We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family holiday in peaceful countryside”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Merton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola R
Illogan
2 reviews
“Perfect family holiday in peaceful countryside”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Have just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Specott Barton. Very impressed with The Granary. It is thoughtfully laid out with plenty of space for our party of two family's. Our stay was relaxing and comfortable, a real home from home. We found The Granary well equipped for large parties and especially loved the large open plan living space. A sofa each! The private garden was the perfect place to soak up the sun and watch life on the farm. It was lovely to see the sheep and lambs and the agile little birds (swifts?) nesting under the eaves.
The kids loved the swimming pool and games room and we all enjoyed the freedom to wander around the whole farm. A short walk takes you to the Tarka Trail.
Debbie and Mark were friendly and helpful, available should we have any questions.
All in all a successful family holiday and would highly recommend The Granary.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma E
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Big house, well laid out but needs a deep clean and a bit of TLC. Could be a wonderful holiday home but it doesn't feel cared for. There is an indoor pool but the pool room and the changing rooms are dirty. The house is cosy and full of light but it was grubby when we arrived, the bed linen is unpleasant and the showers and decor could do with an upgrade.

One major frustration was the lack of Internet. The info book in the house makes it clear the signal is poor but most of us couldn't connect. So easy to sort out and makes a big difference.

It's a shame as there's a lot to do in the area and big rental properties are hard to find. However, I wouldn't come back to this one.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Layout
Liked least: It was grubby
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo O
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location -facilities could be better”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Large house well-located for easy access to lots of popular attractions and towns. Swimming pool on site is a nice bonus. Furniture a bit tired and house not particularly clean. And the kitchen is poorly equipped for a house that sleeps 14. But, we had a great holiday and the house is a good size and well set out for multiple families to share. A little bit more attention to detail would help though.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennisMad...
Bognor Regis
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Activity holiday in beautiful secluded surroundings”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Granary has been converted into a very comfortable and convenient accommodation for a group holiday. The large open-plan area of kitchen, dining and lounge opens out to a private SW facing lawn. The whole is in the middle of a working sheep farm and the farmer and his wife are very helpful and friendly.
Three generations of family (including four children under five), all cycling and tennis enthusiasts, enjoyed an excellent week in the Devonshire hills, amidst beautiful views.
About 200 metres of rough track leads on to the Tarka Trail, formerly a railway line, now a cycle track offering enjoyable rural riding in both directions.
With very fine weather, we were able to enjoy daily tennis on the Macadam and gravel court.
The four foot deep indoor swimming pool was excellent for the children and a games room with table-tennis and pool offered some wet weather options.
Thirty minutes drive gave access to sandy beaches to the north.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kathryn g
diss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent base for a family holiday.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Granary is a fantastic place for a large family with everything we could think of to make our stay enjoyable. The accommodation is exceptionally large and comfortable with lots of little extras too. The setting is absolutely beautiful - the views are breath-taking! It made a really good base to travel around from and we saw more of Devon than we ever have in all the years we have had holidays here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and quality of accommodation.
Liked least: The cockeral waking us up early!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing