We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Secret Harbour 12/27/12-1/2/13. In all, there were three families in our group. We noticed that the quality of the individual condos varies greatly from one unit to the next. Of the three rentals, our condo was a solid middle of the road choice. It was nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. Our kitchen was well supplied, we had two working TV's and one that didn't produce any sound in another bedroom. Our first impression of the unit was not good, however. We found a cup with an apple core on a shelf in the living room that was covered in ants. My 13 year old son found drug paraphernalia in a dresser drawer, and one of the toilets was not flushed and not clean. After this initial impression, the housekeeping service was very good.
We seemed to have a shortage of hot water, which made shower taking a challenge at times. One of the toilets in our units ran constantly, and we did have an issue with ants in the unit....probably common in all the units.
The beach here is beautiful and the snorkeling was very good. The Aqua Action Center provided excellent service. The front desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. As I recall y'all had 3 rooms so I hope it was apparent that we try to maintain the highest levels of housekeeping service. I can assure you the isues you had were an anomaly and I apologize. It has been addressed since then. I also appreciate you mentioning the maintenance issues. We are striving to get all of the units up to the level of the other two your family stayed in and this information is extremely helpful. We hope you all enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    276
    72
    41
    24
See reviews for
174
376
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
498 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Secret Harbour is condo rentals, all units have a kitchen. various size units are available.
The beach is beautiful - quiet, clean, the water is gorgeous and the off-the-beach snorkeling is among the best on St Thomas. Great for families!
Aqua Action diving, etc., offers many rentals on the beach.
This is not a hotel, and that was fine with us. But if you are looking for hotel amenities, or nightlife, this is not for you.
The units do vary considerably since they are privately owned, but management does maintain a high standard of quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either on the beach or half way up the hill to limit your climb. A second or third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel is not "5 stars" with grand entrance ways, marble stairs, etc but the hotel rooms are very large and the beach was beautiful. What more could you need? We had an ocean view suite in building 7- One bedroom, one bath with double vanity, large living room, full kitchen, and outdoor patio. The sunset was gorgeous. Not a bad room in the whole resort.

Pros:
-Located on the East end of the island away from the hustle and bustle of Charlotte Amalie
-Secret Harbour provides easy access to the ferry to St. John located in Red Hook
-Beach was beautiful and very well kept. Towels, beach lounge chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks are provided for Secret Harbour guests.
-There are 2 restaurants located at the resort: One was Sunset Grille which is fine dining and one is Cruzan Beach with more of a laid back, come as you are and eat a fish sandwich, hamburger, pizza, etc. They also serve guests on the beach during the day. Travis was a great server; always ready to go get us another drink! Every meal = delicious.
-The Aqua Action Dive Center is available at the resort where you can rent snorkel gear, paddle boards, scuba dive equipment and buy t-shirts, sunscreen, etc. Diane was extremely nice and let us keep our snorkel gear until after hours since we took it to St. John to snorkel in Waterlemon (highly recommend!)
-Jester Sailing is located in this harbour so it was very convenient to wake up and sail with Captain Jim for the day. He took us to beaches on St. John you can only get to by boat or hiking as well as a great snorkeling Cay. He has all the equipment. Also, his lunch is delicious. Must do--Book your reservations!

Cons:
-Chance of cold water during your shower BUT once we called, they fixed it and it was great the rest of the trip.
-The beds were harder than I am used to but after long days of activities, I was so exhausted you barely notice.
-Breakfast was fairly expensive so we ended up going to the Food Center about 5 minutes from the resort and picking up some breakfast items. It was great having a full kitchen. Also, we would eat dinner and take the left overs home for lunch some days. Very convenient.
-Mosquitos are out to bite beginning at sunset. Be prepared with bug spray.

Loved our stay & got engaged on this trip! Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keme0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted you liked our little spot and would love to have you back. PS- We do gorgeous weddings :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent four short nights at the resort and it was everything we hoped for. I spent a couple of months looking online where to go in St Thomas and could not have been happier with Secret Harbor. We stayed in building 4, which I have to recommend due to its slightly elevated position which allows for amazing views, and a little privacy, while still being right on the beach. The restaurant was top notch! the service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. We arrived 10/12/12 and left 10/16, there was one tropical storm that just missed us to the north, but caused a little storm activity but for the most part it was mostly sunny with the occasional fast traveling group of clouds that gave some welcome shade. We want to return in the spring to stay longer and partake of more snorkeling, shopping, lounging,.. ect.

Room Tip: if you are going there for the beach, get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were celebrating our 25 yr anniversary. We had a great time on the Virgin Islands, We were a little concerned beforehand about Secret Harbour because of some negatives reviews, but we had a very nice experience there. We stayed on the hillside condo unit (#621) and had an awesome view of Nazareth Bay and the sunset. We enjoyed snorkeling here, it is among the best on the island. Also, they have a Dive shop and went out on two boat dives. (The dive boat team were great!) The room had a full kitchen and we got some groceries and enjoyed some meals from our balcony. (Choose 'Food Center' over Marina Market for better price/selection) The resturant has servers out on the beach, getting you food (very tasty) and drink brought to your lounge chair. Very Nice. The location is great as we went to St John & BVI out of nearby Redhook ferry. Can't wait to return to the Virgin Islands and Secret Harbour.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the hill are quieter, being away from the bar & grill"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A-Monty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront 1 bedroom suite. The room was spacious, clean, had a nice view. Bathroom could have used a little updating. Kitchen was fine. Pool is not oceanside, so didn't use it. The Snorkeling off the resort was probably some of the best on the island (without a boatride that is); Close to town. Resort bar and restaurant were good. Staff was enjoyable. One day we did not have room service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnovakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at a beachfront 1-bedroom condo in building#3 - great view, comfortable accommodations with deck view of harbour, but - and this is my fault for not complaining right away to management - the shower only delivered cool water during most of our brief stay. We were too busy having fun to go register a complaint! (and the water heater was replaced the day after I complained). Secret Harbour's grounds are lovely and well maintained, service is great, there was none of the beach chair reservation issue I've seen at other resorts, the food in the restaurant was exceptional (although a bit pricey) and the bar food is good too. The full kitchen in the beach front condo allowed us to balance this by eating some meals in. And there is good (not great) snorkeling right off the beach.
Advice:
(1) Bring or buy some bug repellant - I have extremely itchy bites all over from the no-see-ums.
(2) After pricing this resort as a package (airfare+room) I then compared buying airfare from airline and calling Secret Harbour directly for a room price - and I got a much better deal this way (saved almost $500). Maybe this was because we traveled in early December when there are fewer travelers (so better deals) but the comparison is probably worth your time.
(3) Do your own arithmetic about rental cars vs. cabs. We took cabs the few times we wanted to go to Red Hook (for shopping, for dinner, to take the ferry to BVI) because our vacation was more about chilling out at a lovely place than driving around. If we'd rented a car for the week, we would have spent +$300 instead we spent less than half that (about $130) in cab fares - IMO a better way to support the local economy.
(4) We purchased some food at the Marina Market in Red Hook - for selection/price we should probably have gone to Food Center instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MizManagementVI, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Sorry about the chilly water! Glad it got fixed quickly for you. Thank you for the compliments as well- we are constantly trying to improve the property and are glad its noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
1.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing