We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

When the cruise ships are in the beach is inundated with tourists. The beach is a
public beach but the argument can be made that the access is over private property.
The property’s beach attends do a great job of policing those rules that are posted.
The infra structure (restroom facilities and parking lot) was not intended to handle the
amount of traffic that the tour guides are dumping on the property.

All of that aside, this is the second time I have stayed and I will probably return.
The grounds and beach are meticulously maintained and the beach attendants
do a great job and are always very personable and helpful (Wil and Troy).
The front dest is always helpful and polite. It was great to see Margret again.

The rooms are all beach front with beautiful sunset views. All are privately owned
and are decorated differently. All are very well kept.

The beach bar and restaurant could be a destination. Good food and service abound.

Kevin, Keep up the great job you and your team are doing!

Room Tip: Building #1 is next to the bar.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review! Secret Harbour is ecstatic to have you as a return guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future. You are correct about our beautiful beach being busy right now. All beaches in the Virgin Islands are public so we cannot restrict traffic only try to control it. To our understanding, a neighboring resort, under new management, closed part of its property so some taxis are temporarily shifty here. We do not anticipate that this will be happening for long. We do appreciate our relaxed and tranquil tropical paradise. Thank you again for staying with us. Please hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Secret Harbour Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 923 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I selected Secret Harbor due to the many rave reviews on trip advisor and also for location. The water was amazing with great snorkeling right off the beach. Room was appointed with everything you would need if you wanted to cook in. Daily service kept the room supplied with plenty of towels and very sweet attendant put fresh local flowers in the room for a nice touch. Between the two restaurants in site we did not leave the resort the entire 6 days. They move on island speed with service however so don't be in a rush to eat. Just be patient and relax. LOVED this place. Entire staff very friendly. Get to the beach by about 10 each day to ensure a chair and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank In2l84cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My worst experience was to wake up in the middle of the night and find a mouse in the kitchen, actually near the cookers (it disappered quickly back to the hole of one of the electric cookers). Even worse was the solution provided by the staff, a white and red trap placed on the floor where my 3-year old son was running and playing...
No additional help or question was posed to check if the accident was somehow under control. By the way, the trap remained on the floor without "visitors" until the end of our stay.
I must add that service and cleaning in the apartment was very poor and used to be done at different times during the day. One day I had to ask for it because it was still missing at 5 p.m.
Last note, reception staff told us to be at the lobby around 6.30 a.m. to call a taxi for the airport on the day of our departure, we did but we found it was closed until 7.00 a.m. We found by chance an attendant in the outside area who helped us by calling the taxi and taking our apartment keys to be given later to the reception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Good morning Monica. Secret Harbour sincerely apologizes for the disconcerting presence of a mouse. We have scheduled and documented pest control practices and typically do not experience this kind of issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have shared your comments with management, housekeeping and customer service and the issues will be addressed. We are pleased that you thought our location was good. We hope you and your family enjoyed the beach, snorkeling, water sports and warm weather during your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Secret Harbour beach resort

Traveled with my husband during Thanksgiving week. It was short 4 days escape from cold NY weather. We truly enjoyed our little vacation on the beach.
For price and value Secret Harbour is very good.

Pros:
On the beach
Lots of palm trees on the beach, which is beautiful & provides extra shade
Easy & friendly check-in/check out
The staff (almost every one) was friendly, helpful, and unpretentious. Kevin, general manager, always seemed to be around and he seems to be genially interested in making sure all guests are comfortable & happy.
Beach is lovely! (But its not the best beach in the world: we loved much more Turks & Caicos’ beach)
We took advantage of complimentary use of boats and it was fun
Weather was great at the end of November, not too hot.
The food at both restaurant and bar was consistently good (I believe the chef is the same).
Room was spacious and quite clean, simply but tastefully decorated (see photos)
Gorgeous view from the living room and balcony. Every morning we enjoyed drinking coffee on our balcony and looking at the ocean. Beautiful!
Close to ferry and the grocery store (quick taxi ride for $5 per person)

Cons:
Although we were told at check-in that we would get renovated room, our room was a bit outdated (wears and tears here and there). We stayed at #235.

Bathroom is tiny. Water pressure in the shower a bit weak.

Our bedroom was quite dark, had to keep the light on even during the day. Windows are very sick and absolutely no view. Usually, when on Caribbean vacation, we love to enjoy beautiful view from our bedroom windows and listen to the ocean at night. We tried to sleep on a sofa bed in our living room (which had fantastic view) but sofa bed wasn’t comfortable at all. (Our bed in our bedroom was very comfortable though!)

Overall, we had an amazing beach vacation at Secret Harbour. And we loved the island. Comparing to other islands, we noticed that local people in general on Virgin Island are much tourist-friendlier (than for instance, on St. Martin). Everyone (taxi drivers, clerks in the stores, etc. ) were helpful. The island is very green and beautiful. We plan to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This property is on undoubtedly one of the prettiest beaches on the island with wonderful snorkeling. Unfortunately the management is now encouraging taxi vans bringing in large numbers of cruise ship guests and it's no longer the delightful, relaxing spot it used to be. It's become noisy and overcrowded and is no longer the same experience for guests staying at the resort.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Fionausvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGG-mktg, Public Relations Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review FionaUSVI. We appreciate you sharing that Secret Harbour has one of the prettiest beaches on the island. Thank you! We apologize that you were inconvenienced by the cruise ship guests while you were visiting our beach. All beaches in the USVI are public and Secret Harbour cannot deny visitors. Please understand that resort management is not encouraging taxi drivers to bring cruise ship guests - the resort only makes money on rooms. That said, it may be possible that Sunset Grille, the resort's restaurant partner may be encouraging taxi's. We will bring your comment to Sunset Grille's attention. Your comments and patronage as a visitor and guest are important to the entire Secret Harbour team. We look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cool place to take a taxi from the cruise ships for a less crowded experience. We enjoyed a paddle board rental, nice public beach with decent snorkeling. Excellent ma-hi tacos at the restaurant. One of the best drinks I have ever had (peanut butter bushwhacker). Good service from a waitress who is easy on the eyes.

Chair rentals and dive shop on premises. It appeared that many locals were hanging out here by mooring their boats, just off the beach. I would go back here in a minute and I am very picky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank koozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I would give this five stars but we got a condo that had some problems. It is not that the condo was terrible--it simply was not on par with the rest of the experience. Here is why you should go to this resort even with the possibility that you might have a so-so living space: there is no better beach on St. Thomas. We have been to this island before and did some searching this time and we just kept coming back to the Secret Harbour beach. Also, the service is great, the rentals are easy and cheap and the reef and snorkeling are awesome. Lots and lots of gorgeous fish right off the beach. The view from our condo also was to die for and the food at the two restaurants is surprisingly good, much better than the restaurants we tried outside the resort. My husband and I had a really fun time with our two teenagers who turned 13 and 17 on the trip. The condo was spacious and laid out well, as I say, the balcony was great. Here were the couple of problems with the condo: the bedspread on the master bed was pretty gross; it needed washing, as did the couch cushions. The handle in the shower broke off the first night we were there and the resort sent up a guy who sort of fixed it, mostly what he did was show us how to work around a shower handle that was broken (which we had to deal with for the rest of the week). There was a ten gallon hot water heater so not a whole lot of hot water and it really didn't get completely hot. We did not run the airconditioning but the people next door did and their a/c noise was very loud in our space. It was like having a jet engine running outside your door. Because the condos are owned individually and rented out, there is some variability in the quality, so if you get a good condo, I imagine that it would be an all around perfect experience. Really, aside from these minor issues with the quality of the condo, it was the best vacation we ever had. The resort is very very good and we definitely will go back as soon as possible. Highly recommend it! (N.B.: definitely get a car rental unless you plan to stay at the resort the entire time without venturing into Red Hook or beyond.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
1,226 reviews
7.4 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range: $312 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing