We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkel heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkel heaven”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a hotel that we could relax but with still enough to do so we wouldnt have to travel around too much. The rooms were clean and newly renovated efficiencies with great views from our balcony. There are two restaurants, one casual beach bar...the grilled shrimp wrap was a favorite.. And an elegant open aired fancy restaurant for a romantic dinner, which did not disappoint. So far Secret Harbour fit the bill for our needs....but OMG the beach, the calm beautiful water was like swimming in a fish tank! Beautiful assorted tropical fish are right there off the beach, but you can rent snorkel gear at the surf shop and tool around the protected harbour to see the underwater seascape and abundant aquatic life. it was a snorkel heaven and as good as any exursion place out there! This is not a not high service hotel, but highly recommend it for families or couples on a budget! We loved it and can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerrypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    304
    82
    43
    25
See reviews for
208
423
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to an oceanfront room upon arrival which was incredible! Right on the beach beautiful sunsets, food at two adjoining restaurants were a little high but understandable since they import everything

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nbruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Secret Harbor Apr 25 to May 4, 2013. This is our second trip to Secret Harbor and would come again. We stayed on the ground level this time steps to the water! Everything was very clean and nice. The beach was great with beautiful views and the snorkeling is very good! Its nice to have the restaurant close by (great fish tacos and the jalo peno poppers were assume) Groceries are expensive so bring lots of $. The only problem we had was we got bit by some no-see-ums that we didnt even realize were bitting us. We wish someone would have told us about them and we would of been more aware and used some bug spray. We are still itching from them (But the trip was worth the itch)!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENEE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our number one concern was a beautiful beach with great snorkeling, which was why we booked Secret Harbour. Before arrival I requested a renovated room. Upon arrival, the desk clerk (Rhonda - very nice and funny!), told us that a renovated beachfront studio wasn't available so she was upgrading us at no charge to a renovated 1 bedroom beachfront unit. Works for us! Check-in was a breeze. The front desk appeared renovated and nice. We got to our room only to find that it appeared straight out of 1980. This did not appear updated in any way, shape, or form. It was clean and sufficient, but definitely not what we requested and were told we would get. We were tired at that point from traveling, so called the front desk the next day and they switched us to a renovated unit. This one had granite countertops, upgraded kitchen and bathroom, etc. The AC worked great, internet worked well enough, and everything was clean. The beach and snorkeling was fantastic. We saw tons of fish and even a few stingrays (VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bwTTPGrw37U ). Checkout was simple and straightforward. Overall it was a good stay at Secret Harbour. It's a bit rough around the edges - definitely not upscale, but that's not what I expected. All staff we encountered were nice and friendly. The dive shop was great, as was the restaurant (overpriced, average food in my opinion.) A recommendation - definitely stay beachfront, and try for building number 2. It's away from the restaurants, but closest to the beach. Building 1 is too close to the restaurants, while buildings 3 and 4 sit up higher than the beach (but wouldn't be too bad). Definitely try for building 2! Oh, and the beds in BOTH units were hard as a rock! The mattresses were firm, firm, firm - like sleeping on a board! 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtopheralan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Secret Harbor two weeks ago and really enjoyed our stay! The rooms are individually owned so no two are alike! I liked our second room better. We stayed in beachfront rooms which I would recommend! You could always find a lounge chair, the snorkeling is pretty good, the restaurant on site Sunset Grill is awesome! We ate in the Grill not the fancier restaurant. Red Hook is only a mile away great shops and restaurants! We went to Coki Beach pretty beach but crowded with cruise people!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in beachfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwaight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We joined a large group of family and friends for a wedding- about 50 people- so no matter where we turned we knew someone. The wait staff at both the grille and the restaurant were attentive to our large group and we hardly had to ask for anything! The entire resort staff were friendly and personable. Room sizes, decor, and conditions varied- but none were below a standard where anyone wanted to change a room. Our only complaint was that the salt water toilet smelled different- but on vacation- we aren't exactly spending a lot of time worrying about a toilet. Each day a very friendly maid asked if we needed anything, and if we weren't available she left us clean towels. The restaurants both were small, with limited but great quality food selections. There is certainly attention to the quality of each meal, and selections were fresh and made with consistency- nobody ever received a poor quality meal. The bar had a HUGE selection of domestic and imported liquor and we had a great time selecting a different flavor of rum and letting the bartender concoct something cold and delicious. The absolute best aspect of this resort is the beautiful beach. There was plenty of room for everyone, with plenty of lounge chairs.'the beach was never crowded. It looked like only resort guests were there. The snorkeling and sea life directly off the beach was amazing! Thousands of fish and animal life- our highlight was seeking the sea turtles that were close enough to shore that a brief swim brought you face to face with them. We enjoyed every minute of this vacation and look forward to going back! This place is straight out of a Jimmy Buffet song!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Clean room and property, friendly helpful staff, excellent food and drinks but very expensive. Need shuttle to airport as taxis are horribly expensive. Paid $85 round trip, also $25 to go less than a mile to get grocery one day and to st.John ferry another.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
707 reviews
4.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing