing