We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond all expectations, the true getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations, the true getaway.”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

When you think of going to a small island in the Caribbean, many people, including us, picture a hidden jewel, a clean, well-equipped, nice resort with A/C, large rooms, a sheltered harbour dedicated to just this one resort, an immaculate beach, a walk-out patio that borders the beach, and plenty of umbrella chairs where a friendly waiter comes by and brings you drinks. It would be a place where a real coconut falls during the night for you to find in the morning, where snorkeling starts 50 feet from the beach and fish come right up to you, and where the surf is mild enough that your 3-year old can play at the break without worry.

And Secret Harbour even exceeded those dreams. Even the iguanas behaved themselves and provided some morning entertainment each day. The next place I stay is going to have a hard time keeping up.

Red Hook is only a mile away, the ferry to St. John is recommended - the beaches in the national park are incredible.

If it weren't for the bar/restaurant being under noisy construction, it would have been five stars. The restaurant was open and served good food (not that you would go there for the food). The resort looks condo-ized, with owner-locks on some of the cabinets in our room. But they must all be sold because it operates like a hotel. This may mean some rooms could vary in quality. 214 was very well done if you like those island-color greens and corals. This is not the fanciest hotel in the world, but it seemed like everything you needed was there and more. There is a pool not far away from the beach, but with that beach in front of us, we never saw it.

I also think our off-season timing right after hurricane Irene kept it from being crowded -- seems like it was not full.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are worth it. One bedroom suite was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    293
    80
    43
    24
See reviews for
197
415
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our fourth stay at Secret Harbour Resort over a span of thirteen years, it is one of our favorites. We had lived on the East End of St. John in Coral Bay and occasionally visited Secret Harbour, when we were doing shopping, to enjoy the snorkeling. On this trip we stayed for eleven days and made do nicely without a car. We visited old friends on St. John and were there for the first day of Hurricane Irene. When we lived on St. John we would sometimes stay here so we could catch the early flight out of St. Thomas airport without having to worry about catching the ferry from St. John..
Secret Harbour is very convenient to the ferry that goes to St. John if you are planning on going over for day trips. The resort is also far enough away from Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas's main city, that we felt safe at night. Our advise would be not to go to Charlotte Amalie at night (especially late at night), and if you do, to stay on the main streets.

There is a local paper that covers the islands of St. Croix, St. Thomas, and St. John (the three US Virgin Islands) called The Virgin Islands Daily News and it has an internet site: http://virginislandsdailynews.com/. It's a good resource to visit before your trip.

Getting there:
We flew Delta from Austin to Atlanta and then direct to St. Thomas and reversed the two legged trip on the way home. The flights were long but we enjoyed not having to go through Miami and switching to a prop plane between San Juan, Puerto Rico to St. Thomas.

Staying at the Resort:
This was our fourth time to stay as guests and they have a variety of rooms. Most of the rooms are in rectangular blocks that are either at the beach or up near the top of a small hill. Each room has a view of the bay. The ones on the hill are the most economical yet require a fairly long stairway walk (past the pool) down to the beach. Most of the beach front rooms (three stories) are right at the beach. There is also another building that is two stories tall with the restaurant and dive shop located on the first floor. The office/reception, gym/massage, and four ADA compliant rooms make up the second (ground level from the street) floor. On this trip we stayed in room 804; one of the rooms that are ADA compliant. It was to the right of the office with the gym in between. They were in the middle of remodeling the bar and restaurant when we stayed at the resort (August 11 - 22nd) and our stay was pleasant but noisy. If we had been told they were remodeling we would have stayed at another resort or with some of our friends that live on St. John as the sounds of hammers and electric saws were not what we were expecting. The construction project is supposed to be completed by the end of September.
Our room had a small refrigerator, a coffee machine (with coffee), a wall safe for valuables, a small utility sink, a balcony with two lounges a table and two chairs and a small dining table with two chairs inside. Our king size mattress was replaced while we stayed there and we also had two end tables with reading lamps and two alarm clocks. It is not a new resort but it is functional and well maintained.

Noise:
I miss the old days before gasoline powered saws, weed eaters, and leaf blowers. I suppose it's just something we have to learn to put up with as the noise serves as proof that the folks keeping the landscape maintained are working. If you don't like continuous loud music you want to make certain that you don't stay in a room or on the beach by the beach bar. My idea of going to a beach resort is to enjoy the gentle sound of surf and the rustling of palm fronds. One Saturday morning around 8 AM a very thoughtful person brought a yapping dog to the beach. Don't expect to sleep late.

Resort amenities:
The gym had three treadmills, a stair stepper, a recumbent exercise bike, and several sets of dumbbells - all in good condition. In the gym there is a TV, bottled water, and towels along with a fully furnished bathroom. The massage room is located right next to the gym.
The resort's pool is about half way up a hill and was clean and large. There was also a large paved area around the pool and a shaded area with a view which would be a good place to enjoy the pool and watch kids. Not many people were using the pool as the beach was the place to be.
The beach has plenty of lounges and many sun umbrellas and palm trees. It is a very nice place to spend the day.
If you have never snorkeled I would say that this resort is probably an ideal place to learn. There is no surf or waves to speak of and there are two reefs right off the beach (easily within 150 feet of the beach with an average depth of about 8 feet). Some of the coral is dead but you have to expect that as there are lots of folks that don't know not to walk on the bottom (which kills the coral). There were parrot fish, blue tangs, rays, sergeant majors, and various other fish. It is a good place to snorkel and swim. There is no lifeguard on duty. The swim platform was absent on this visit and we assumed it was being refurbished for the upcoming high season. I like to swim and if you go out about 200 feet the water drops off to about 20 feet deep.
The resort's dive shop was right below us (on the far right end of the beach facing the water) and ours was the furthest room on the end of the building. They had boat dives and all the equipment necessary for diving, floating, and snorkeling. Everything dive related looked to be in good shape.
The office has a computer that can be used for $.70 per minute.
There are 43 TV channels when the signal is operational.
The WIFI code is changed every 5 days and my iPhone and Kindle lost WIFI contact every time I turned them off so I had to reconnect each and every time I wanted WIFI - I guess I'm spoiled but I found it inconvenient. The signal was strong in our room but was not adequate for beach use.

Water:
The water from the tap tastes pretty bad (especially after you've been there a while) - like chlorine - so we purchased distilled water from the Marina Market in Red Hook.
The shower and the bathroom fixtures worked well and we never ran out of hot water and the resort supplies shampoo, conditioner, and lotion.

Walking in the Secret Harbour / Redhook area:
Remember that traffic is on the left side of the street. Redhook is the closest town to Secret Harbour and it is possible to walk there in about ten minutes. The sidewalk is only on the main road and most of the walk is done either on the road or on the shoulder. It isn't a very safe place to walk as the road is narrow and traffic usually won't go around a person walking but seems to see how close they can get, even if the other lane is empty. The walking is also difficult in that the shoulder may be non-existent as vegetation is sometimes right up to the edge of the road and the shoulder drop off (downhill side) from the two lane road varies from flush to a couple feet. The road is fairly busy.
My wife and I had walked to Redhook one morning for some exercise, to mail some postcards, and to look at the salt pond past the ferry landing. On the way back to Secret Harbour, just past the Montessori School, while walking up the hill, my wife slipped out of her sandals and fell along the shoulder of the road, rolling back to the brush line. She cut her head just into her hair line and was bleeding quite a bit. She also scraped her arm and leg. We were lucky that it wasn't worse as there was a broken green beer bottle near where she had hit her head and some pointed stumps where roadside vegetation had been cut off. A pizza delivery guy was coming up the road and I waved him down. He drove us to the resort with me in the bed of his truck. We washed out the wound and got by without a trip to the hospital. No stitches were necessary and the cut healed in a couple days. I would not recommend the area around the resort for walking or bike riding. There are sidewalks in Redhook and the taxi fare between there and Secret Harbour is $5 per person one way. The front desk can call for a cab at the resort (it usually takes only a few minutes for one to show up) and there is a taxi pickup area (where cabs are usually available) in the parking lot next to the American Yacht Harbor Shopping Center, just to the east of Maggie Malones.

Cost of transportation:
Taxi fare between the Airport and Secret Harbour is between fifteen and twenty dollars per person with a bit more added on for extra luggage.
If you are traveling to or from the airport be prepared to be squeezed into a van like a sardine. The taxis charge per customer (not per trip) and when we left the resort we were so crowded that we were sitting on each others laps. All of the baggage is placed behind the rear seat so the bags on the bottom get flattened.
The taxi fare between Secret Harbour and Redhook is five dollars per person one way. These taxis are usually not crowded.
The ferry at Redhook which goes between St. Thomas and St. John is six dollars per person one way with a bit more charged for luggage. It leaves on the hour and takes about fifteen minutes to traverse to the other side. There is no eating, drinking, standing, or walking on the ferry so select a seat and prepare to sit. Some of the ferries have seating outside on the top deck. Check the weather first, before deciding to sit on top and if it is sunny take a tight fitting hat that won't blow off on the trip. If it looks like rain, or if you don't need the sun, I recommend sitting inside under cover. If the heat bothers you there is also an air conditioned cabin for passengers towards the front of the ferry. If you get easily sea sick then sitting near the center line of the boat rather than along the outside will give you a much smoother ride.

Eating at the resort:
Breakfast costs between $12 and $15 or you can order a la carte (two eggs, toast, sausage, bacon, each $4). Soft drinks were $2 but were made from the bar gun with island water so they don't taste all that good. The food was tasty.
There is a restaurant and beach bar on the property. Neither the restaurant or the beach bar are owned by the resort so you are required to carry a small card with your name and room number to charge food and drinks. The card destroys the security of leaving your stuff on the beach and it would be simpler if the restaurant and bar would use the anonymous plastic room key to charge. House wine is offered at six dollars a glass, soft drinks are two dollars, mixed drinks begin at six. If you are looking for appetizers there isn't a very good selection. The burgers were excellent (around $12).
Dinner: Hamburgers, fajitas, & etc. cost about $15.

Eating in Red Hook:
There are several places to eat and the prices average around $14 per person. It is a fun little town to visit and the additional cost of the taxi ride to and from the resort to eat an occasional meal in town was worth the additional expense.
We were planning on eating downstairs at Maggie Malones but the music was too loud to have a pleasant conversation so we opted to eat upstairs. The view was better than downstairs (we could see the marina and boats) and there was a nice breeze. Upstairs there are two small balconies, each with a table and in the afternoon they are in the shade. We had Mexican food and on weekdays from 4 to 6 they have four dollar margaritas, frozen or on the rocks, and individual tacos for three dollars. We had some chopped beef and pulled beef both soft and crispy taco shells and thought they were great but especially enjoyed the pulled beef soft tacos.
We also ate at Big Bambooz Bar & Burger Hut. We had a good meal of just appetizers.

Red Hook Shopping:
In Redhook there is a pharmacy, an Ace Hardware, a Marina Market (where you can get supplies for your room), several shops and eateries, and a mail place in the building behind Duffy's Love Shack. The mail place is on the second floor on the back side of the building and we purchased stamps for and sent postcards.

We had a good vacation and only lost the last day to Hurricane Irene.

John and Terri

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank John30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Once you get into it, I really like the location. It is pretty small, and nice to have a large group that you are always around.

The water does NOT look blue like that picture. That is because it is reef. Which is cool, but I think we were a little surprised. We ended up really enjoying all of the wildlife way better than a perfect blue ocean, but I wish we would have known.

My boys snorkled and jumped off the floating dock for hours.

Food is really good at the restaurant.

Some rooms are WAY WAY WAY better than others (obviously privately owned). No clue how to figure out how to get one, but some are awesome - ours was pretty sub-standard.

Go to Duffy's Love Shack for dancing at night! (No kiddos)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 4boyzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Unlike most people who reviewed the Secret Harbor Beach Resort, we didn't actually stay at the resort. We only went there for the beach, and to do a shore dive. The parking there for non-guests is limited, and truthfully, we didn't actually see any spaces that were designated for parking by non-resort or non-HOA/non-condo residents. But, since we went during the off-season in August, we didn't have a problem finding any parking spaces, and no one hassled us.

The beach is actually not very big, but it's nicely kept. There are no umbrellas for rent, and the chairs are for resort guests only. We played nice, and didn't try to pretend we were guests and occupy any provided by the resort, though there were plenty to go around (again, it was the off-season). The great thing about the beach and the resort is that the on-site beach service is great! There's a bar restaurant on the beach, and there was a roving waitress person in a bathing suit that walked around taking orders. She was really efficient, and food was pretty decent. They automatically add a 18 or 20 percent gratuity to the tab, and getting served on the beach without having to leave your seat is totally worth it. We didn't stay at the resort, so we don't have any comments about the rooms.

My daughter and I did a shore dive with the Aqua Action dive shop that was there. Secret Harbor is very shallow, so it's better for snorkeling, and not as good for diving. We checked out both of the small reefs that they have, and they're not too exciting. Since Secrety Harbor was the first of three shore dives that we did in St. Thomas, the shallow waters were great for practice, but not super interesting for real diving. I hear the dive shop does a good boat dive though, but we just didn't have time.

There's not much of crowd since most of the guests are from the resort, though that could change during the regular season. Also, the cruise ships do truck in people to the beach, and we did see about 20 people get dropped off from around 11:00 to 4:00. All in all, this is a great beach for relaxing, hanging out, and playing in the sand, with the added bonus of having beach-side food and drink service.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank TravellerMD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Excellent location. A little hard to find, (I guess that's why it's a secret), through no fault of their own. (Road signs were few and far between.) The staff there is top notch from the front desk to the housemaid. Beach is great (in a marine sanctuary) with good snorkelling available. Equipment right there at Aqua Action.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront, possibly at least a 1 bedroom. I don't think the floor matters because the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shadow1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We loved it here. Located on one of the nicest beaches on St. Thomas, this resort is in an idyllic location with great swimming and snorkelling, and wonderful views of the sea from all rooms. The beach restaurant is busy but it has decent food (rare for St. Thomas, an island not terribly fit for foodies!). The on-site dive shop is also great. Finally, the oftentimes overly friendly and hungry iguanas were enjoyable to watch!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kam1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days last week. We were in a handicap accessible room on the beachfront and the dive shop was below us. The room had two single beds that were put together to make a full bed. My wife and I kept falling between the beds and the mattress was very cheap. We did not rent a car but, the we were very close to the red hook area, with a few nice places to eat. The beach is very nice and calm which is good for snorkeling. The restaurant was being remodeled and has a limited menu. I would recommend going to the red hook area to eat. We did go to St. John's, for a day which was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank btripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benner
1.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 6280 Estate Nazareth | Nazareth Bay, Benner 00802-1113, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Benner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Secret Harbour Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Harbour is a boutique all-beachfront condominium resort on the Caribbean US Virgin Island of St. Thomas. The resort is situated on the island's Southeast shore on a palm-tree shaded swimming/snorkeling beach with pristine Caribbean blue water and sugary sand offering tranquil and water sport vacations with superb amenities. The all-beachfront property features 48 uniquely furnished condominiums on the ocean that are individually owned and resort managed. Each condominium is a spacious studio, 1- or 2-bedroom beachfront suite with fully equipped kitchen and private patio/balcony. Amenities include: 2 restaurants; PADI dive center with scuba diving, excursion boats, sailing and watersport rentals; freshwater pool; tennis courts; fitness center; gift shop; ATM & spa services. The intimate resort is ideal for families, couples, watersport & diving enthusiasts, visiting executives, and those seeking a tropical destination wedding, honeymoon or event. Bonus amenities include free Wi-Fi, onsite concierge, and wedding/event coordinator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Harbour Beach Hotel Benner
Hotel Secret Harbour Beach
Secret Harbour Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing