We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summer Homes Beach Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in San Vicente
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Summer Homes(Port Barton)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Mary's Cottages(Palawan Island)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Astoria Palawan(Puerto Princesa)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (41)
    Filter reviews
    41 results
    Traveler rating
    17
    20
    3
    1
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    17
    20
    3
    1
    0
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    20 - 25 of 41 reviews
    Reviewed May 6, 2011

    A bit pricey compared to other bungalow, rooms are extremely hot because in concrete but overall, very nice place, beach front, great hammock, food at the restaurant is delicious and iper clean. i would go back, but only for no availability elsewhere

    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Marie C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 7, 2011

    We stayed at one of the bungalows facing the beach. It was roomy and in good condition, nice to have some space to spread out all your belongings over after backpacking for a while! Service was very good at this place, and the staff at the hotel as well as people in Port Barton in general was perhaps the friendliest we've met in all of the Pilippines!

    The place is located right on the beach which is great - it isn't the best place to swim in, though, because all the bancas of the village anchors here too. Good for a quick dip however, and it was a very nice setting for romantic walks in the evening. In fact, in this respect we found Port Barton to be all that we imagined El nido to be - only a lot less people! You can off course go island hopping or on snorkling tours (very nice corals nearby!) by renting a boat for no cost at all for water activities or a more secluded day by the sea.

    There was free wifi at the restaurant (only spot in town?), food was good! Only drawback about this place is that electricity runs only from 6-12 in the evening (same for most of Palawan). We discovered that at least a fan at night makes for much better sleep quality! Also, our bungalow was close to the restaurant which set back a private feel slightly - but the Bungalow still seemed to be a way nicer option than a room!

    Room Tip: avoid the bungalow closest to the restaurant
    • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Megafred
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 17, 2008

    Summer Homes is located right smack in the middle of the beach, specifically Pagdanan Bay of Port Barton.

    They offer two forms of accommodation – private rooms near the back and cottages that face the ocean. We stayed in a cottage for three nights, and the rooms were P850/night (about US$20). They only have four cottages available, so call ahead to reserve them! You get your own patio, a queen size bed with a table and chairs and separate bathroom with toilet and shower. There’s also a fan, however electricity is limited to only a few hours in the evening. (This applies to all of Port Barton.)

    We didn’t interact with the owner (Dick) much, but the Filipino girls working there were nice and pleasant. They’ll greet you warmly with your complimentary fruit juice after your long day of travel to get there. (And it will be long, whether you came from El Nido by banca or Puerto Princesa by road.)

    We didn’t bother checking out the other resorts since our friends had arrived a few days before us and secured us the cottage. They really enjoyed Summer Homes, so we thought it would be fine too.

    They also have a restaurant which we did dine at a couple of times – mostly for breakfast or English-style Fish N Chips (P215). They also offer fruit shakes and rent out fins and snorkeling gear. You can arrange private bancas to go island hopping through this resort as well. I would use the term ‘resort’ loosely though since there’s not much else they offer here. There is a game room in the back and Internet available as well, but we didn’t bother with either. On our last day, we had rented a banca to bring us to Sabang. We organized this through the beach’s main tourist information booth. However, the banca never showed up. We were lucky that Summer Homes had a banca that was willing to take us south at the last moment.

    They do accept credit cards, but you will incur an additional surcharge. Just as well since ATMs are non-existent in this town or nearby.

    Mosquitoes were around and I was pretty aggressive with the insect repellent, so I didn’t get bit anytime I was there. However, my very last morning around 7 am, I got bit twice and they were not pretty. So, spray in the evenings and in the mornings!

    You can swim right off the beach, but it’s not exactly the cleanest since the bancas are leaving right from there. The water is warm though. It’s better to go further out and snorkel there instead.

    I definitely recommend eating at Ayette’s Bamboo House Restaurant along the back main road. Located an easy five minute stroll from the beach, you'll see others dining at this popular restaurant. They have plenty of seating in an elevated section (where most guests remove their shoes) and on the ground floor. You can also wash your hands right there by the door, which will be necessary when you grub on all the seafood here!

    They have an extensive menu offering stuffed squid, shrimp various ways, fried chicken, pork, beef, and a breakfast menu even! But the real winner is what is off the menu! Ask about their daily specials and you'll find crab crab crab! We came here twice for their crabs and it was oh-so good! Full of flavor and finger lickin' good! They are definitely cheaper than eating at the hotels and resorts and you get more of a locals' feel too.

    Be sure to go early though because they do run out. Oh, I wish I had some of that crab now!

    • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank wrldtrvlr8374
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 21, 2008

    Having spent four nights here in early Jan 2008, we absolutely loved it! Before we checked in, we checked out all the other resorts on the beach (El Dorado, Greenviews, Isobelles (formerly Swissipini), El Busero and Elsa's Beach cottages). Summer Homes had the best overall feel to it. I admit that Greenviews had nicer gardens, but it was too shady. The rooms at Summer Homes each have private ensuite with cold water only and cost P400/night, whilst the cottages were P850/night. The cottages are nicer with more space, air and light, and are so cheap in relation to the other places here. The owner of the resort (Dick) is a kind British chap who maintains everything well. The food here is also by far the best and the most extensive menu of any other place here. The internet is slow, but the only option in town (P120/hour). There was mould on the ceiling in our room and ensuite, but given how humid it is, that's okay. The room had a double bed (good linen), desk and fan. We stayed here four nights, ate every meal, drank every beer and fruit shake for P6500 (for two of us). Plus, this places accepts credit cards (Visa/Mastercard) but beware that it charges a 6% surcharge. We shared a private van to Port Barton for P4000 (upto 6 people) from Puerto Princesa (one way). The trip is about 3.5 hours. Also, the mosquitoes were very active here during our stay. Beware the jellyfish in the beach! I would unreservedly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

    • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    6  Thank AdsMan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 7, 2007

    Very reasonable place to stay, especially if you're travelling on a shoestring. A room costs 400 peso per night for single occupancy or 450 peso for two people. Cottages are 850 peso, which is also reasonable. I stayed in a room, which was very clean and had a private bathroom with shower and clean western toilet. Very modern compared with some of the other resorts on the beach. The room has a fan but electricity only runs in Port Barton between 5pm and 11pm and again for a few hours in the mornings.
    The restaurant serves very good food and staff are very friendly. The owner is British and gives good travel advice on how to move on from Port Barton and what to do/visit. They also provide a laundry service, internet and a pool room and accept credit cards. Would definitely come back

    Stayed: January 2007
    9  Thank onashoestring
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews