We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$203
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gallows Point Resort(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$475
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mafolie Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
$202
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
472
305
83
44
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
472
305
83
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopaqua actionst thomascruzan beach clubfull kitchengreat snorkelingoctopusbedroom condogrocery storebeach barcalm waterscharlotte amalielounge chairsclear waterduffy's love shackcolorful fishno see ums
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 929 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Secret Harbor in March 2012. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a beachfront unit, so glad we were. We would likely not have enjoyed our stay as much had we been away from the beach. The staff was nice. We did not have hot water the first day, but it was fixed the same day. The room was comfortable, and it was nice to have a kitchen, though no dish soap to wash our own dishes. The dive shop had a lot considering it is small, and the lady there was very kind and helpful! The bar and restaurants had good food, but like everywhere else on the island very expensive. If you are staying multiple days I highly recommend renting a car and trying the food in Red Hook, (same prices, more variety.) Taxis quickly get expensive for 2 or more people. The snorkeling was excellent. We snorkeled on 5 different beaches between St. Thomas and St. John, and this was the only place we saw a (huge) ray. The beach was also not very crowded.

2 things I wish I had known...
- Bring OFF or other bug spray, we came home covered in bug bites from the no-see-ums.
- If you are there multiple days stop at a market and get some food for the room, the restaurant selections are pricey and limited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I had a studio on the beach unit #411. It was in great shape with amazing views of the cove. It was on the bottom floor, very private with a large patio. We really didn't want to leave. The snorkeling in the cove is excellent.....lots of colorful fish and coral. The beach was clean and quiet. The beach is only used by this complex.

We also stayed at Cowpet Bay west, but didn't like it nearly as well. We will definitely be back to Secret Harbour. Great for families and couples.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in building 3 and 4, on the bottom floor. The top floor would probably have the best views, but then you have to deal with stairs. The bottom floors in buildings 1 and 2 won't have much privacy because they are flat with the beach. The other 2 buildings are set up a bit higher so people walking past can't look into your room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsnolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My mother and I stayed here in January 2012 in a 2 bedroom suite. The full kitchen was modern and well-kept. The bedrooms each had their own adjoining baths. The view from the balcony was breath-taking -- overlooking the beach -- and was also very private. All staff members were kind and helpful. The lobby was simple, but the staff was kind and helpful. I especially liked Caron. She was our "maid" and also our conceriege. All in all, it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in building number 3, which was a hike from the office, but an employee drove us up to the room with our luggage. I would choose the same building again. There is only one other building next to us and the location was very private. Since we were on the 2nd floor, we had to walk a few steps out back and around to the front to access beach. A nice little walk where you can meet some iguanas along the way.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is not a grand 5-star resort, and we like it this way! This condo complex has a variety of rooms, most have been updated recently. Don't judge the place on it's simple, small lobby-main desk area. The staff was wonderful, especially Claudette, and they were helpful with whatever we needed.
This was our 4th vacation here and all of our 1 BR beachfront condos have been nice. This time it was #333. All was in good working order and very comfy and clean with a balcony overlooking the beach.
Great snorkeling and a nice beach is just down the steps and the dive shop was fabulous for it's size. They have all you need and Diane (owner) was very helpful and Brian (intro dive instructor) was patient and thorough. We saw sea turtles and plenty of colorful fish on our dives and snorkeling from the beach. They also provide kayaks and paddle boards.
The beach bar and restaurant are now under new ownership and nicely renovated. Service was fair, prices were high, but the meals we had were very good, particularly the Ahi nachos and the grilled salmon.
We definitely will return to Secret Harbor!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basiaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor room on the beach. Nice patio with table, chairs, lounge chairs. The room itself was dated but fine. The appliances in the kitchen worked fine and it was stocked with pots, pans, china, utensils, etc. My wife thought the bed was too hard; it was fine for me. So, overall, the room was fine. Service was also "fine" but not great. Secret Harbor itself, however, *is* great. People kept sending us to other places on St. Thomas and St. John to see "the most beautiful beaches" or to find "the best snorkeling" or whatever. Every time we came back to our hotel room, I decided Secret Harbor was as nice or nicer. That's not to say you shouldn't get out and explore, there's lots to do and see on the islands, and most of it is stunning, but the beach at Secret Harbor is beautiful and not crowded. The water is calm, clear and perfect for swimming. We saw beautiful fish, sea turtles, etc. snorkeling right off our front step. Red Hook is an easy drive away and has a number of nice restaurants ... and you're totally isolated from all the tour ships crowding into Charlotte Amalie. Highly recommended. Also, and this has nothing to do with this review, but you're robbing yourself if you don't have a sunset meal in town at Havana Blue; good food and the one of the most breathtaking views I've ever seen in a restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the beach walk right out onto the sand. Perfect location.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcgunnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews