We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

My husband and I went to the Island for a wedding. The wedding actually took place here at Secret Harbour, however we were the only attendants to actually stay there. We found the resort to be very pleasant. The staff was super friendly, the condo was excellent, and the location was ideal. The wedding was on the beach and was so romantic. The other guests (as well as the bride and groom) saw our room and commented that they should have stayed there as well!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shellyewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    290
    80
    43
    24
See reviews for
192
410
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2005

I just returned from a 5-day stay at Secret Harbor, where my cousin got married on the beach. I rated this resort "Above Average" because I am reticent to rate anything "EXCELLENT". But this resort was close. The rooms were beautiful and very well kept. The BLUE MOON Cafe was far above what I expected...the food was great, overlooks the beach; the service could be a bit faster but we never missed anything because of it.

Two words of advice...don't be deceived by the photos of the resort. ALL buildings (1 through 4) are right on top of the beach so you can feel secure no matter where you are. And second, DO NOT LOSE ROOM-SAFE KEY, or forget to return it....$125 for that little error.

But go and love every minute.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOME
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2005

We just got back last week from Secret Harbour, our stay was wonderful. The beach, condo, pool were really enjoyable. I can't wait to go back, only I can't recommend the restaurant for dinner, the meal was presentable, the the taste was not. Breakfast and lunch were fine, skip dinner. The service was outstanding, only bad thing that happened was that our building got hit by lightning and we lost phone service. Not the fault of the hotel.

They put on a nice little Manager's cocktail party on Tuesday with drinks and snacks, and a little music. Our room was beautiful, we enjoyed the balcony that overlooked the beach and the bay. I could have sat there all day. Also this place has the best snorkeling on the island. A nice protected cove, we walked out on the dock and saw all kinds of fish without getting wet. The rooms were nicely furnished with a stocked kitchen with appliances for your use. We enjoyed the blender, it got a workout for tropical drinks.
I will definately go back next year.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jddslucas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2005

First off, some thoughts about reviews. Use a rule from statistics when you have a good number of them like here on Secret Harbour. Throw out the 2 or 3 worst and likewise throw out the 2 or 3 over-the-top positive ones, and you are more likely to get an more accurate idea of what the place is like. That compensates for those reviews that may be written for less than reputable reasons on both sides of the equation.

We stayed at Secret Harbour first week of April. While it isn’t the Ritz (and doesn’t pretend to be), there is something to be said for:

• a beautiful beach 30 feet from your clean spacious room and from your own cold drinks, water, snacks, and bathroom (BTW if the toilet water still looks a bit funky after you flush, it is because it uses environmentally friendly recycled gray water)

• awesome sunsets

• a nice bar and very good restaurant attached to the resort (Blue Moon) that is a 200 foot walk down the beach

• hammocks hanging from palm tress to lay in and read about 300 pages a day in that great book you brought with you

• very good snorkeling right off the beach with fish, coral, and yes, SEA TURTLES

A short story that captures our stay here: first night at Secret Harbour, we walk down to Blue Moon. In the bar area, a singer is playing steel drums with backing bass/drum synthesizer machine. We do the app/bar menu at a table in the outdoor bar area to dig the music. We enjoy conch chowder, shrimp, salad, and my daughter has a killer cheeseburger and fries with a virgin strawberry daiquiri. Among others, the singer does Marley and a beautiful version of Clapton’s “Wonderful Tonight”. Found out his name is Andrew and he plays 2x week at Secret Harbour. Very nice.

We walk back to room 214. I climb into a beach hammock just outside the room. My daughter climbs on, we enjoy the palms and stars overhead, she cuddles up, and falls asleep in about 3 minutes. I take a few minutes to give thanks and cherish the moment before I too fall asleep.

Magic stuff in my book.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank jmackq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2005

We just returned from Secret Harbor in Saint Thomas and had a wonderful time. I did a ton of research trying to find the best location at our price for my husband and our two children (4 1/2 and 2). We stayed in room 223 and it overlooked the beach. Our son told his grandmother the beach was in his backyard.

The resort is basically like staying at a condo or apartment. The room had everything you needed for cooking which definitely saves you money. Cable TV was good. Our room was a one bedroom suite. That was all the space we needed. We had a pull out couch and used a crib for our daughter. The crib was not the best but it served its purpose.

The snorkeling from the beach is outstanding. We saw just about every fish at Coral World right in the water at Secret Harbor. We ate dinner at the Blue Moon Cafe and the food was very good. (was a little pricey though). The other time we ate there we ate at the outside bar area, ordered off of the appetizer/bar menu, watched the sunset and saved $50. The sunsets there are tremendous.


We did rent a car and it was fun but a little scary at times. But then we were not restrained to having to get a taxi to go anywhere. We went to town, traveled the island, took the car ferry to St John, drove to Redhook, Magan's, Coki, Mountaintop, everywhere we wanted.

All in all, if you want to travel to St Thomas for some good weather, good beaches, amazing snorkeling, and great food (but do not need posh accomodations) then this is the place for you. And everyone is so nice! Great for families and couples. It is definitely not the Ritz but then again you are not paying Ritz prices.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2005

Just returned from a 6-day stay. Booked this hotel based on reviews here and was not disappointed. Went as a family gathering for 22 people divided into 6 rooms. So we saw a variety of rooms, from handicapped accessible beachfront, beachfront one bedroom, oceanview studio and oceanview one bedroom. All were comfortable, clean and had a great view. Note that the climb to the oceanview rooms is quite steep and takes about 10 minutes to walk to the beach. The oceanview rooms also had loud individual air conditioning units, where the beachfront had quiet central air. Worth the extra money to stay at the beachfront as they were more updated along with being close to the beach! The staff is wonderful and accommodating. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs and great snorkeling. Enjoyed eating here and in Red Hook as it was close. (Driving on the left was challenging!) Molly Malone's had decent food and fun entertainment! Not much activity at this resort. Plan to create your own fun!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JerseyGirl5088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

Just spent 5 nights at Secret Harbor and it was better than expected. I was not really believing the name "Secret Harbor" but the name fits. The beach and the water are really protected. So So convenient if you like snorkeling. Really great snorkeling. It is a protected area, a wildlife park, and I saw sea turtles, so many fish from the very small to some really big ones, all dossile!

The resort is not much better than a Holiday Inn. There were exposed electrical wires and the smoke detectors were missing. The restaurant is very very good but overpriced, welcome to the islands.

But the biggest ripoff is the taxi's. They charge a flat fee per person. $4.00 to go to Red Hook (you really cannot walk it, it is very dangerous on the curvy and hilly roads) $4.00 does not sound bad but a family of 4 going to town for dinner is $32.00 round trip. To down town that would be $9.00 pp or $72.00 round trip. Still, don't rent a car...I navagated Ireland with no problems but here, forget it! Call a taxi driver I found a really reliable and friendly guy 640-643-5683 his name is "Chop" and you won't be disappointed.

All in all you will enjoy and be glad you stayed at Secret Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
1.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing